We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Foligno
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We found Villa dei Platani by fluke in researching for a convenient hub during our visit to Umbria. It went beyond our demands and expectations. It is a lovely Italianate villa, newly updated and refurbished in the most stylish manner with all the state of the art amenities. Wonderfully designed rooms that provided good sized bathrooms with excellent plumbing facilities, great beds and beddings, towels, toiletries. Service was outstanding: from Amit at the front desk, who saw to our every need, even before booking, the lady running the fabulous breakfast room that had a spread of the most beautiful and delicious cakes and pastries.

Foligno itself was a wonderful base for us. Not a tourist destination, yet rife with excellent restaurants that afforded us incredible nightly meals. Can't recommend this enough. A true delight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    92
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
169
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were leaving Rome and wanted to rent a car to tour Assisi and Tuscany. We selected this hotel because it was across from a train station that had direct trains from Rome. We were also able to rent a car at the station and return it in Florence.
This was a perfect choice. It is in a beautiful old home just across the street from the station. The staff actually came to the station to help us with the luggage and did the same when we left.
Small room with very nice beds.
There was no map of town and directions to a restaurant was not good since they did not tell us of construction.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoman34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

The old villa has kept its charm and the modern but warm extension have pleasant rooms with modern interior and high tech ammeneties. Everything is well sized and perfectly fitted. Free Wifi in the rooms works fast and consistenly. Sky television giving dozens oc channels in italian and english. I should not forget the luxurious breakfast buffet that is constantly refreshed and has the best home-made pastries. A frsh yoghurt-machine was a novelty for us. The staff is very friendly and at no moment you are left uncertain of what to do. They continue to give attention and advice at any moment of your stay

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world traveller in Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel is located in a town on the road between Ancona and Roma. Very comfortable and modern hotel. Unlike most design hotels, rooms are still very comfortable. Disadvantage is (like many Italian hotels) is that airconditioning is controlled centrally, so you first have to ask before it is turned on...

Service is nice and friendly. People are willing to help for directions.

Breakfast is standard, nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder, colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

After a very long flight, and a taxi to Rome, the crowds in Termini Station and another train to Foligno I was tired and ready for a quiet place to catch my breath. I had booked this hotel online and no idea what to expect...just that it was literally across the street from the train station. What a lovely surprise! Yes...right across from the train station (saving the price of yet another taxi). Yet, that's not all. The receptionists were friendly, welcoming, informative and attentive. Within minutes of arrival I was in my modern room, an oasis from the crowds and noise of the previous 24 hours. Lovely bathtub for a soothing bath, followed for a good night's sleep and I was ready to catch the train the next morning. Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Loved this hotel, great location for the town and railway station. Very modern and quiet. Helpful staff and beautiful breakfast served by a very stylish Italian lady.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012 via mobile

I have visited this hotel on a regular basis since 2010 and have never been disappointed. The building has been under renovation for about a year which is not complete. On my next visit I am looking forward to trying out their new rooms.

Stayed November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheCasertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foligno
0.1 mi away
Relais Metelli
Relais Metelli
#2 of 17 in Foligno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Foligno
3.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
#1 of 1 in Sant'Eraclio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Le Mura
4.3 mi away
Guesia Village Hotel and Spa
9.2 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Viale Mezzetti 29, 06034, Foligno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Foligno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foligno
#1 Family Hotel in Foligno
#1 Business Hotel in Foligno
#2 Spa Hotel in Foligno
#3 Luxury Hotel in Foligno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa dei Platani boutique & spa hotel is located in the historic town of Foligno PG, which is also known as "The Rose of Umbria". Amidst the medieval towns of Montevallo, Spell and Bevan , in a central position respected to whole Umbria. Hotel offers 27 Rooms artfully decorated and equipped with best amenities which in a modern era are not renounceable and Ad hoc services like Executive Meeting room, The Roof Terrace on the second Floor and Luxury Wellness room Spa. Or service & the room comfort assumer maximum ospitalità. The strategic Position, in the heart of City center and a few steps away from the Railway Station allows our guests to have everything at a short distance, even on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dei Platani Designrelais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing