We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Borgo San Marco
Nearby Hotels
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masseria Don Luigi(Savelletri)(Great Value!)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masseria Montenapoleone(Pezze di Greco)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Silvana Hotel(Selva)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Sorgente(Savelletri)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Egnazia(Savelletri)
US$875
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$684
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
71
51
13
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
51
13
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive groveshouse winemain buildinglate at nightusual hotelbeautiful placeother guestsstayed for nightsset menularge swimming poollight mealcoursesborgopugliasettingcoastterrace
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at Borgo San Marco for 5 nights in Oct. Del Calviere room was a suite on the first floor of the main building with excellent views of the surrounding countryside out to the sea in one direction and hills the other way. Booked on 5 night for price of 4 deal which meant the price per night was very reasonable forth standard of accommodation provided.

All staff very welcoming and accommodating. Particularly helpful were Esmerelda and Mavi on reception who arranged an Italian cooking lesson for us with the lunch & breakfast chef Rosalina. We had a great time learning how to make foccacia & a homestyle pasta dish. Rosalina was a great teacher & shared many of her tips, we also got to eat the results of our lesson for lunch. Mavi kindly acted as our translator.

The hotel has a great pool area & bikes available for guests to use. The hotel is quite close to the motorway so there was some road noise in the pool area but nothing too intrusive. We took a ride through the estate's olive groves on the bikes which gave a sense of the working olive farm surrounding us.

We had a (free) Turkish bath in the spa area. The spa itself is very restful and has re-used some of the farmhouse outbuildings. The Turkish bath itself was a bit disappointing because it was not really hot enough & other guests agreed about this.

The breakfast was delicious & appropriate for an international 4 star hotel with a choice of fruit, cereals, cold cuts, yoghurts, Italian cheeses, fresh pastries & bakery. Freshly squeezed juices rather than the commercial ones provided would have been a welcome addition.

All in all this is an excellent base to explore the delights of the surrounding region of Puglia from.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CassiusCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A wonderful place to get away from it all, and a fine base for exploring the still relatively unspoilt hill towns and villages of Puglia. BSM has been beautifully and painstakingly restored. There is nothing gaudy or tacky here. It is plainly very well managed, and the staff were unfailingly pleasant and efficient. A group of us stayed here for work reasons, and we were accommodated perfectly alongside the couples and families enjoying a relaxing break. The pool area is blissful. The rooms are cool and spartan but very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is part of the main complex - some accommodation is upto a km away.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinjbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Maybe others have criticized because they desire everpresent always visible staffing? For us everything we needed or wanted was provided with great goodwill and no fuss. There was a sense that it was our place to be in undisturbed, unless we had a question, in which case you could always find a cheerful and simple response. It was as though it was 'our' place but we had no work to do and everything happened - it was beautifully made into a place to stay and very well managed.
They are typically Italian in being child-friendly but absolutely not over-run with children and plenty of space to be in, but if you don't like children then better not go; Delicious food presented on time with no decisions over a menu, simply helping ourselves to all the great dishes put out each evening. We took our 23 year old daughter and all grew browner and happy and rested sleeping well at night, lying by the beautiful pool like a beach in the mornings.
Off to nearby beaches in 20mins driving maximum, wild Adriatic Sea clean and warm, charming hill-top towns to visit, churches, restaurants for lunch or dinner. We had a really good time.

Room Tip: Rooms well appointed, so if you wanted to be away from couple with children simply ask, there are quite a few different places, like the stables, the tower, the main Borgo all around glorious white courtyards.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whales_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife, 15 month old son and myself are just back from a weeks stay at BSM and I felt compelled to write a review having read some of the (in my opinion unjustified) bad reviews posted.

First of all, I have to say that the staff were absolutely amazing for the entire duration of our stay. They were very attentive, extremely pleasant and there was always someone available to help out if you needed anything. Anyone that has been to Italy will know that Italian hospitality is up there with the best of any country and BSM must have scoured the whole of Italy for the staff at this place who were so brilliant with our 15 month old - they always a smile and a friendly "ciao" along with hugs, kisses and even whisking him away when upset in one meal time to allow mum and dad time to eat some food. Fernando (who I think was kind of an all round mr fix it) was especially good and deserves a mention. Our Italian (sadly) is very poor and not all the staff could speak English but this was not at all a problem as we always managed to communicate and actually added to the charm of the stay.

Upon arrival, which was speedy and well received, we were fortunate enough to have been placed in the new Isola Grande which was a fantastic two apartment type complex in the middle of the olive tree orchard (about 800m away from the main building via dirt track road). For us, it was perfect as our little one could run around, safe in the knowledge that there were no cars or other dangers lurking close by. Ok so we had to drive to breakfast and dinner and also to the pool but, for us, the distance meant we had full isolation when we needed it. Obviously being that far away from the main complex might not suit everyone but BSM also have bikes that you can use if you prefer not to do a car ferry back and forth (or you can obviously walk!). Due to the fact that we were literally the first people to stay in the new Isola Grande, everything was brand spanking new which was great. We had one small issue in that the lamp was coming out of the wall but as soon as we informed reception, Fernando was out to fix it and we experienced no other issues with our rooms. The speed and politeness of dealing with this issue to resolve was excellent. Our room was regularly cleaned to a high standard, towels always refreshed and bathroom fully stocked (toilet roll etc). Rooms in the main complex for us personally may not have been so ideal due to steps close by some rooms - we did not visit other rooms though so probably not fair of me to comment fully.

In terms of meals, as mentioned already the service staff were brilliant. Meals are generally informal with a buffet style continental breakfast - cereal, toast, croissants (I can particularly recommend the sweet croissants!), fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese - all available to help yourself and tea/coffee ordered as you want. Lunch and dinner are served at a specific time (1pm for lunch (although they very kindly put an early lunch on for us on departure day at our request); and 8.30pm for dinner (although this was often just a little later but the quality of food more than made up for it)). Some may find this a little frustrating but given the format of dinner I can understand why it has to be done this way as all food pretty much comes out and you all just dig in and help yourself. It does mean however that guests get talking a little more which is nice - I think our little one was known by most of the people that stayed there by the end of the week - and as mentioned is very informal. The food itself was great - a good variety was presented in the buffet style lunches and dinners but some guests, if quite choosey, may find the lack of choice annoying however, the kitchen served up a good variety so hopefully most pallets are catered for (we very much enjoyed it anyway!).

In terms of facilities, unfortunately we probably can't really do BSM justice (and I apologise to BSM for this!) as we lazed around our olive orchard retreat and by the pool pretty much all week (apart from when we did the odd day trip further afield). The pool though was great - a gentle slope into the water for little one to paddle in, comfy loungers and chairs all around. One thing I would say is that maybe some of the loungers are a little tired and need replacing but that really is just being a little picky since the pool was very quiet whilst we were there and we never had an issue with getting space to sit etc. There is a spa on site for those that like to be pampered but we can not comment on it ourselves as we did not use it however it looked very nice having been tastefully converted from the old working parts of the building with a plunge pool and treatment rooms. We were reliably informed by a fellow guest that the treatments were very good and at reasonable prices. I would urge those going to stay to visit the old cave dwellings at the back of the property which we stumbled upon whilst out exploring and was a really surprising find.

I think it only remains for me to say thanks to BSM staff for making our week so pleasant - keep up the good work! I think our son misses you all immensely as well!

Room Tip: If you really want exclusion in a remote setting, go for the Isola Grande as it's in the middle of the olive tree orchard.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyjix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Everything is real here - old is old and it is no decoration - old walls, olive trees in ancient arena... Do relax by the pool half of the day and then hit the road for beaches and towns around.
Do not forget to get some olive oil when leaving.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasnogorodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews