We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Quarto D'Altino
Certificate of Excellence
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Venice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great hotel. Only two quick direct train stops to the heart of Venice.
When arriving at Marco Polo Airport, reserve a free shuttle ride to the hotel. This is so nice if you have just gotten off an all night flight from North America.
Staying in the heart of Venice could be quite challenging using water taxis and foot. Remember no cars in Venice, you are either walking or taking a boat.
That makes the Crowne an easy choice. Secondly, the Crowne is modern with nice bedding and a hotel in Venice, not only will be twice the price, but the beds may not be nearly as comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muskokadave1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    450
    139
    48
    21
See reviews for
379
396
33
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This traveler and family (wife, two adult sons and their wives) booked this property using IHG reward points. The goal was to arrive into the Port of Venice on Saturday, 17 May 2014 from a two-week cruise aboard the Norwegian Jade and depart from the Venice Marco Polo International Airport Sunday morning, 18 May 2014.
This property is "close" to the airport, and has a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport.
We arrived via private livery service (the hotel does not provide shuttle service from the Port of Venice) a little earlier than scheduled and the sleeping rooms were not available. This was acceptable to us, especially when the front desk staff informed us that all the rooms had been upgraded to suites.
The family stayed in the bar (two family members went into the restaurant to have breakfast) until the sleeping rooms were available. One sleeping room became available within about 45 minutes, and the other two within about an hour and a half.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The amenities were good- and yes, there are bidets in the bathrooms. Do an internet search on how to use the bidets. There are oil-filled radiator heaters in the bathrooms for guests to place bath towels so the towels will be warm after showering or bathing- and the daughters-in-law both said the bathtubs were exquisite!
The sleeping rooms do require that guests place a room key in the slot to keep the lights on, and the television remotes were a little difficult to use, just because we were not familiar with the television brand. We asked a housekeeper for assistance on both, and she happily assisted.
This was a Saturday. By accident, our private livery driver(cost about €80 from the cruise Port, plus tip) took a wrong turn and we were able to see a street market was being held. This is something that happens every Saturday. Food, clothes, fresh vegetables, other goodies were being offered.
After we had been in our sleeping rooms and taken a short nap, the family walked down to the street market (it was very close indeed) stopping once for a cappuccino, a beer, and a soda.
This place is really civilized, the Quarto d'Altino. The birds were singing, the breeze was wonderful, the sun invigorating, and the flowers fragrant. And the hotel...just wonderful!
It just doesn't get much better than this, folks!
The family ate supper in the restaurant, and had breakfast the morning of our departure also in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and very tasty. The service was impeccable. On our arrival day, we had lunch in the bar Again, good food, good service.
There is no pool, but the hotel does have an exercise room and several conference rooms.
This reviewer does suggest that if you, fellow travelers, are going to use the free shuttle from the hotel to the airport, that you make certain to have your name on the scheduled time! There are quite a few travelers going from the hotel to the airport!
The train to downtown Venice actually stops right behind this property, and the hotel automatically presents guests upon check-in with a train schedule. One can actually buy tickets for the train from the front desk, and if the family had been so inclined, could have taken the train from the hotel to the sights in downtown Venice (the Doge's Palace, etc.) This traveler does not know if the tickets for the train would also be accepted on the public water taxi system.
Only a few noticeable deficiencies:
1) This property shines- it is extremely clean. But that means that when there are signs of wear on some of the walls (usually at the corners of the walls), and minor amounts of discolored grout, one notices these flaws.
2) This traveler needed to print some airline boarding passes, and was directed to the two computers just to the right of the front desk (as one is facing the front desk.) What the staff did not tell this traveler is that only the computer on the RIGHT will print boarding passes- not the one on the left. This resulted in about 45 minutes of frustration.
3) The elevators are small- this appears to be the "standard" in Italy (as evidenced by previous visits to Italy and other hotels.) Two people with two week's luggage make for a tight fit.

Should ever the opportunity to visit Venice arise again, the Crowne Plaza d'Altino would be the place for this traveler and family to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here in April 2014 for one night and had a late check-in after like 15 minutes drive from airport.
We received two adjacent rooms instead of a family suite we've ordered and they were adequate.
After a while we had a power failure which affected our rooms and some other rooms on the same floor.
Staff didn't know how to handle the situation so we spent well than over an hour in complete darkness.
After which we were switches to some non-adjacent less quality rooms on other floor.
No apology from senior hotel staff and not any compensation was offered.

The breakfast was ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b39841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear b39841,

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable to know that our services were not at par with your standards. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your room accommodation and with the level of service you received from our hotel staff.

Your satisfaction is of utmost concern to us as we always strive to make your experience a great one. I have shared your comments with our hotel management and rest assured that your comments will be used to consider improvements where necessary.

Once again, thank you for staying and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is a few steps away (literally--I could see the railway in front of my room looking down) from the train station, yet not noisy! Very quiet and convenient. 20 minutes to venice via train, and easy to get there and figure out even if you are a tourist and visiting for the first time. Modern glass elevators, Very large room--larger than any I've encountered in the U.S. while traveling. I was surprised to see a room this large in Italy!? You can purchase tickets for the train with euros at the hotel lobby. How convenient is that?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived at Venice Mestre train station from Verona, then one stop (10 mins) to Quarto d'Altino stop. Would be very convenient to go into Venice via St. Lucia station if I were there for a tourist visit.
The Crowne Plaza is literally at the train station, just go downstairs from the track and head the opposite direction from the station itself, go to the top of the ramp, turn left to the street, and then turn right towards the hotel entrance. 2 minutes at the most. The airport shuttle is free (and also picks up at the nearby BW). Room was a roomy king-bed upgrade with both shower and whirlpool bath -- unusual in Europe at the price paid. I didn't hear the trains outside, but the room was on the opposite side of the hotel. Too bad I was only there from 5 PM until 4:30 AM when I had to leave for my 6:30 flight. The restaurant buffet was a good value with very good food and service. Didn't have the breakfast, and didn't get a chance to do anything but repack my suitcase and sleep.

Room Tip: Try for the front or side of the hotel facing away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJohn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 2 weeks in Italy total, half of it in Venice before/after a cruise. First 2 hotels in Ferrovia area/"old" Venice were moderately priced, comfortable enough, and were convenient to vaporettos. But Crowne Plaza is only 20 minutes by train (stop is literally behind the hotel) and has a shuttle to airport, room service, decent enough food (it isn't billed as a 5-star restaurant, folks). Not much of anything to do near hotel, though, so bring a good book. Awesome, big king non-smoking room on 3rd floor near fitness center. Ice machine was broken, though. Looks to be a favorite of airline pilots and flight attendants: quiet, off the beaten path. Bar and coffee area in lobby. Met many other Americans traveling on to later cruises. It was the best place we stayed for the entire vacation and can accommodate smaller travel groups. Very comfortable!

Room Tip: Booked our room through Priceline and got exactly what we wanted. Not a lot of shops or other leisu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rglasservision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarto D'Altino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Airvenice
#5 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Borgo Ca dei Sospiri
#1 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel Junior
#3 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino

Property: Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino
Address: Viale della Resistenza 18/20, 30020 Quarto D'Altino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Quarto D'Altino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quarto D'Altino
#3 Family Hotel in Quarto D'Altino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quarto D'Altino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino hotel, with its comfortable and fashionable rooms, is ideally located at just 20 minutes by train from the magic of Venice and provides easy access via A4 motorway to Venice Marco Polo airport (12km) and Treviso (17km). All 152 rooms offer high speed internet access and interactive TVs. In addition to our spacious Executive rooms, the hotel offers Family and Accessible rooms. You can unwind in our smart Minigym and relax in our L'Invito restaurant and bar where authentic cuisine blends perfectly with innovative and creative dishes. The Crowne Plaza Venice East Quarto d'Altino is equipped with state-of-the-art conference technology and service, making it the ideal choice for business meetings, conferences and seminars (6 meeting rooms, all with natural daylight from 10 to 250 people).Wi-fi service provided throughout the hotel. Ample free car parking and garage provided on site. The CP Venice East-Quarto d'Altino has been consecutively awarded Best Hotel 2005 and Torchbearer 2006 amongst 600 IHG hotels in the EMEA region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d`Altino Hotel Quarto d`Altino
Crowne Plaza Quarto d Altino
Holiday Inn Venice East
Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto D'Altino Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing