We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Monfrague National Park
Ranked #2 of 72 things to do in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

There is nothing to dislike in this beautiful Park. Amazing scenery and wild life. The bird life is incredible ,and we wwere able to view nesting griffons egyptian vultures and storks. On this visit we did not see the otter but others did. The castle now has 2 new view points which is great, and the only `cafe ` area in the park is having a make over and looking good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    159
    18
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great walks”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Initial reaction when driving through was slight disappointment as it's not especially dramatic. But we walked the green and yellow trails and both had some of the loveliest walking I have done in Spain. The meadow flowers (in early May) we're stunning. Bird life plentiful. Lots of vultures.

I'd recommend starting early as it was hot by eleven in May.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Morcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
550 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“well indicated walks, great view points”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Whatever you want to do (view vultures or walk through the nice landscape of Monfragüe N.P.), it can be provided. Good information points (in Villarreal de San Carlos there are also 2 visitor centres with ample information of the area). For 3 walks through the N.P. you don´t need special authorization. Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrköping, Ostergotlands Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Monfrague National Park”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Excellent for birdwatchers, very good place to see Black vultures and Black Storks, beautiful views.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent patatas bravas”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This park is awesome! Plus, quite large. We have primarily done driving trips with stops and short walk-a-bouts. All types of wildlife and people to watch. Definitely worth getting off the beaten path to see. Look for the agriturismo style place to stay/eat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank naddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monfrague National Park also viewed

 
Caceres, Province of Caceres
 

Been to Monfrague National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing