We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chhatra Sagar
Nearby Hotels
US$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JAWAI(Pali)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
196
8
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
8
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury tentswild boarlocal villagenature walkbird walkdam wallbird watchingtwo nightsvillage tourtented campdifferent speciesview over the lakebird lifehot water bottlesrecharge your batteriesevening walkno tipping policy
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This stylish retreat, perched on a reservoir where birds and blue antelope gather, offers a rare glimpse of rural India. Chhatra Sagar is a wonderful stopover if you are traveling between Jaipur and Jodhpur. My wife made the arrangements and I had no idea what to expect. Many wonderful surprises: The tents are elegant and comfortable, the food is fresh and delicious. We loved waking up to the swooshing sound of pelican wings as they fished in the morning. The setting is stunning - but the highlight is the morning tour of an adjacent rural Indian village. You meet farmers, goat herders, the local potter, and stop in the local school. None of it is contrived. We appreciate the community ties the resort has developed, and wish there were more opportunities like this see rural India.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Chhatra Sagar is a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of touring India. Our travel agency recommended it and I am thankful they did. The tents are beautiful, the inclusive food delicious, the staff first rate. We rate this as one of the highlights of our 16 day tour of Rajasthan.

We arrived in the afternoon, were shown to our tent, unpacked, cleaned up and ate an amazing lunch. We decided to join the bird watching tour that left around 4pm. There was one other couple, two of the owners dogs, and two staff members who were pros at spotting birds. We were given powerful binoculars to try spotting birds ourselves. We saw many different kinds of birds and some wildlife. Our walk took a couple of hours, we headed back to camp around sunset.

After a quick freshen up, we went to the bonfire to enjoy sundowners with other guests. It was interesting to meet others staying in the tents, as well as to hear stories of their travels in India. It was an interesting mix of guests, all like minded in enjoying a break from busy hotels and fast paced touring. The dinner was also very delicious. When I told one of the owners I liked my food more spicy, he had two sauces made for us to put on our food, we could add as much spice as we like. We were the last to finish dinner and headed off to sleep.

Unfortunately, we had to leave early and were unable to enjoy the trip to the village farm and school the next morning. We had breakfast at 7am and were on our way to Jaipur by 8.

As we were checking out, the owner remembered how much I liked the raita we were served at lunch. He prepared the family recipe and gave it to me as we left.

When the staff carried our bags to our car, we tried to tip them, and they refused. One of the two times that happened to us in India. I was impressed.

I think 2 days would be perfect to stay at Chhatra Sagar. It was totally relaxing, the food delicious, the service first class, a unique experience. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All of the tents are good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFOF/A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We toured Rajastan in Feb 2014, and stayed in several cities including Delhi, Jaipur etc. Chhatra Sagar is a very different sort of experience. We loved it. The "tents" are really tents, but you'd hardly know it, and have proper bathrooms and lovely comfy beds (and believe it or not, as the nights were cool, hot water bottles placed in your bed for you at night!). Everything was spotlessly clean. The view from the tent, dining room and bar is just like looking over a waterhole in Africa, as another reviewer said. We did the birdwatching walk one evening. I'm not a birdwatcher, but the guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and we saw lots of different species, as well as antelope and wild boar. I really enjoyed it (it was a 2.5 hour walk, so be prepared, but it was very easy on good paths). The next night we did the "sundowner", walking up the nearby hill to watch the sun set and have a drink and snacks: very pleasant. The included tour of the nearby farm and village, on the second morning, was a highlight of our trip. A proper working farm, a very informative guide, and lovely local people. Must not be missed! The food was a bit different: breakfast was as expected; dinner was a set menu, really like a "thali on a plate", with about eight different dishes to sample. Could be an issue if you don't like Indian food (but then why go to India), but it was well cooked, plentiful and tasty, and included one really local speciality each time - we really enjoyed the food. So in summary, highly recommended, and a bit different from most other places.

Room Tip: We had one of the nine tents on the dam. Very nice. There are two other tents up on a small hill nearby, that i suspect would be even better, but we didn't actually visit them.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

After our four and a half hour drive from Jaipur, to arrive here was bliss. Our tent well decorated, comfortable with nearly all the comforts of home. Could really do with a kettle & tea making facilities. After a relaxing sleep punctuated by jacket howling, our breakfast was great. The view is like something out of Africa , antelope, birds of every species, fish, and lots of pelicans! Our hosts couldn't have been more hospitable. There are well recommended farm tours to go on in the morning, and not to be missed bird spotting walk in the evening. Or you can just relax and let the Chhatra ambiance envelope you! Two days is a good length of stay, enough to charge your batteries for the next part of your Indian adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

How wonderful it was to arrive at this peaceful tented camp on the top of the dam overlooking the water below. Whilst we were given a welcome drink we spotted a stunning turquoise kingfisher on the rail next to us. The tented rooms are lovely & beautifully decorated and the beds comfortable. The food we were given was absolutely delicious (we voted it the best of the holiday) and we all found it to be a very relaxing place away from the hustle & bustle of the traffic, hooting lorries & the towns. You can go on a tour of the local village which we did in the morning where we saw the delightful children in the village school & which we enjoyed and then in the afternoon you can choose from two walks offered. I went on the bird walk which l loved as the guIde is passionate & very knowledgable about the birds. We saw an eagle owl, barn owl & two pairs of spotted owls as well as numerous other birds - altogether a wonderful afternoons excursion. Try to stay a minimum of two nights in this magical place as it is a marvellous experience which you will love.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fido0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews