We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Book”
Review of Lakshman Sagar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakshman Sagar
Ranked #1 of 16 Pali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our three day-stay here was without a doubt the most complete escape we have ever experienced. Perched on a small hill overlooking an idyllic lake in deepest Rajasthan countryside, we looked on with wonder as monkeys, peacocks, bison, cows, eagles and exotic animals fed and drank on the lake and its environs. I thought I was gazing at a scene from my childhood copy of the Jungle Book.

The sound of nature was deafening, day and night, like nothing I'd ever experienced before. Our room/cabin was embedded in the bosom of Mother Nature, and you feel beautifully isolated and at one with the ebb and flow of this beautiful ecosystem of nature.

The members of staff (particularly our friend Diyal) were incredibly attentive, and tried hard to meet our requests, from food choices, day trips to nature walks. They organised two lovely tours of a nature reserve and a local town, where we got to see, small and feel local life.

The accommodation was nice: a large bedroom, a large living room, and a patio with plunge pool overlooking the mini-valley and the lake. Since the place is billed as an Eco resort, marble and stone are replaced with recycled wood; fancy schmancy toiletries are replaced with earthy equivalents such as rose water, mud walls and other local nick nacks. The design is thoughtful and reflective of local resources. But the owner needs to invest more if he/she wants to sell this as a high-end Eco resort. The door didn't lock; the plunge pool water was not fresh and contained lots of dead creepy-crawlies (although we did take a dip or two nonetheless!) and the Aircon (very necessary in late April!) was so loud it prevented us from sleeping. The light switches made no sense at all. The owner should also harness the incredible dedication of his/her team by training them properly, bringing in a proper professional manager with international hospitality experience and making sure that the service is more subtle. If he/she does that, the place can become a truly high end resort.

I would recommend this place, not as the showpiece location for a well earned holiday, but as the middle bit of a holiday involving stays at proper five star hotels on either side. I would like to return in a few years, when the teething pains will hopefully be resolved.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidTraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

No words to describe the beauty of this place! The amazingly designed and located villas with pools and the home made style rajasthani food has taken over us.. Absolutely loved the field breakfast, natures walk and the many meals set on different locations and setting around the bonfires. The tranquility, landscaping, & hospitality just adds to the five star experience.The highlight for us was the hospitality- The manager, our escort Mr Dayal and the rest of the staff took amazing care of us.
Its only 3.5 hrs from jaipur after passing Ajmer...Get proper directions from the hotel staff as it is located in the interiors.
Loved our stay- will def come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aditya_Rajasthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is completely amazing. We stayed two nights in Feb 2014 and I wish we had been able to stay longer. It's expensive for India but so worth it (food is included).

The hotel is set out with cottages around a beautiful lake. Each individual cottage is built with stone and mud, really attractive inside and outside. The beds are enormous, you have your own sitting area and outside a private mini pool and sunloungers (sheltered behind bushes so no one can see you). The best thing is all the little details, like guides to the birds you see around the lake, board games, candles, sunhats and incense. They even set out bottles of rosewater, moisturiser and sand in the bathroom so you can make your own exfoliator or face mask. You can have a fire in your room if it gets cold.

You can sit on a swing outside the cottage and watch the deer and peacocks around the lake, it's the most relaxing place ever.

We were welcomed by In the evening we went to the restaurant area and as it was chilly there was a roaring fire surrounded by seats and a tree hung with lanterns. The main buildings are stunning and have been beautifully designed with a real sense of humour in the details. The traditional men's quarters are blue and the women's are pink. There are lots of little corners to sit and read and look out at the scenery.

There are a load of activities you can do, many of which are included. We had breakfast in the fields of a local farm which was delicious, including tomatoes directly from the fields around us. You can see how all the traditional food is prepared. We were also taken on a nature walk around the lake.

The food was good and the staff were excellent - the only thing I'd say is that sometimes they could be a bit too attentive (e.g. standing next to our table while we were eating rather than giving us some privacy) - but it's a small thing.

I want to go back and to tell everyone I know to go there now!

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GirlfromLondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As if you have arrived at "No man's land", but at the same time you feel it is all yours. You have a feeling of "I am the monarch of all I survey".

There can be no better option to be lost in wilderness and simply relax and forget the world around you. The huts are huge, simple, serene, the plunge pool is simply exciting, the food homely and at the same time out of the world. Above all, the services are close to your heart and staff around you, seems to be telling you "always at your service sir". Take out atleast 2 days for this rustic world. Morning's cool wind, and sitting by the side of the plunge pool, sipping your coffee off and watching the peacocks dance in front of you, is nothing but simply a heavenly feeling. Fishing, village visit and farm breakfast are added excitements. The only thing that I could not digest was "no door at the washroom/ bathroom" - the open bathroom, I am told is meant for basically honeymooners!!!!

Room Tip: I think it is better to take the cottages which are on the right side of the entrance- are closer an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VM757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a little gem in middle of nowhere. Everything about the place is amazing. The location, design, rooms, food, service and the peace it offers.

12 eco friendly cottages spread around an old Hunting outpost and a pond makes up of the property area. The Zero Kilometer policy as concept results in some amazing examples of interior and exterior designing, food and service. Each cottage is implacably built and designed. Local day to day items are converted into smart utilities (eg. milk cans into lamp shades). Each cottages is located such that it gives maximum privacy to the occupant along with amazing views of the lake.

The food is all local. They have their own organic farm at the property and serve food made from the freshest produce. The fare is all local Rajasthani food.And is it great. The service is impeccable in dinning area as well. Not to be missed is the local farm breakfast outing. Food and the whole experience is worth the early morning walk :)

The place is heave of serenity. Just laze around or try any of their outdoor excursions. They don't have TV or other entertainment facilities, and thank God for that :) Silence is what you hear, along with the chirping of 100's of birds around the pond.

Open only for 6 months between October to March, and only in their 3rd year, they seems to have embarked on a great journey.

HIGHLY recommended. !!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the extreme ends of numbering (eg. 1,2 -11,12) are longer walking distances from the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeshiJari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Dear future traveller,

When My husband signed me and my lil bub for this remote place in Rajasthan I was more frowns than smiles. Then to top that he goofed up. What he mistook to be a 3 hour journey from Udaipur was in fact a 5 hour journey (the 3 hrs works if you come from jodhpur) So we landed playing "Are we there Yet" with the driver, who himself was trying to figure out the route.
But and let me repeat BUT for effect on reaching this place, only one description comes to mind - An Oasis of Calm.
I had no clue this was going to be such a treat. Everything about this place speaks of bespoke. Of well thought out. Of ideas imagined and then carefully executed on paper. The staff is phenomenally well versed with the nuances of Rajasthani culture and food. Any question be it about a humble chutney or they way a saffa is tied - gets you a detailed response.

Each room is done up uniquely in keeping with their zero km policy. All the stuff in the rooms are ingeniously made and creatively conceptualized. For example the laundry basket was a locally available "godiya" or a baby cot...very refreshing. Of course with every room being on the lakshman sagar lake gives it that special something (not to forget the beautiful peacocks ever ready to put on a show)

The food....i have only this to say- finger licking ....ummm make that hand slurrping good! Don't forget to try their local whiskeys and take a cooking class.

enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maitri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Everything about Lakshman Sagar takes your breath away. From the vibrant and unique colours that decorate your villa to the views from your plunge pool. From the superb service to the sublime food. From the warmth of the Manager, Mr Singh to the knowledge and friendliness of your nature trail guides.

It is in a class of its own with views you won't find anywhere else. Look out for the antelope drinking at the Lake and the turtles sunning themselves on the shore.

We loved it.

Go quickly - we had it all to ourselves but that won't happen again once the world discovers it!

Room Tip: We stayed in number 6 but I don't think it really matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfytom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pali
64.6 mi away
Chanoud Garh
Chanoud Garh
#1 of 6 in Pali
197 reviews
47.1 mi away
Hotel Mint Inn
Hotel Mint Inn
#6 of 6 in Pali
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vrindavan
Hotel Vrindavan
#3 of 6 in Pali
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
#1 of 1 in Beawar
5 reviews
81.2 mi away
JAWAI
JAWAI
#1 of 37 in Pali
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Country Retreat Farmstay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakshman Sagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakshman Sagar

Address: Via Raipur, Pali 306304, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Pali
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pali
Price Range: £154 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakshman Sagar 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakshman Sagar is a result of endless detailing in architecture & design, cuisine, and the well thought of activities & non-activities tailored personally for guests in a captivating natural topography ideal for mindless relaxation. The 12 cottages have been meticulously planned and conceptualized with assistance from the vanguards of sustainable design - architects, Vasant & Revathi Kamat and designer duo Sahil & Sarthak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakshman Sagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakshman Sagar Rajasthan, India - Pali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing