We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
42
11
4
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
11
4
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Our friends Antonio and Hilda took us to Villa Roncalli for dinner. We were joined by a group of wonderful musicians from Belgium brought there after performing at a concert organized by Amici della Musica. The dinner was carefully prepared to order. So if you are in a hurry, then this is not the place for you. If you do enjoy a fine dining experience in a beautiful "palazzo" setting and allow Luisa , the wonderful chef to prepare your meal, then you will have not only a wonderful dinner, but a great experience.
I would go there again and recommend it to my own guests who come to stay at my home Casa Spello , nearby Foligno.
Buon Appetito!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank noahCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Villa Roncalli and Maria Luisa Scolastra's excellent cooking were recommended to us by a friend, so we decided to give it a try.
The place from the outside looked very nice and so did the reception areas and dining room.
Our room was spacious and clean but dated (80s decor) and not in keeping with the rest of the house.
However our main reason for staying there was to sample fine local cuisine and not the accommodation.
We arrived for dinner at 8:30 pm and we were still enjoying our fine dining experience by midnight.The food was excellent and so was the wine!! Each course was a surprise!! We opted for the "tasting" menu. Every dish was delicious and served at appropriate intervals without any hurry.
Next morning we had a fantastic breakfast too, with yogurt, freshly baked bread and jam, croissants, apple pie and freshly squeezed orange juice . Everything at the table was homemade and delicious.
Throughout our stay at Villa Roncalli we felt as guests of Maria Luisa's and not as customers!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma_Pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I was. I must say looking forward to going here - having read good reviews and awards from the Gambero Rosso, acquaintances etc... I left, however, feeling thirsty, exasperated and very embarrassed that I had brought friends and family a long way for such a disappointing meal!
I will sum up the evening quickly for you to make your own decision if this place is for you...
The service was terrible (there were only 9 people eating on a Friday night..and it was still terrible)
Nobody greeted us, offered to take coats, or even smiled when we arrived...in fact we were ignored for a good while. There was no wine list, choosing the wine was a farce in itself... There was one handwritten menu for the whole restaurant - which wasn't charming - just silly...the food on this hand written menu was a mystery that even the waiter couldn't read, when asked. (terrible handwriting!) It was cold (the room heated it seemed by only 1 open fire) The waiter had no knowledge of the menu or the wines - we asked twice for a glass for the red wine- we up and got it ourselves in the end. We asked before we ordered the tasting menu (recommended by the waiter) how long it would take- as we had 3 small children at home with a babysitter and didn't want to be away for too long - he couldn't tell us..but said not too long...so we ordered.
BIG MISTAKE! It took well over an hour for the appetiser to be served...during this time we received our wine and a piece of white bread the size of a cracker too keep us going...we were really hungry and unable to drink the wine on an empty stomach...
The first course was ok...polenta and cabbage wrapped beef. Then we waited another hour for course number 2...we were starving! Course 2 a cauliflower soup which tasted just like course 1 (the basil oil it was drowned in was the same as course 1) only much saltier and the pork fillet in the middle ranged from red/pink to completely raw on 2 of the plates - in fact 1 in our party did not eat the pork (also one of our party was sick in the night - from this we think - as his pork was one of the raw ones and he ate it before he realised it was uncooked- ( Course 3 which arrived after another 30 mins (and was suggested by the chef..) a horrid tasteless pasta with far too much salt and a little radicchio, then another pasta course shortly after the first - with artichokes -again ruined by the salt - just so overpowering it masked the taste of everything. Then the meat - after another long wait- unmemorable duck, tough and slightly over cooked - with some lovely fresh salad leaves I couldn't eat, because they were again so salty. We arrived at 8.15 (we had booked) we left at 11.45 -3 and a half hours later after rushing though the main course in around 5 minutes - without dessert or coffee, as we just simply couldn't stand to wait any longer. (By which point all but one of the other guests had left - all without dessert and all it seemed very unimpressed...during the long breaks between food, we even had chance to discuss how hungry we all were!) We drank a bottle of water each over the evening... 4 bottles! to try and get rid of the salt..nobody slept that well after that night - as we couldn't manage to overcome what felt like salt poisoning...
We have collectively eaten in restaurants all over the world (both simple trattorias and the like and fine dining establishments) - we have never been subjected to such over salted dishes. The food was poorly cooked and poorly seasoned.
It is a shame, as I suspect the ingredients are good before the chef gets involved - is the chef is over seasoning to compensate for something? Or has she lost all sense of taste due to long term over use of salt? A very odd...and very long evening...never to be repeated I hope. (The only plus -we did laugh a lot though...it was like an episode of real life Faulty Towers!)

Room Tip: don't bother going...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tinkerbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just a little hotel with a few tables out in front, but the female chef was fantastic. The menu was in pencil and it was too dark to read it. The flavor of the pasta was unbelievable. None of the dishes were less than superb. Service for me was perfect, though dishes came out at a leisurely pace. Another table complained and their service got so bad they left.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SargeantKinchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had read about Villa Roncalli and really wanted to go there on our first trip in 2008 but were unable to. So this time, we drove 1.5 hours to get there, and of course, being American, we were quite early for dinner. However, Chef was extremely accommodating for us and prepared for us a wonderful meal and kept bringing dishes for us to "try." From the salad, to the pasta, to the steak and risotto and then dessert, it was outstanding. Our server, who was quite young and still trainining, was very attentive and professional under his aunt's (Chef)watchful eye. We were even given a bottle of wine for later. I cannot express how friendly, attentive and accommodating Chef was for us. It was a wonderful experience. Villa Roncalli is in a beautiful setting and conveniently located for traveling around. Next time, I hope to actually stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ready2travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews