We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good with downsides”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good with downsides”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautyfully located on the plaza major with an impressif sight on the medieval town. Rooms are spaceous, well equipped and decorated. The staff is helpfull and very friendly. The rates are very good.

All very positif but ..... Pedestrian area no cars allowed a long walk with the luggage and being on the lively square means a lot of noise that is a pitty

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    263
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
118
352
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This cozy hotel is in a walking distance from most monuments, quite in the heart of Cáceres. We spent only one night in a quiet attic room that looked brand new. The staff was remarkably friendly and polite. The only problem is they dont have their own parking, but they make you a discount when using a public parking in the area. Price is reasonable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar050756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This modern Hotel right in the centre of Caceres was excellent for exploring the Old Town of this medieval city. The facilities were great - large, light, clean rooms. We also had a good breakfast deal, which was fresh and plentiful.The staff were friendly and helpful and we'd recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a location. The hotel, once a palacio, is in the beautiful historical Plaza Mayor of Caceres, with its Renaissance arcades. The hotel is directly opposite the gate into the Old town which is full of Mediaeval and Renaissance gems. We had a superior room, which gave us a splendid view over the Plaza Mayor. Our room was spacious, with all we look for in a hotel. We especially liked the décor, with its fresh approach and good ideas (the arm chair covered in colourful fabric, the bench seats that could be used as seating or holding baggage). A good breakfast for excellent value. The staff were especially helpful, coping with our inability to speak Spanish. One tip if you are driving. Study the web site for the hotel as apparently it gives instructions on how to get there. We followed only our booking voucher information, and our GPS was unable to locate the place. Parking is away from the hotel (but not inconvenient), so getting advice on how to find the place and unload baggage before parking is most useful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Fantastic location on the plaza major. Our room overlooked the square. Very clean and well appointed it was very good value for money. We skipped the breakfasts but the room and service were very good.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the plaza ( but check there are no events or live music on..... Such as woma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Morcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The best location in Caceres, in Plaza Mayor just in front of the Old Town. The hotel was comfortable, modern and clean. The room a little cramped but it was okay for the price. We got special rate which included breakfast and it was delicious. The parking is very close to the hotel but you can try your luck and find free spots in the street (white lines). The service was good overall. Our only complain was the terrible free wifi connexion (comes and goes)

Room Tip: Our room faced the neighboring building and it was quiet. It was at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_G_Arias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel has a great location just by the entrance of the old town. It seems to have been recently renovated, so the rooms are modern and clean. We had a room at the back, so no noise from the Plaza Mayor (but again, this is low season). Unfortunately though, the wifi signal does not reach the room, and we had to go down to the Lobby or in the breakfast room to access wifi. They tried to move us to another room closer to the Lobby, but when we tested the wifi signal, it didn't work either, so we just stayed in our original room.

The breakfast is good and plentiful. The staffs are very helpful and friendly.

The hotel has an arrangement with a car park nearby, and it is about a 5-minutes walk there (up some steps, but manageable if you don't have too big or heavy bag).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
981 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador de Caceres
Parador de Caceres
#3 of 38 in Caceres
712 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de Arenales
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos Caceres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Don Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Don Fernando

Property: Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Address: Plaza Mayor 30, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Don Fernando 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plaza Mayor in the historic centre of Caceres, Hotel Casa Don Fernando features elegant rooms with air conditioning, satellite TV and a balcony. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout.The house has been renovated to offer stylish facilities, including the library and a tapas bar, serving regional specialities.Plasencia, Trujillo and Merida can be reached in 40 minutes’ by car.Hotel Rooms: 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Don Fernando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing