We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally awesome place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springdale Heritage
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Totally awesome place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Choose not this place if you want to visit Thekkady. There are others. Choose this for its own beauty and charm.

I have stayed twice at this charming resort at Vandiperiyar and felt totally at home on both occasions. The sumptuous food,smiling service and the greenery makes it all happen here. The GM of the resort Mr.Rajesh needs a special mention for his ever smiling and always helpful nature. Twice we stayed in large groups and we were very well taken care of on both occasions.

The swimming pool is one of the best in the area. The water is so fresh and sans chlorine making it a refreshing plunge every time. Birds gather here by your own private lawn side making it truly special. A must stay anytime of the year.

Room Tip: They have three types of rooms. All are comfortable. Choose according to your requirement .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muralis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for staying with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    134
    36
    16
    14
See reviews for
190
121
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Guys, if you are looking for a hotel/resort that is close to main attaractions and activity centers in Thekkady then I must caution you this resort is not suitable for it. Although the resort is good but it is located about 19 Km away from the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary and other main activity centers of Thekkady. Also it is off road and the road leading to this resort is under construction. You will stuck in this resort with nothing close to visit. In his internet age, they don't provide free wi-fi in room. They say wi-fi is available in lobby, but it does not work either.
But all is not bad about this resort. If you are looking for a resort which provides you a peaceful environment, then it is quite good. Overall I would say, resort is very good but at a bad location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dushyant g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for staying with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services and we have noted your concern regarding wifi. We have taken all necessary measures to make the whole resort wifi enabled. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in Springdale Heritage in April'14 for 2 nights and overall experience was good. The property is good, we got the cottage facing the river, the rooms were clean and spacious. Check-in was smooth and staff is very friendly. The food options are limited but covers all cuisines, we tried some local curries & Chinese for meals, Continental and south indian breakfast and it was good.This place is located conveniently close to the Periyar Tiger Reserve and around 30 mins from Thekaddy. Overall a good stay, kids enjoyed in the small kids pool and they have a decent activity centre. The only change I would like to see next time is a cleaner swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navdeep4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for staying with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services and have noted your concern regarding swimming pool which is been corrected. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I recommend this hotel. Gud ambience, excellent food, gud hospitality, and even economical compared to similar hotels. Aprreciate the management for maintaining it gud and staff too is behaving gud. We were a group of 15 friends and all liked this place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudheep_Abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for staying with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khurja, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The experience of stay @ Springdale Heritage during our 2014 vacations was WONDERFUL & Quite Comfortable. Its a Small, Peaceful, neet and clean, well managed & Luxirious Resort with Gentle, soft spoken, well mannered and always smiling staff. I really very nice and pleasent experience.........

Room Tip: The cottages are best.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashishkhanna1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for staying with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I went there with high expectations but location and surroundings turned it down, they upgraded my room to suit and it was awesome.... big bath and twin room set with maharaja bed was lavish and comfortable... outside the room there was a nice lawn and then a dirty canal ( probably the waste industrial water ( a real mood spoiler..) , staff was courteous...overall average ....but not for honeymooners....

Room Tip: the suits are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prateek_uma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Thank you for the valuable feedback of the resort. It was really unfortunate to know that you were not happy with the location of the resort.

Once again thanking you for your great feedback.

Looking forward to serve you again in Springdale Heritage on your future visits.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

food, sleep quality, price, staff, service - excellent. Location - HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. You cannot have a resort in this place with people washing their clothes in front, an industrial units next door and school opposite to your dining area - TERRIBLE...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumeetarora1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

At the outset we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Thank you for the valuable feedback of the resort. It was really unfortunate to know that you were not happy with the location of the resort.

Once again thanking you for your great feedback.

Looking forward to serve you again in Springdale Heritage on your future visits.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vandiperiyar
5.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
5.8 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#17 of 42 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
5.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springdale Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springdale Heritage

Property: Springdale Heritage
Address: N H 220, KK Road, Vandiperiyar 685533, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Vandiperiyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Vandiperiyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springdale Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale Heritage houses 31 rooms inclusive of Heritage Room, Deluxe Cottage and Royal Suite which have been attractively decorated into Victorian Style rooms. In the tradition of heritage hotel, we offer high quality services and comfort to our guests. The First tourist home in Peerumedu Taluk named Hotel Periyar View built in 1965 has been renovated with the charm and heritage to a Super Luxury Heritage Resort ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Springdale Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing