We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£195
Hotels.com
£219
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£185
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
127
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sotto le stelle the owner comfortable beds local restaurants suite town views rome history kitchen break walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2023 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, charming town and delicious food and wine. The rooms are beautifully appointed with lush towels, modern bathrooms and kitchens fully stocked with beautiful dishes and local bottles of wine. After our visit the owners felt like old friends and we will surely return. Don’t miss the winery owned by the hotel and be sure to explore the charming town and nearby National Park.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bon2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

We had a lovely stay here in the mountains. We were nervous going in July with the rooms having no AC but our room was very cool all on its own. The room was beautiful with the original features preserved throughout. The views were STUNNING, it was amazing to look at every day. The bed was comfy, the towels smelled good, the shower was perfect. They provided a couple of local bottles of wine in our room for purchase which was nice. They also delivered a light breakfast in the morning to our room (juice, croissant, yogurt). The restaurant downstairs (not part of this hotel) was lovely as well. A little difficult to find and when we arrived, no one was in the office and no one answered when we called the number on the door but someone came just a few minutes later and everything was sorted. The owners are very nice people. We would definitely go back!! Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2023

Just spent 8 wonderful days at Sotto le Stelle reuniting with cousins from the USA. Cesidio and his wonderful staff are amazing and nothing was too much trouble for them. All the suites are luxurious and have the most comfortable beds. We were even fortunate enough to have been able to book a tour of I Ciacca and have a superb lunch there. It was a truly blissful week and we can't wait to go back next May.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank adeliadelicata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2023

Loved the town (Picinisco), the room, and the Winery (cooking class). The rooms are unbelievable with the old style (1,000 years old) melting with the new comforts. We stayed in the writer's room and it was awesome! Loved the decor and views! We took a cooking class arranged by Cesidio (fascinating story of how he is connected with the town), the owner, and after gathering some local ingredients, we made pasta and cooked with Matteo (resident Chef) in the winery kitchen. It was incredible! We ate at the local restaurants and did some walks and hikes! This is the best-kept secret in Italy. If you are looking for a nice break located between Rome and Naples, this is the place. Make sure you set aside a few days here if not more.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 592mikes592
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2022 via mobile

I can’t really tell you much about Sotto le Stelle, because we never saw inside the property! We arrived in Picinisco at 7pm (the latest time for check-in) to find the doors locked and a note giving a couple of phone numbers for reservations, neither of which were answered. We had been in correspondence with the hotel a day earlier and they knew we were coming and that our timing was uncertain. We waited over an hour for someone to show up and they never did. Almost an hour after that we got an apologetic WhatsApp message from the owner, but by then we had moved on.

This hotel is in a stunning setting in a beautiful mediaeval town. I wouldn’t say don’t go, but make sure you have a Plan B if it’s closed. Picinisco is a long way from anywhere…..

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank English-Exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews