We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week”
Review of Borgo San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borgo San Marco
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Fasano
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second visit, and its still our favourite place to stay in Puglia.
The staff are all wonderful and it is so relaxed and peaceful. The pool is perfect, the kids love it and it never gets busy. The food is some of the best traditional puglian food you will find in the area.
Thanks for another great stay! Hoping to get to you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodienews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    48
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
42
57
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Maybe I'm a little influenced by the occasion, but I found this place to be absolutely wonderful. The food was fantastic, the staff were friendly and each room had its own individual charm. We stayed overlooking the courtyard and had terrific views of Fasano. So what if the drive there isn't great?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GazImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place, beautiful space. It is unfortunately off the exit of an industrial zone but hidden in the olive groves. There is a train that runs by but I never once heard it during the night as I slept peacefully with the window open. Beautiful common areas at reception and bar. Beautiful pool. We stayed in Ceo suite and were disappointedat first view. The bedroom was nice enough, the bathroom I quite liked after first use, but the entry room sitting area was completely lacking in decoration and charm. I wished there was half the charm of the common areas in the room. Breakfast was ok, good service. We ate dinner there twice, once a buffet we had the impression was leftovers from lunch, once we had a private dinner as we were the only guests to dine there that night. Internet access is only at reception!! They could easily have this extended to all rooms or at a minimum to the salon/bar area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicatnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionBSM, receptionist at Borgo San Marco, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear guest,

first of all many thanks for your review.

We will take your suggestion about wifi and forniture into consideration.

Kind regards

Borgo san Marco
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A beautiful masseria set in ancient olive groves. It has been tastefully renovated to give comfort alongside many historic features, including a chapel and old cave dwellings. We had a large spacious suite ("Donna Giulia"), with modern bathroom features.
Breakfasts were great, taken on the outside terrace on warm days. Evening meals were good value, with more tasty food than we could possibly manage. We can't praise the staff enough for their helpfulness.
The hotel is in a good position to explore the beautiful hilltop towns of this part of Puglia. To find the hotel, you will need sat-nav coordinates, or good directions!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bald-Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionBSM, receptionist at Borgo San Marco, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear guest,

we are really grateful for your feedback, for which we thank you. We really appreciate your good comments about our old cave dwellings, something that makes Borgo san Marco a unique location.

We hope to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards

Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The drive-up is disappointing: an industrial zone, a giant warerhouse, a major autostrada, and a high speed railroad track. What must it have been like when the Knights Templars occupied the site in the 12th century and laid the foundations of the Borgo in the 1400s? Fortunately, qualms fade as you approach the masseria, and the white washed walls appear through thousand year-old olive trees and well-tended gardens. The entrance gate opens onto a tuffa stone courtyard, where the original chapel sits between a low-arched dining room and a comfortable bar (which serves a delicious Negroni). The spacious bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are entered either from the courtyard or up stone stairways. Some feature views of the Adriatic from outdoor patios, where I napped one afternoon in a lounge chair and heard no sound but the singing of birds. Full breakfasts are included and dinners can be taken in the dining room. One night our dinner started with a variety of regional appetizers, followed by a pancetta risotto, a vegetable salad, then tasty chicken and potatoes, and finally fresh fruit and a well-made panna cotta, along with a pitcher of modest local wine -- for $34 Euros. Other pleasures scattered across the spacious grounds include a steam room (ask in advance for it to be turned on), a Jacuzzi modeled after a Roman tepidarium (meaning the water is neither hot nor cold, supposedly the ideal temperature after a steam), a pool with an artificial beach, and numerous outdoor lounge areas for reading or sunning. The chic and sophisticated owner, Mr. Alessandro Amatti, has assured a sense of overall design that is superior to the average resort. A short distance away are the sea food restaurants of Torre Canne and Savelettri; slightly father is the white washed, narrow-laned, medieval hill town of Locorotondo -- a must see; farther still is the guide book-recommended Ostuni, which has a boisterous old town but pales in comparison with the more subtle charms of Locorotundo. However, you may find the many charms of Borgo San Marco so appealing that you may never want to leave the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRS_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a very highly rated masseria but we were very disappointed. The whole experience is compromised by the traffic noise from the nearby motorway. Constant and very noticeable which rather undermines the point of "getting away from it all" for me. Our room was a little too spartan, with a very pinched shower stall that could easily have been built a few inches wider. Bizarrely, our entrance door fitted very badly so there were huge gaps at the top and bottom which let in draught and light, indicative of some of the work which had clearly been done a bit shoddily. We had a lovely welcome, and a promise of being shown around after we had been shown to our room, and then nothing - staff went off duty and the only lady left spoke very limited English.

Otherwise I think we suffered from end of season malaise - steam room turned off, pool area covered in fallen olives, terrace needed a good sweep, and reheated food served at dinner. Dinner was a set menu with a jug of red wine on the table- unfortunately some of the least enjoyable wine we had on our trip. I imagine in high season with more guests and more effort from staff, this place could be lovely (if you don't mind traffic noise) but we were happy we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, ours was above the bar area - concrete floor, ghastly green colour. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Borgo San Marco is a beautifully restored old farmhouse, once fortified against attack from invaders from across the seas. It is a historic building with all the atmosphere preserved, but no efforts have been spared to provide comfort for the guests at this small hotel. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and made our stay a pleasure from start to finish. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed, bathrooms were small but well-equipped. There are many places to visit from here, beautiful old towns such as Ostuni and Lecce, Fasano has a lovely old quarter and we used the local trains from Fasano station to get about when we wanted a break from driving. This is a most worthwhile area to visit.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteintobago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fasano
2.7 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.9 mi away
Masseria Torre Coccaro
Masseria Torre Coccaro
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
23.2 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
17.3 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Marco

Property: Borgo San Marco
Address: Contrada Sant'Angelo 33, 72015, Fasano, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fasano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo San Marco is located near the beach in Fasano and close to San Domenico Golf Club and Zoo Safari Fasano. Borgo San Marco's restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A bar/lounge is open for drinks. Room service is available during limited hours. The property serves a complimentary breakfast. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool, a health club, a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness facility, and a steam room. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas and the property has an Internet point. Wedding services, tour/ticket assistance, translation services, and tour assistance are available. Self parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include a rooftop terrace, a library, and a concierge desk. 16 air-conditioned guestrooms at Borgo San Marco feature fireplaces and minibars. Balconies or patios offer sea, pool, or courtyard views. Beds come with pillowtop mattresses, down comforters, down blankets, and premium bedding. All rooms include separate living rooms. Kitchens include cooking facilities. Bathrooms feature bathtubs or showers with jetted bathtubs and handheld showerheads. They also offer bidets, bathrobes, and complimentary toiletries. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to complimentary newspapers and safes, guestrooms offer cordless phones. 32-inch high-definition televisions have satellite channels, DVD/VCRs, and complimentary TV Internet access. Guests may request a turndown service, refrigerators, and microwaves. Housekeeping is available daily. Guestrooms are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Marco Fasano
Borgo San Marco Italy/Puglia - Fasano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing