We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Foligno
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is one of the loveliest boutique hotels in the area. If you're visiting Umbria, and surrounding medieval towns, I highly recommend staying at this hotel. They have excellent breakfast with fresh produce, variety of cheese, pastries and the best coffee. Everything is spic and span, sparkling clean...I love the staff. They are very helpful and friendly. Although this is a historical villa, it has all the modern amenities with chic decor. I love the soothing colors of the furnishings in the rooms and the bathrooms. The rooms are not huge but pretty efficient. The beverages in the minibar are complimentary. They will replace the empty bottles everyday!...Love this hotel. If you stay in Folignio be sure to check out Ristorante Le Mura...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hacer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    92
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
169
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I wanted to take a tour of the beautiful Umbria region...the green heart of Italy.... and were advised to stay in Foligno, which is an ideal location, because most trains connect at the Foligno train station; so we searched for a hotel in this town, and found the Villa dei Platani. This lovely 4 star hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Foligno station....just about 1 minute walk....and about 5 minutes walk from the Foligno town centre. It is extremely convenient because there is no need for a taxi when carting luggage from the train station, or after a tiring sightseeing day out. The hotel is very clean, has an elegant feel to it, and has pleasant extras like free mini bar (water and soft drinks), which is replenished daily, as well as a mini t.v. in the bathroom. The breakfast is extravagant, with a selection of freshly baked bread, hams, and salamis, as well as local dips, cereals, and a large selection of fruit, nuts and cakes. The atmosphere is very relaxing, being a really charming Italian villa with an elegant decor, and the staff at the reception are friendly and very willing to help....on the first day of arrival, the young man at reception also gave us a card, and told us to call so that they could help should we be lost or find ourselves in trouble of any sort. The beautiful town of Assisi is just 10 minutes (2 stops) away from Foligno. Spello (another must see), is just one stop away (5 minutes), whilst Perugia (about 25 minutes away) and Lake Trasimeno (about 1 hour away) are also on the Foligno Firenze line. Within Foligno, the shops and restaurants are only about 5-10 minutes away on foot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa dei Platani and will stay there again when we next visit the Umbria region.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_aelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A must place to stay when you visit Foligno , great service wonderful staff, so helpful,
A beautiful, old home opp. the railway station completely refurbished to a very high standard, walking distance to shops and restaurants and the hotel provided great breakfast. we will stay there again as there are trains and buses to all places you would want to visit

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstinaDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foligno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It is just across the Foligno Train Station, so very convenient if you are coming by train and carry bags. Very nice rooms and SPA. It is elegant and at the same time very quite for a relaxing stay.
Right down town and so walking distance to all the local attractions.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite although you are in City center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We found Villa dei Platani by fluke in researching for a convenient hub during our visit to Umbria. It went beyond our demands and expectations. It is a lovely Italianate villa, newly updated and refurbished in the most stylish manner with all the state of the art amenities. Wonderfully designed rooms that provided good sized bathrooms with excellent plumbing facilities, great beds and beddings, towels, toiletries. Service was outstanding: from Amit at the front desk, who saw to our every need, even before booking, the lady running the fabulous breakfast room that had a spread of the most beautiful and delicious cakes and pastries.

Foligno itself was a wonderful base for us. Not a tourist destination, yet rife with excellent restaurants that afforded us incredible nightly meals. Can't recommend this enough. A true delight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were leaving Rome and wanted to rent a car to tour Assisi and Tuscany. We selected this hotel because it was across from a train station that had direct trains from Rome. We were also able to rent a car at the station and return it in Florence.
This was a perfect choice. It is in a beautiful old home just across the street from the station. The staff actually came to the station to help us with the luggage and did the same when we left.
Small room with very nice beds.
There was no map of town and directions to a restaurant was not good since they did not tell us of construction.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoman34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The old villa has kept its charm and the modern but warm extension have pleasant rooms with modern interior and high tech ammeneties. Everything is well sized and perfectly fitted. Free Wifi in the rooms works fast and consistenly. Sky television giving dozens oc channels in italian and english. I should not forget the luxurious breakfast buffet that is constantly refreshed and has the best home-made pastries. A frsh yoghurt-machine was a novelty for us. The staff is very friendly and at no moment you are left uncertain of what to do. They continue to give attention and advice at any moment of your stay

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foligno hotels
0.1 mi away
Relais Metelli
Relais Metelli
#2 of 17 in Foligno
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Foligno
4.3 mi away
Guesia Village Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
#1 of 1 in Sant'Eraclio
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 17 in Foligno
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Le Mura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Viale Mezzetti 29, 06034, Foligno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Foligno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foligno
#1 Family Hotel in Foligno
#1 Business Hotel in Foligno
#2 Spa Hotel in Foligno
#3 Luxury Hotel in Foligno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa dei Platani boutique & spa hotel is located in the historic town of Foligno PG, which is also known as "The Rose of Umbria". Amidst the medieval towns of Montevallo, Spell and Bevan , in a central position respected to whole Umbria. Hotel offers 27 Rooms artfully decorated and equipped with best amenities which in a modern era are not renounceable and Ad hoc services like Executive Meeting room, The Roof Terrace on the second Floor and Luxury Wellness room Spa. Or service & the room comfort assumer maximum ospitalità. The strategic Position, in the heart of City center and a few steps away from the Railway Station allows our guests to have everything at a short distance, even on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dei Platani Designrelais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing