We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best Curry in Hampshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Three Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Four Marks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the Best Curry in Hampshire”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Three of us went out for a girly meal out Monday week ago. Two of us had the Chicken Korma and even though the portions were large, we finished everything on the plate. We agreed that it really was the best indian we've had as long we can remember. Yes, even better than from a Carry House! Having complimented the very friendly landlady on their food, she did say that the chef makes his own carry paste from scratch. My other friend had salmon and prawn tangliatelle which was also delicious.
The Three Horseshoes currently don't have a specific Carry Night however keep one or two carry dishes on their menu at all times due to its popularity.
Go and visit darlings! You will have a delicious meal and lovely time in a very friendly village pub.

Room Tip: We didn't stay the night, just had an evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    34
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
42
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Went here with my family for Sunday lunch, the food was excellent. One of the nicest roast dinners I've had in a long time (and absolutely huge!) had a yummy creme brûlée for dessert too. Such a nice cosy pub with a warm friendly atmosphere. Liked it so much we've booked to go back for Mother's Day.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped for just a night with our motorhome, 2 children and Millie the labrador. We were all made very welcome (Millie especially !!). Loved the home cooked food, very friendly staff and some super wine. Perfect for a quick getaway. Highly recommended !

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening with my friend tonight. We don't get to see each other often and have a good chat and gossip...Really nice tasty food Cosy fire and very helpful smiley owners and staff. So nice to see the pub busy and the car park full. Hope you continue to go from strength to strength. Can't wait to come back soon

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bunny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here overnight, travelling down to head office to be ready for the next morning. Fortunately, all the corporate hotels we're supposed to stay in were full, so I could choose somewhere a bit more picturesque and welcoming, which brought me to the Three Horseshoes.

I paid about half for my room what I would pay usually, and the facilities reflected that, but did represent excellent value for money - I've had worse rooms in a travelodge for sure!

However, in a travelodge or corporate hotel, you never receive a welcome so friendly and welcoming as I did here - I was made to feel really welcome and at home, and could tell that, if I had encountered any problems, they would have been sorted out quickly and with pleasure.

I also ate in the pub, excellent food, great service and a fun atmosphere as well, helped no doubt by their being a covers band playing who really livened things up.

I liked the continental breakfast being already provided in the room for the next morning, and I particularly liked the proper jug of proper milk in the fridge - a really nice touch!

I'd stay here again with pleasure if circumstances allow in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhirlpoolGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was staying in Alton, and wanted to eat in a nice country pub, who cooked their own food. The Three Horseshoes immediately grabbed my attention for having home cooked food and a good range of dishes, including pub classics and more sophisticated dishes. There was plenty of parking, and was made to feel welcome the second I walked through the door. The land lord and lady were on hand in the bar, giving the pub a nice personal touch. I was given a choice of tables, and settled for a comfortable corner table near the lit fire in the inglenook. The menu was fantastic, and I chose the Duck which was mouth-wateringly good. I felt so comfortable and at home that I sat reading my book between courses. The puddings were also wonderful and I had the apple crumble and custard. Even the custard was home made! My whole experience was so good that I came back the next night to enjoy it all over again, and was made to feel like an old friend. After my meal of Roasted Mediterranean Risotto and Stawberries and meringues I spent a good deal of time chatting to the staff and chef.
A really great pub to do Britain proud. I will be coming back when next in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REL3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Slightly unusually we've been travelling round the country in a converted double decker bus, and one of our early stops was the South Downs. After some research we found this lovely little pub on a recommendation that they are open to occasional camper vans parking up for the night.

After we called ahead to Jill and John we arrived to this beautiful little pub, with an incredible pub garden, lovely surroundings, even better food, and best still and incredibly kind reception from the owners.

Wether on foot for a pint, in a car passing through or as a base for exploring the downs I'd recommend this place to anyone and I'm sure we'll be back one day! Hopefully in summer this time!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willbaz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Worldham
1.9 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
357 reviews
2.0 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
452 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
7.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#6 of 16 in Alton
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes

Property: The Three Horseshoes
Address: Cakers Lane, East Worldham, Alton GU34 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton > East Worldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Worldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Horseshoes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional pub with over two hundred years of history. The Three Horseshoes is located in the beautiful countryside of the South Downs National park in East Worldham, just outside Alton. Friendly and welcoming, The Three Horseshoes is hugely popular with walkers, families and with dog owners. Inside the comfortable pub has roaring log fires and flickering candles in winter. In the summer, there is a beautiful walled garden - hidden away for you to relax in the sunshine, savouring a long cool drink. Its mature shrubs, surrounded by the old forge outbuildings, offer a peaceful world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Three Horseshoes' menus are of the highest quality, balancing the hearty flavours of good traditional British eating with a more refined approach, the result being sophisticated but satisfying dishes to suit all tastes. Wherever possible the kitchen sources produce locally for use in not only the main menu but in light bites , daily changing specials and home-made traditional desserts. For those travelling to dine, you might consider booking a room for the night - The Three Horseshoes provides five letting rooms and space for motor-homes in the car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Three Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Horseshoes East Worldham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing