We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George and Dragon Swanscombe

The George and Dragon Swanscombe
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanscombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George and Dragon Swanscombe
Ranked #1 of 1 Swanscombe B&B and Inns
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed there for several weeks whilst working at bluewater

Great value, especially when you get a price for the 3 other hotels. Previously stayed in companile which was double the price and quite shocking!

Here clean rooms, welcoming staff, good home cooked food.

Also handy car parking at back and 2 minutes from bluewater.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claretjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Our family went for the weekend, food was excellent and good value for money, if you like real ale you will love it even more. Yes at the moment it is in the process of a refurbishment but just take it in your stride, the staff are lovely.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I booked a room here as a stay for work purposes and that's exactly what i got.
Situated on a busy main road and above a real ale pub that isn't much to look at due to the re-cladding works going on, however the noise and appearance weren't really a nuisance. My main concerns were the intermittent wifi, the weimerana dog casually wandering around barking at us, the shower heads could of done with a clean, the towels weren't changed daily and limited parking (enough for maybe 2/3 vehicles at best)

Also, I was led to believe that Weds evenings is "Fish special day" and at £9.99p and the promise of it being fresh from market i was expecting a real treat! However the mere fact that i was a resident didn't phase the staff who made me wait over a full hour before i received my meal and when it arrived the term "fresh" i could believe as it was undercooked?? I expected it to be burnt with how long it took to bring out!!!

Having said this i suppose you get what you pay for. :/

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This was an overnight stay for work. The venue is a pub with accommodation, if you like real ales this is an excellent stopover!! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the pub had a very good atmosphere about it. The accommodation was very clean, beds comfortable the only thing that you get is a bit of road noise due to the location being on a main road, the double glazing masks a lot of it. There is a car park around the back of the pub where the cars get locked in at night which is an added security especially when there is valuable equipment in there. I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay with a good nights sleep, unfortunately the chef was on holiday so I didn't manage to taste the home cooked food, maybe next time. I would definitely stay again as I was made to feel very welcome, if you like a proper pub venue this is one place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanscombe
1.3 mi away
Granby Hotel
Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dartford
Premier Inn Dartford
#1 of 7 in Dartford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Dartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
2.3 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon Swanscombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon Swanscombe

Property: The George and Dragon Swanscombe
Address: 1 London Road, Swanscombe DA10 0LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Swanscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swanscombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing