We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only because i have to”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Selene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Selene
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Pomezia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only because i have to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Like most people that end up staying at this hotel i am also here for business and because i have no other choice.
The rooms are ok-ish, the beds are relativity comfortable but that's about the only positive. The decor is a bit drab with cracks in the plaster and paint coming off the walls. The air conditioning is non-existent its either pushing out heat or its off.
This must be the only hotel in the world that doesn't offer WiFi in room (even for a cost). They say that wired internet is available in rooms, but out of the four ive ever stayed in this has never worked.
As the hotel is located on a dual carriageway walking out to find somewhere to eat is a no go, this means you end up eating in the hotel restaurant that is fairly reasonably priced with ok quality food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GravyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    195
    125
    93
    54
See reviews for
153
68
18
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed at hotel Selene several times, and for business purposes it is just fine. The rooms are average, without wireless internet unfortunately.

It would be nice if they had a bar where you could have a glass of wine in the evening. The restaurant is not really a cosy place where you'd like to sit down for a drink. Also, practically every glass I ordered had lipstick stains on it, which makes me doubt their kitchen policies.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

As I was in Rome for a few days of business trips, I found the hotel appropriate with regard to location (outside Rome though not far from airport and Eur Fermi statiom), food (even breakfast buffet is more "international" than "italian".
Only drawback: the way you can get the (free) calbe internet connection in room is unnecessarily complicated.
Note tahe fitness center and Spa are not part of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galfons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stay in room 279, air condition dead, I came down to the reception and they said air condition didn't work becauseI open the window.....while I just check in the window not only closed but permanently locked. Later house keeping staff came and she said sorry its broken : (

I won't recommend anyone to stay here because I believe there are plenty much more better around Rome.

The hotel had problem with almost everything, reception who only worry about city tax and I don't think they prepare to serve their customer.

Room Tip: room 279 air condition broken
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pomezia hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Cross Hotel Selene off your list if you plan to visit Italy. We actually booked a different hotel but they sent us to Hotel Selene. I arrived around 9:30 AM after an overnight flight and they made me wait until 2 PM to check-in. They claimed to be full but they weren't. They advertised a shuttle to the conveniently located train station of Pomezia (Santa Paloma). In fact, they always complained about us using the shuttle and the train station is 12 kms away in another town. The front desk staff were tolerable but not friendly. The breakfast was excellent and the bartender eventually warmed up to us once he figured out that we were a) paying customers and b) that we would leave him a tip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miser6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel seems to be luxurious and excellent but is actually not so. The worst hotel one can ever stay in. We were on a trip to Europe with a group of around 50 people. We had one night stay in HOTEL SELENE and thought would enjoy the stay and take good memories with us.
But the scenario was different. All the members of hotel staff are thieves. Broke into our room no. 227 when we were out to enjoy the hotel side seeing. Somebody most probably the hotel staff member entered our locked room , broke our 4 luggages and shattered all our belongings. Took away many valueables and currency. When we reported the incident to the hotel staff they din't even bother to come into our room and have a look at the view.
They were not even ready to call the police the reason being their involvement in the thievery.
The only response we got was that "this is a common incident in the hotel. We will see what can be done in morning."
We spent the whole night in terror.
Next morning management did not help us even to contact police. We forced them to accompany us to the ploice station and help us lodge report but all in vain. We are 100% sure that it was the hotel staff only involved in the thievery.

We strongly recommend others NOT TO STAY IN "HOTEL SELENE, VIA PONTINA KM30, ROME, ITALY." since its the worst hotel and not a safe place to stay.
The hotel staff is not at all trustworthy and extremely rude.

Room Tip: do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 227travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived on a coach trip with Just Go -Grand Tour of Italy - The welcome on arrival was as cold as ice. The hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful but on an industrial estate. The evening meal consisted of pasta and a main of chicken thighs with sauted potatoes on 1st night and chicken chunks + peas on 2nd night. Attitude of staff was aloof. We were separated at breakfast by a curtain from other diners whose choice of food was vastly superior to ours. Our coffee/tea/water/milk machine was faulty and we were gruffly told we couldn't use the one a few feet way from it. We felt very much the unwanted guests during our stay. On1st night the barman tried to charge 2 euros per drink more than his colleague the following night!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomezia
Hotel Simon
#1 of 21 in Pomezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Hotel Antonella
#2 of 21 in Pomezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enea Hotel
#6 of 21 in Pomezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hotel Principe
#5 of 21 in Pomezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Albergo italia
#1 of 2 in Torvaianica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selene

Property: Hotel Selene
Address: Via Pontina Vecchia Km 30, 00071, Pomezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Pomezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pomezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selene 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Selene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pomezia
Selene Hotel Pomezia
Hotel Selene Pomezia, Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing