We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful taste of Italy”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Foligno
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful taste of Italy”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Italia for seven nights and enjoyed it completely. The hotel is located in a great location, away from traffic but close to all kinds of attractions. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfasts were ample and delicious. We ate dinner in the restaurant several times and we loved the food and service. They even prepared a special tiramisu desert for our 20th wedding anniversary celebration. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    89
    24
    1
    5
See reviews for
37
47
4
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We are walking from Assisi to Rome and this hotel was selected for us by Camino Ways. A very good choice. Our room is very clean and has everything we need. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The associated restaurant, via Del Forno, is good too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PARollinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Not only is the hotel lovely but the staff really make you feel part of their family. The older part of the hotel preserves the historic painting and architectural features. The modern part is updated but offers really spacious triples that have 2 bathes and an upstairs and downstairs. Breakfast is one of the best I have had in Italy. My group also had several meals in the restaurant where they took care of all our dietary needs with grace. I look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhubah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The location is perfect, right in the historical center, in an ancient family palace recently restored. Rooms and service were above average, even if in line with a three star hotel, very clean and spacious, with comfortable beds.

My only exception is about the "modern" design of the part of the hotel where we were staying: why, oh, why did they use all that steel, with such enormous and heavy steel slabs for the doors of the cupboard, bathroom and room that I was constantly worried about hurting me while closing it?

However, as other parts of the hotel are furnished in different styles, and I understand that you can choose the style, if you manage to avoid the steel this a perfect choice, absolutely to recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid the "modern" rooms :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clafromitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel near the center of town. Nice rooms, clean, multilingual and friendly staff. Good restaurant run by same folks next door. Near the main piazza in town and centrally located to parks and shops. About a 15 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupruls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Hotel Italia is in the very best location in Foligno- Piazza Matteotti joins the Piazza della Republica with its magnificent Duomo and civic buildings. The staff of the hotel are friendly and efficient. My double room on the third floor was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also generous in size, and the shower was the best in many Italian hotels that I have stayed in in recent weeks. I had a sunny balcony too- what more could you want? After drinks in the Piazza, our evening meal in the hotel restaurant next door was simple but well prepared and enjoyable. The continental breakfast was pretty standard.

Room Tip: It always pays to look at a room before accepting it ; mine was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Hotel Italia is a clean no nonsense hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. The bathroom clean as well. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast adequate for Italian hotels. All together this was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natanTel_Aviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foligno hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Foligno
0.3 mi away
Relais Metelli
Relais Metelli
#2 of 17 in Foligno
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Le Mura
3.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
#1 of 1 in Sant'Eraclio
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Delfina Palace Hotel
Delfina Palace Hotel
#4 of 17 in Foligno
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 12, 06034, Foligno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Foligno
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Foligno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing