We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it look”
Review of Hotel Selene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Selene
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Pomezia
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stay in room 279, air condition dead, I came down to the reception and they said air condition didn't work becauseI open the window.....while I just check in the window not only closed but permanently locked. Later house keeping staff came and she said sorry its broken : (

I won't recommend anyone to stay here because I believe there are plenty much more better around Rome.

The hotel had problem with almost everything, reception who only worry about city tax and I don't think they prepare to serve their customer.

Room Tip: room 279 air condition broken
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Selene
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Cross Hotel Selene off your list if you plan to visit Italy. We actually booked a different hotel but they sent us to Hotel Selene. I arrived around 9:30 AM after an overnight flight and they made me wait until 2 PM to check-in. They claimed to be full but they weren't. They advertised a shuttle to the conveniently located train station of Pomezia (Santa Paloma). In fact, they always complained about us using the shuttle and the train station is 12 kms away in another town. The front desk staff were tolerable but not friendly. The breakfast was excellent and the bartender eventually warmed up to us once he figured out that we were a) paying customers and b) that we would leave him a tip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miser6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel seems to be luxurious and excellent but is actually not so. The worst hotel one can ever stay in. We were on a trip to Europe with a group of around 50 people. We had one night stay in HOTEL SELENE and thought would enjoy the stay and take good memories with us.
But the scenario was different. All the members of hotel staff are thieves. Broke into our room no. 227 when we were out to enjoy the hotel side seeing. Somebody most probably the hotel staff member entered our locked room , broke our 4 luggages and shattered all our belongings. Took away many valueables and currency. When we reported the incident to the hotel staff they din't even bother to come into our room and have a look at the view.
They were not even ready to call the police the reason being their involvement in the thievery.
The only response we got was that "this is a common incident in the hotel. We will see what can be done in morning."
We spent the whole night in terror.
Next morning management did not help us even to contact police. We forced them to accompany us to the ploice station and help us lodge report but all in vain. We are 100% sure that it was the hotel staff only involved in the thievery.

We strongly recommend others NOT TO STAY IN "HOTEL SELENE, VIA PONTINA KM30, ROME, ITALY." since its the worst hotel and not a safe place to stay.
The hotel staff is not at all trustworthy and extremely rude.

Room Tip: do not choose this hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 227travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived on a coach trip with Just Go -Grand Tour of Italy - The welcome on arrival was as cold as ice. The hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful but on an industrial estate. The evening meal consisted of pasta and a main of chicken thighs with sauted potatoes on 1st night and chicken chunks + peas on 2nd night. Attitude of staff was aloof. We were separated at breakfast by a curtain from other diners whose choice of food was vastly superior to ours. Our coffee/tea/water/milk machine was faulty and we were gruffly told we couldn't use the one a few feet way from it. We felt very much the unwanted guests during our stay. On1st night the barman tried to charge 2 euros per drink more than his colleague the following night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

My husband was invited to a conference, and I accompanied him. So this is a review of someone who has nothing to do in Pomezia except sleep in the hotel. The hotel is just fine, and the room service was great. But there is nothing to do in Pomezia. And it costs 30 Euro to get to the train station to get out of Pomezia. Just so you know.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren_Barr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have been in this hotel several times in the last months. Internet wired LAN connection is supposed to be free but....actually almost never worked for me, in different rooms!
I've spoken with reception that always says "we had this problem today", even if it almost never worked, "it's not my business, you have to talk to my manager..." and things like this....
Incredible that a service that is shown as a nice feature, and paied in the price of the hotel, it is not available for clients and nobody really cares. I've asked for a discount, I'll let you know if they give me. The rest of the hotel is ok, good parking, nice room, clean, good food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The hotel is clean, room was quite small but without noise from outside. Some evenings I heard people from neighbouring room - either they spoke extremely loud or some of the walls are too thin.
Hotel restaurant is a bit too expensive. Waiters are polite but hardly understand English.
Internet connection in rooms is wired only and is free of charge.
It is not easy to find the hotel as it is on the left side of the motorway (if coming from Rome) so you have to find a small road which passes under the SS148 - simply said be sure to study maps carefully or use GPS navigation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pomezia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Simon
Hotel Simon
#1 of 20 in Pomezia
931 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antonella
Hotel Antonella
#2 of 20 in Pomezia
813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Enea Hotel
Enea Hotel
#7 of 20 in Pomezia
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cortese
Hotel Cortese
#9 of 20 in Pomezia
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcom Palace
Arcom Palace
#4 of 20 in Pomezia
109 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albergo italia
Albergo italia
#1 of 2 in Torvaianica
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selene

Address: Via Pontina Vecchia Km 30, 00071, Pomezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Pomezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pomezia
Price Range: £54 - £850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selene 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Selene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pomezia
Selene Hotel Pomezia
Hotel Selene Pomezia, Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing