We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service & too expensive for what you get!”
Review of Borgo San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo San Marco
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Fasano
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We went to Borgo San Marco off season, thinking it would be a peaceful and quiet stay. My husband, 4 month old son and I stayed in one of their large suites in the tower. Minimalist room, broken heater, hole in the bathroom wall... What a disappointment compared to the pictures on their website!
When we arrived at the hotel, no one was even there to check us in. When we saw the owner (M. Amati) he didn't even come say hello to us. When we wanted coffee or a drink, we couldn't find anyone to serve us. At check out, we found out that they wanted to charge us for towels (have you ever heard of such a thing?!). Since they never mentioned this when we booked our room, we contested it. Their response: "The manager just wanted to try". When we finally talked to M. Amati, he was arrogant and rude.
Staying at Borgo San Marco is like going to one of those trendy urban restaurants where they have no time to serve you and when they finally do they smirk and brush you off.
If you're looking for a peaceful family get away, this is not the place to stay.
This part of Puglia is a beautiful region and worth the visit. Try instead these two masseria we've stayed at and warmly recommend: Masseria Beneficio (near Ceglie Messapica) and Masseria Montenapoleone (5 min away).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all many thanks to Your comments about Your stay at the Borgo. Unfortunately, sometimes it may happen that our guests don't tell all the truth: just to remind You, You and Your lovely family, such as Your wedding planner, were guests here at Borgo exceptionally in winter time (that means, in a period in which we usually remain closed - only because You felt in love with our massseria and You chose it as the ideal setting of Your wedding (finally, it was performed elsewhere You asked for huge discounts we were not agreed with). Currently, reading all the disappointed comments about us, we've all the same question: why did You choose it if You won't like it all? Despite Your experience, on behalf of all the staff (whose smile is always appreciated) please accept our most sincere whishes even on behalf of Mr. Amati, who has neither received the pleasure to met You then. And during Your next visit, You'll check that the towels in the room have always been free of any charge (a small supplements is required for the pool towels, but it's quite impossible to enjoy our lovely outside pool in winter at 12°).

Kindest Regards
Mavi Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Borgo San Marco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights mid way thru a 2 week trip around Puglia with the kids - three young ones below the age of six. The Borgo itself is a lovely renovation - truly beautiful with its white walls set against the blue skies and all very nicely designed and structured. The rooms (we had a tower room) are spacious and cool. With kids the tower room was excellently spaced out with room for the kids in the first room and then a cot in the second room. The swimming pool area is lovely - a nice walk in pool on a less conventional design which was very nice to relax in. The staff were all excellent - one of the things that stuck me about puglia was just how friendly people are - Mavi on reception was very helpful and extremely cheerful as were the ladies who looked after the breakfast and rooms. Food was well done and for kids quite helpful in timing a 6.30 dinner when everything around is closed. A recent change to a buffet style for the adults at 8pm needs to be reversed - firstly it takes at least one sitting to realize that all the food is already out and hence you need to move quick before its gone (never a relaxing way to eat) and secondly the food inevitably goes cold after a while. The deal itself at 30 euro pp isn't too bad with the location plus wine included but it is let down by this buffet approach. In such a beautiful place and with half a carafe of wine down your don't / can't go anywhere else hence you don't really want to have to rush dinner! It is the only thing stopping me from giving this a 5 star eating.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princesslucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is my first experience of a property like this and also my first visit to Puglia! i am so impressed with the level of service and also the simplicity of the place that makes it a real oasis of peace and quiet....... great location to base yourself from when visiting the region

Room Tip: Ask for ones with private Jacuzzi!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidnhornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks a million for taking time to write something about Your stay at the Borgo.

I am particularly pleased that you noted the friendliness and helpfulness of our team, which I think is crucially important in our efforts to build long term relationships with our guests.

I hope your overall experience will see you return to us again and I personally look forward to welcoming you back to the Borgo San Marco.


Kind regards
Mavi Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We just got back and had a fantastic week ! Our bedroom was lovely, fantastic atmosphere, great food and very enjoyable staff. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed at the hotel during the first week of October and found it was an ideal place for a few days peace and quiet. It is in a good location for exploring Puglia.
Our suite was comfortable with an enormous roof terrace overlooking the courtyard and gardens. Despite the bathroom being large and having a full size bath, only a small shower tray had been fitted with a fabric curtain which stuck to you when showering. When using the shower there was no shelf space for toiletries, soap etc.There was plenty of space to have provided a wet room style shower, or one with a larger tray and a proper shower enclosure and glass door.
Staff were helpful and friendly, and the dog Alessandro was cute.
Food in the restaurant was good quality and there was plenty of it served with carafes of local wine. Breakfasts were relaxed taken on the shaded patio.
The gardens and olive groves were a delight and the pool area very relaxing. One word of warning though, do not go for a walk in the olive grove/jogging track or sit by the pool at dusk unless you have used plenty of mosquito repellant. I found out to my discomfort that there are plenty around even in October!
All in all, a great place to stay with plenty of character.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great pool for kids. Lunch and dinner are expensive, however it is a nice setting and saves going out every night. Our room was terrific. I think rooms don ferdinando and ciao are newish. Very cool in the heat. Over all we had a very enjoyable stay. The staff are friendly and the hotel represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Be aware that the two rooms away from the main building are quite far and the setting is not great...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Capelsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Wonderful atmosphere and setting and a perfect base for exploring the area or just doing nothing. The swimming pool is particularly lovely and perfect for both children and adults with mobility problems. Dinner seemed quite expensive but included lots of their own wine and thus turned out to be good value, as well as excellent quality.

Room Tip: The "appartments" vary considerably in lay out and as regards accessibility. If you have a...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fasano hotels
2.7 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
573 reviews
3.1 mi away
Masseria Relais del Cardinale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casale del Murgese
Casale del Murgese
#5 of 6 in Savelletri
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Masseria Torre Coccaro
Masseria Torre Coccaro
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
693 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sierra Silvana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Marco

Address: Contrada Sant'Angelo 33, 72015, Fasano, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fasano
Price Range: £129 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo San Marco is located near the beach in Fasano and close to San Domenico Golf Club and Zoo Safari Fasano. Borgo San Marco's restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A bar/lounge is open for drinks. Room service is available during limited hours. The property serves a complimentary breakfast. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool, a health club, a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness facility, and a steam room. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas and the property has an Internet point. Wedding services, tour/ticket assistance, translation services, and tour assistance are available. Self parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include a rooftop terrace, a library, and a concierge desk. 16 air-conditioned guestrooms at Borgo San Marco feature fireplaces and minibars. Balconies or patios offer sea, pool, or courtyard views. Beds come with pillowtop mattresses, down comforters, down blankets, and premium bedding. All rooms include separate living rooms. Kitchens include cooking facilities. Bathrooms feature bathtubs or showers with jetted bathtubs and handheld showerheads. They also offer bidets, bathrobes, and complimentary toiletries. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to complimentary newspapers and safes, guestrooms offer cordless phones. 32-inch high-definition televisions have satellite channels, DVD/VCRs, and complimentary TV Internet access. Guests may request a turndown service, refrigerators, and microwaves. Housekeeping is available daily. Guestrooms are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Marco Fasano
Borgo San Marco Italy/Puglia - Fasano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing