We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hide-away that fully delivered”
Review of Borgo San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borgo San Marco
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Fasano
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife, 15 month old son and myself are just back from a weeks stay at BSM and I felt compelled to write a review having read some of the (in my opinion unjustified) bad reviews posted.

First of all, I have to say that the staff were absolutely amazing for the entire duration of our stay. They were very attentive, extremely pleasant and there was always someone available to help out if you needed anything. Anyone that has been to Italy will know that Italian hospitality is up there with the best of any country and BSM must have scoured the whole of Italy for the staff at this place who were so brilliant with our 15 month old - they always a smile and a friendly "ciao" along with hugs, kisses and even whisking him away when upset in one meal time to allow mum and dad time to eat some food. Fernando (who I think was kind of an all round mr fix it) was especially good and deserves a mention. Our Italian (sadly) is very poor and not all the staff could speak English but this was not at all a problem as we always managed to communicate and actually added to the charm of the stay.

Upon arrival, which was speedy and well received, we were fortunate enough to have been placed in the new Isola Grande which was a fantastic two apartment type complex in the middle of the olive tree orchard (about 800m away from the main building via dirt track road). For us, it was perfect as our little one could run around, safe in the knowledge that there were no cars or other dangers lurking close by. Ok so we had to drive to breakfast and dinner and also to the pool but, for us, the distance meant we had full isolation when we needed it. Obviously being that far away from the main complex might not suit everyone but BSM also have bikes that you can use if you prefer not to do a car ferry back and forth (or you can obviously walk!). Due to the fact that we were literally the first people to stay in the new Isola Grande, everything was brand spanking new which was great. We had one small issue in that the lamp was coming out of the wall but as soon as we informed reception, Fernando was out to fix it and we experienced no other issues with our rooms. The speed and politeness of dealing with this issue to resolve was excellent. Our room was regularly cleaned to a high standard, towels always refreshed and bathroom fully stocked (toilet roll etc). Rooms in the main complex for us personally may not have been so ideal due to steps close by some rooms - we did not visit other rooms though so probably not fair of me to comment fully.

In terms of meals, as mentioned already the service staff were brilliant. Meals are generally informal with a buffet style continental breakfast - cereal, toast, croissants (I can particularly recommend the sweet croissants!), fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese - all available to help yourself and tea/coffee ordered as you want. Lunch and dinner are served at a specific time (1pm for lunch (although they very kindly put an early lunch on for us on departure day at our request); and 8.30pm for dinner (although this was often just a little later but the quality of food more than made up for it)). Some may find this a little frustrating but given the format of dinner I can understand why it has to be done this way as all food pretty much comes out and you all just dig in and help yourself. It does mean however that guests get talking a little more which is nice - I think our little one was known by most of the people that stayed there by the end of the week - and as mentioned is very informal. The food itself was great - a good variety was presented in the buffet style lunches and dinners but some guests, if quite choosey, may find the lack of choice annoying however, the kitchen served up a good variety so hopefully most pallets are catered for (we very much enjoyed it anyway!).

In terms of facilities, unfortunately we probably can't really do BSM justice (and I apologise to BSM for this!) as we lazed around our olive orchard retreat and by the pool pretty much all week (apart from when we did the odd day trip further afield). The pool though was great - a gentle slope into the water for little one to paddle in, comfy loungers and chairs all around. One thing I would say is that maybe some of the loungers are a little tired and need replacing but that really is just being a little picky since the pool was very quiet whilst we were there and we never had an issue with getting space to sit etc. There is a spa on site for those that like to be pampered but we can not comment on it ourselves as we did not use it however it looked very nice having been tastefully converted from the old working parts of the building with a plunge pool and treatment rooms. We were reliably informed by a fellow guest that the treatments were very good and at reasonable prices. I would urge those going to stay to visit the old cave dwellings at the back of the property which we stumbled upon whilst out exploring and was a really surprising find.

I think it only remains for me to say thanks to BSM staff for making our week so pleasant - keep up the good work! I think our son misses you all immensely as well!

Room Tip: If you really want exclusion in a remote setting, go for the Isola Grande as it's in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyjix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Everything is real here - old is old and it is no decoration - old walls, olive trees in ancient arena... Do relax by the pool half of the day and then hit the road for beaches and towns around.
Do not forget to get some olive oil when leaving.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasnogorodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This place deserves better. Originally a charming & ancient site, it's unfortunately run by a dishonest manager, concerned only by appearing in the right magazines (that's how we ended up here...) and offering the cheapest service he can to his guests. This made us feel like spending our money elsewhere, which we happily did at Masseria Montenapoleone (where we just got married!).
Minimalist breakfast, the rooms are bare and cold (broken heater and air conditioning, not to mention the archaic TV - why do they even have one?). The staff is absent, never to be found when you need anything. The pool chairs are broken.
Rustic doesn't mean worn down. Borgo San Marco is just poorly managed and trying to get every last penny out of their cutomers. They charge you for absolutely everything they possibly can: their so-called "spa", the pool towels...
We will happily never return again to Borgo San Marco. We have been to Puglia 5 times now because the people are so lovely. The team at Borgo San Marco just doesn't do them justice!
Stay instead at Masseria Montenapoleone. It's absolutely stunning, with rustic charm, very well kept up, and the family running it is adorable. Much better service and value for your money!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TomasoM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at Borgo San Marco for a week during Witsun half term. The place was fully occupied and probably half of the rooms were occupied by families with very young children, but with so much indoor and outdoor space around the property to relax in, this never caused any disturbance. This is a great place either for couples or young families. The pool area was well designed, although unseasonably cool weather meant we only used it a couple of times.
We had three evening meals in the hotel, including on our first night when we didn't arrive until 10.30pm and service had otherwise finished. The food was very traditional and simple, but really well prepared - and plenty of it. There was no choice - not even in the large jug of red wine that accompanied each of our meals - which was fine by us but may cause some people a problem, but a menu is posted each day so you know what to expect.
The location is ideal for visiting the many nearby hill towns, most of which are within a half hour drive.
My only minor criticism would be that there was no variation at all in the breakfast choices offered each day of our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the outside residences which comprised a kitchenette/sitting area, a bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank row-vers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank You for taking the time to post a review following Your recent stay with us.
You've mentioned many positive attributes from your recent stay, from the hospitality to the beatiful setting, from the food to the big outside pool.
We'll do our best to have more variation in the breakfast choices, as you've kindly suggested.
I am pleased to hear that all factors had an effect on your experience, and hopefully you will have the opprtunity to return to the Borgo San Marco again in the future.
Thanks again!

Kind Regards
Mavi P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Eight days at Borgo San Marco followed the bustle of Salerno/Amalfi/Pompeii and the ancient sophistication of Matera. This place was the highlight and my abiding memory of the trip.
First impressions were of rustic hospitality but not quite what I'd expected in some way. But the longer you spend in the place - walking the old flagstones in the courtyards, exploring secret walled gardens growing vines, oranges, lemons, limes and other fruit, and strolling through olive groves to discover early frescoes in cave dwellings - the longer you spend, the stronger the enchantment grows.
It's not a modern hotel, though all mod cons are here. Nor is it perfect - our bed was rather hard and the menu could have been a little more varied. But it's rare for me to want to stay at a hotel for the sake of the hotel itself.
Thank you Borgo San Marco for contributing so memorably to our enjoyment of southern Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveFromIsleOfWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guest

I am incredibly grateful for your kind words about our masseria, thank you for staying with us!
We promise to never rest on our laurels and do our very best to continue exceeding your future expectations.

Thank you again for making us your “home away from home” and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Borgo San Marco.

Best wishes
Mavi Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We went to Borgo San Marco off season, thinking it would be a peaceful and quiet stay. My husband, 4 month old son and I stayed in one of their large suites in the tower. Minimalist room, broken heater, hole in the bathroom wall... What a disappointment compared to the pictures on their website!
When we arrived at the hotel, no one was even there to check us in. When we saw the owner (M. Amati) he didn't even come say hello to us. When we wanted coffee or a drink, we couldn't find anyone to serve us. At check out, we found out that they wanted to charge us for towels (have you ever heard of such a thing?!). Since they never mentioned this when we booked our room, we contested it. Their response: "The manager just wanted to try". When we finally talked to M. Amati, he was arrogant and rude.
Staying at Borgo San Marco is like going to one of those trendy urban restaurants where they have no time to serve you and when they finally do they smirk and brush you off.
If you're looking for a peaceful family get away, this is not the place to stay.
This part of Puglia is a beautiful region and worth the visit. Try instead these two masseria we've stayed at and warmly recommend: Masseria Beneficio (near Ceglie Messapica) and Masseria Montenapoleone (5 min away).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all many thanks to Your comments about Your stay at the Borgo. Unfortunately, sometimes it may happen that our guests don't tell all the truth: just to remind You, You and Your lovely family, such as Your wedding planner, were guests here at Borgo exceptionally in winter time (that means, in a period in which we usually remain closed - only because You felt in love with our massseria and You chose it as the ideal setting of Your wedding (finally, it was performed elsewhere You asked for huge discounts we were not agreed with). Currently, reading all the disappointed comments about us, we've all the same question: why did You choose it if You won't like it all? Despite Your experience, on behalf of all the staff (whose smile is always appreciated) please accept our most sincere whishes even on behalf of Mr. Amati, who has neither received the pleasure to met You then. And during Your next visit, You'll check that the towels in the room have always been free of any charge (a small supplements is required for the pool towels, but it's quite impossible to enjoy our lovely outside pool in winter at 12°).

Kindest Regards
Mavi Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights mid way thru a 2 week trip around Puglia with the kids - three young ones below the age of six. The Borgo itself is a lovely renovation - truly beautiful with its white walls set against the blue skies and all very nicely designed and structured. The rooms (we had a tower room) are spacious and cool. With kids the tower room was excellently spaced out with room for the kids in the first room and then a cot in the second room. The swimming pool area is lovely - a nice walk in pool on a less conventional design which was very nice to relax in. The staff were all excellent - one of the things that stuck me about puglia was just how friendly people are - Mavi on reception was very helpful and extremely cheerful as were the ladies who looked after the breakfast and rooms. Food was well done and for kids quite helpful in timing a 6.30 dinner when everything around is closed. A recent change to a buffet style for the adults at 8pm needs to be reversed - firstly it takes at least one sitting to realize that all the food is already out and hence you need to move quick before its gone (never a relaxing way to eat) and secondly the food inevitably goes cold after a while. The deal itself at 30 euro pp isn't too bad with the location plus wine included but it is let down by this buffet approach. In such a beautiful place and with half a carafe of wine down your don't / can't go anywhere else hence you don't really want to have to rush dinner! It is the only thing stopping me from giving this a 5 star eating.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princesslucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fasano
2.7 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,397 reviews
23.2 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
987 reviews
1.7 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Masseria Torre Coccaro
Masseria Torre Coccaro
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
716 reviews
8.9 mi away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#3 of 14 in Monopoli
295 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Marco

Address: Contrada Sant'Angelo 33, 72015, Fasano, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fasano
Price Range: £109 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo San Marco is located near the beach in Fasano and close to San Domenico Golf Club and Zoo Safari Fasano. Borgo San Marco's restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A bar/lounge is open for drinks. Room service is available during limited hours. The property serves a complimentary breakfast. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool, a health club, a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness facility, and a steam room. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas and the property has an Internet point. Wedding services, tour/ticket assistance, translation services, and tour assistance are available. Self parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include a rooftop terrace, a library, and a concierge desk. 16 air-conditioned guestrooms at Borgo San Marco feature fireplaces and minibars. Balconies or patios offer sea, pool, or courtyard views. Beds come with pillowtop mattresses, down comforters, down blankets, and premium bedding. All rooms include separate living rooms. Kitchens include cooking facilities. Bathrooms feature bathtubs or showers with jetted bathtubs and handheld showerheads. They also offer bidets, bathrobes, and complimentary toiletries. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to complimentary newspapers and safes, guestrooms offer cordless phones. 32-inch high-definition televisions have satellite channels, DVD/VCRs, and complimentary TV Internet access. Guests may request a turndown service, refrigerators, and microwaves. Housekeeping is available daily. Guestrooms are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Marco Fasano
Borgo San Marco Italy/Puglia - Fasano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing