We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
232
107
28
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
107
28
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We enjoyed our five night stay in this good boutique hotel, which is in an attractively landscaped garden.

Our room was well furnished. Some parts of the room were poorly lit. One of the two bedside tables in our room was lit from under the glass top, so anything left on it got hot. The wardrobe had an automatic light turned on by movement; every we walked past the open wardrobe, the light came on. If we stopped moving, it turned itself off; there was no way to stop this.

There should have been more sockets conveniently positioned for gadgets; we had to unplug lights to use sockets. Our room had a big, easy to use, drawer safe in wardrobe. The "free minibar" in our room contained only water plus two other soft drinks, neither of which we liked, so this was little use to us (though you could easily buy drinks and put them in).

Our room had direct access to the hotel's pleasant sun terrace. Unfortunately, this terrace is also a smoking area; however, as the terrace's main seating area is at the other end, we did not have problems with smoke wafting into our room.

The corridors let the place down, as the carpets were drab and poorly fitted. The automated lighting in the corridors and over the stairs was not timed correctly - it should come on just before you enter the area lit, not just after!

Breakfast was satisfactory. The regular coffee (a cona machine) was stewed; speciality coffees made to order were much better. The rolls were fresh, but there was no choice on most days; on the one day we had early breakfast we found a selection of rolls.

The hotel is very convenient for trains and buses, which both leave from the station across the road from the hotel, and a short walk from the city centre.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is one of the loveliest boutique hotels in the area. If you're visiting Umbria, and surrounding medieval towns, I highly recommend staying at this hotel. They have excellent breakfast with fresh produce, variety of cheese, pastries and the best coffee. Everything is spic and span, sparkling clean...I love the staff. They are very helpful and friendly. Although this is a historical villa, it has all the modern amenities with chic decor. I love the soothing colors of the furnishings in the rooms and the bathrooms. The rooms are not huge but pretty efficient. The beverages in the minibar are complimentary. They will replace the empty bottles everyday!...Love this hotel. If you stay in Folignio be sure to check out Ristorante Le Mura...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hacer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I wanted to take a tour of the beautiful Umbria region...the green heart of Italy.... and were advised to stay in Foligno, which is an ideal location, because most trains connect at the Foligno train station; so we searched for a hotel in this town, and found the Villa dei Platani. This lovely 4 star hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Foligno station....just about 1 minute walk....and about 5 minutes walk from the Foligno town centre. It is extremely convenient because there is no need for a taxi when carting luggage from the train station, or after a tiring sightseeing day out. The hotel is very clean, has an elegant feel to it, and has pleasant extras like free mini bar (water and soft drinks), which is replenished daily, as well as a mini t.v. in the bathroom. The breakfast is extravagant, with a selection of freshly baked bread, hams, and salamis, as well as local dips, cereals, and a large selection of fruit, nuts and cakes. The atmosphere is very relaxing, being a really charming Italian villa with an elegant decor, and the staff at the reception are friendly and very willing to help....on the first day of arrival, the young man at reception also gave us a card, and told us to call so that they could help should we be lost or find ourselves in trouble of any sort. The beautiful town of Assisi is just 10 minutes (2 stops) away from Foligno. Spello (another must see), is just one stop away (5 minutes), whilst Perugia (about 25 minutes away) and Lake Trasimeno (about 1 hour away) are also on the Foligno Firenze line. Within Foligno, the shops and restaurants are only about 5-10 minutes away on foot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa dei Platani and will stay there again when we next visit the Umbria region.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_aelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A must place to stay when you visit Foligno , great service wonderful staff, so helpful,
A beautiful, old home opp. the railway station completely refurbished to a very high standard, walking distance to shops and restaurants and the hotel provided great breakfast. we will stay there again as there are trains and buses to all places you would want to visit

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AstinaDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It is just across the Foligno Train Station, so very convenient if you are coming by train and carry bags. Very nice rooms and SPA. It is elegant and at the same time very quite for a relaxing stay.
Right down town and so walking distance to all the local attractions.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite although you are in City center!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianluca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews