We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel The Legacy of Kingdom”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dhar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dhar
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Feel The Legacy of Kingdom”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have stayed in this property couple of times in the past also but every time the experience is quite new and pleasant here. It has that rare quietness which can not be felt or experienced anywhere else.The rooms in the property are very neatly arranged and maintained.It has the ultimate level of cleanliness and comfort.Palace Hotel is located in a complete natural environment with lots birds and peacocks around.Rooms in the hotel are quite big with King size toilets.
The staff of the hotel is well mannered and extends all possible service.The food is served in the dining hall which has that royal touch . I was told that most of the food is in house produced with organic farming method.
Museum, surrounding lawns and tress around takes you to a different world.
The location of the palace Hotel is on Mandu Road outskirts of Dhar which makes it a ideal place for tourist visiting Mandu.

Room Tip: All rooms in the Palace gives you a different experience . Every room has its own identity and its q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our two-night, three-day stay at Jhira Bagh has been an unforgettable experience. I don't know where to start complimenting the place, be the lush lawns, the sprawling meadows, the happy peacocks strutting about in the driveway or the well tended gardens. I can go on. The rooms are splendid; large, airy, roomy, well-maintained and incredibly peaceful. You will fall asleep to the sound of crickets and cicadas and wake up to the sound of chirruping birds and cooing peacocks.

The food is simple and delicious Indian fare. The staff are warm and polite, and the lovely manager, Kamna, is a delight with her quick responses and ready smiles. We did not want our visit to end. Jhira Bhag is a place you can come to just because it exists. And I am certainly looking forward to make this once in a lifetime experience something to return to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mentalexotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Luxurious, personalized and quaintly charming... this is a place you want to keep going back to. I spent a weekend with my family and all of us just couldn't get enough and some of us decided to dismiss the plan of visiting Mandu altogether and spend all our time at the property! Even though it's very luxurious, it isn't palatial in the true sense of the word but is more homely and quirky. The food is cooked with love and care, rooms very comfortable, the dining halls, museum and gardens are beautiful! Definitely, stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhusheeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Tucked in the middle of nowhere.
You need to fly into Indore, and then drive to Ratlam.
On the way you'll be in Dhar.
The traditional welcome, and proactive Manager ensured her staff were always welcoming us to the palatial environment.
Enjoy the Palace, its all yours.

Room Tip: Any room on the upper floor of the Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NakulNanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed with my family for a night at Jhira Bagh, a beautiful heritage property in Dhar, near Indore. I didn't think that weekend getaways could be awfully close and awesomely hospitable.
What an interesting property. A very elegantly kept place, that also looks and feels extremely warm and familial. The staff went out of the way in their endeavor to make us feel at home, and as far away from home as possible, for which Kudos are in order.
I've been to other heritage properties, make-believe properties, but this was just different. The history is made to embellish the place, rather than destroy it. It also allowed us access to some interesting crevices of the place, that perhaps most other places wouldn't have. Also, the property displays a lot of personal choices and accoutrements, the personal investment, that tell a good deal about its owners and people responsible for making it the way it is.

All in all, the next visit will be planned all too soon. 10/10 for the reception, food, service and the hotel. Albeit it's a bit far from Mandu, it would be a 10-times better stay at any other place at Mandu.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuruchiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We visited in Feb. 2013 and loved the setting and Palace, evocative of a past era and of the cultured family who lived in it. But the manager was not pleasant or welcoming. When, because of unrest in the neighboring town of Dhar, our guide--highly educated and professional--was forced to return to the hotel to ask for a room, she turned him down, even though there were many rooms available. We did not know this was happening at the time. Earlier, though, we'd invited our guide to have dinner with us at the Palace, and were surprised by the manager's disdainful look when we said we'd be three at table. Our guide in fact could not join us for dinner, since he was by then under curfew in Dhar--a fact we learned only the next morning. The manager was not collegial to our guide and not respectful of us as guests--not good.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanneU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Atmospheric and oozing character - large grounds to roam around in (replete with temples and a vintage bus!) and grand rooms. Staff is very welcoming, friendly and attentive. Highly recommended stay - a hidden gem!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhar
2.7 mi away
Hotel Shree Ram
Hotel Shree Ram
#2 of 3 in Dhar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
283.8 mi away
Bundelkhand Riverside
0.0 mi away
Kanchan Recreation
Kanchan Recreation
#1 of 14 in Maheshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace

Property: Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace
Address: Mandu Road | Dhar, Dhar 454001, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Dhar District > Dhar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jhira Bagh Palace, A Jewel of Malwa, is turn of century Heritage Palace in Dhar, crowned amidst acres of estate and gardens. A fine blend of the Art Deco and the Bahaus style of architecture, the 150-year old Palace has been converted into an eco-friendly classified heritage hotel which offers nostalgia, new-age amenities & all things natural on a Malwa platter in Madhya Pradesh - Strategically located in Western Madhya Pradesh. It is well connected with roads Nearest Airport: Indore, 55 km, Rail heads: Indore 60 km, Ratlam 90 km. Mandu the world largest fortified city is merely 30 km away. Bagh caves and the textile printing village - 86 km, Maheshwar 70 km, Ujjain 60 km. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing