We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”
Review of Ambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambra
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Quarto D'Altino
Reviewed 6 June 2012

the ambra was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The staff were more than helpful with enquiries regarding buses, trains etc. The station was a 10-15 minute walk away and took approx. 30 mins into Venice, located right in front of the Grand canal. Would reccomend if you prefer to stay somewhere a bit quieter, although shops, restaurants were close by.

Room Tip: if you haven't booked directly with hotel you should ring them to ensure double or twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was a good and affordable option near Venice, where hotels are super-expensive and in limited supply when cruise ships depart/arrive in Venice. The front-desk workers were pleasant and helpful. The train stop is 15 mins away walking, which can be a pain when hauling in/out your luggage or after a long day walking around Venice. However, the walk through the neighborhood is nice. The breakfast was good and basic - boiled eggs, pastries, cold cereal, canned fruit, coffee, etc. There is a restaurant around the corner which served so-so pizza. The room was large and comfortable; the only negative is that we got stuck in a smoking room and there were no other rooms to relocate to at the time. This resulted us having to inhale smoke-saturated, poisonous air all night and my husband and I ended up getting sick. Lesson: make sure you specifically request a non-smoking room unless you like inhaling that crap into your lungs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlivesMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

For the truly affordable price for bed and breakfast for a family of four (104 EUR) we received excellent service. Quadruple room is spacious, clean , with comfortable beds.
Many diverse and quality food for breakfast . We praise the friendly and dedicated staff.

SpoBj

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent 2 nights here in April 2012. The rooms were neat, well maintained and had all amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful. Located at a quiet place with a good restaurant nearby. Got a 3 person bedroom for for 153.16 pounds. I would recommend this place to anyone.
The nearest train station(Quarto d'Altino) is 12 mins walk away. Trains to venice take 20 mins time approx. Tickets are available @ the reception of the hotel. Breakfast served is reasonably good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPJAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Positives:
Clean and neat large room.
15 minutes walking distance (800 meters) to Quarto d'Altino train station.
You can buy train tickets from hotel (if not sold out)
Quiet area.
Nearby supermarket open between 08:00-19:30.

Negatives:
Receptionist can not speak proper english and not helpful enough.
Too simple breakfast. (croissant, cheese, jam, tea/coffee)
Quarto d'Altino train station timetable is irregular.
Room sound isolation is average.
Next door pizza place closes after 19:00 or so and there is not any nearby food place.

P.S.: Train reaches to Venice (Venezia Santa Lucia station) in approximately 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisshortbegentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed there for 5 nights from 11th Aug 2001. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very basic. Train station is about 10minutes walking. From the station its about 20 minutes
to Venice. Trains are always on time. You can get a time table for Trains from the Hotel. They also sell the train tickets in the Hotel. (€2.80 one way to Venice) If you are traveling by car Hotel car park is free. Taxi fair from Airport to Hotel is around €45 for 5 people.There is a nice restaurant next to Hotel. They are very busy in the Nights. But we love the food there. For internet use they charge €5 for half a hour.
Even though its little far from Venice its a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagarajah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were there last year in Sept'10 and had booked a double room for two nights. It is located in a small town Quarto D'Altino and the hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the station.

You can reach Venice in about 20 minutes by train. There are trains available from very early morning and are available every half/one hour, trains are also available till late night to return.

Hotel was nice and ideal for a vacation. We were allotted a decent room with big balcony in the front. However we were disappointed with the breakfast as they hardly provided anything in cold breakfast although we paid for it. You need to pay extra to get additional items. Bathroom was good and clean.

The staff was very helpful and provided all guidance for reaching Venice, even the train tkts can be purchased from the hotel.

Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp_0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarto D'Altino hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Airvenice
Best Western Hotel Airvenice
#5 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgo Ca dei Sospiri
Borgo Ca dei Sospiri
#1 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Junior
Park Hotel Junior
#4 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Venice
Residence Venice
#3 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
151 reviews
3.7 mi away
Laguna B&B
Laguna B&B
#1 of 2 in Portegrandi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra

Address: Via Adige 2/3, 30020, Quarto D'Altino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Quarto D'Altino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Quarto D'Altino
Price Range: £52 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambra 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Quarto d`Altino
Ambra Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing