We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A last minute very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Iberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Iberia
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A last minute very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I did not expect to find an affordable room in this central location without a booking. Luck was with me and remarkably at a much cheaper rate than described in the travel guide.
I had a very comfortable room and was pleased to have a window which looked down a charming narrow street in the old part of town. The decor was eccentric; it was as if I was living in an art gallery. Pictures adorned every wall and fascinating objects filled every nook making it a journey of discovery just heading for the breakfast room. The open lounge - gloriously magenta with gold trim and lit by chandelier was of course also decorated with historic paintings, and cabinets of fine china. The generous lounges offered the perfect place to relax and connect to the wifi.
I reckon I struck gold with this stay, right on the Plaza Mayor and gateway to the beautiful intact medieval city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    96
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
32
105
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
306 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Hotel was basic but in good location. No wifi in the rooms and NO ELEVATOR for luggage. The price included breakfast which was also basic. Beds were not very comfy and the noise level from outside was moderate.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbwcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
188 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Allow me to start with a positive note: service in the family owned hostel was extremely friendly. Also, complimentary breakfast was tasty and copious. Next to that, we were happy about the deal they have with the big underground parking nearby. Oh and the location in the very heart of town is absolutely excellent, certainly for the price charged.
Too bad there was no airco, so we had to choose between leaving the windows opened at night and not sleeping one single minute due to the continuous noise from outside, or closing them and sleeping poorly because it was too hot in the room. So, guys, please consider installing air conditiong in the rooms...
The hostel occupies an old building, so don't expect modern, comfortable interior. Agreed, the furniture and the floor had a certain charm, but we weren't too convinced about the cleanliness of it all. Worse, part of our room seemed to be a througway for tiny ants...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caceres hotels

Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

stayed there for one night with family and got given room rosa the biggest room in the hotel.
room has a good size parking 70m from the hotel but you do have to lug your luggage down two flights of stairs.good price plus free wifi opposite the main square

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Although we stayed in this hotel the night Spain won the football in Euro 2012, we obviously did experience some celebration noise late into the early hours, I would still recommend this hotel for it´s great location, tasteful antique decor and good value for money.
I was worried about the noise level within the hotel, being close to reception at the top of the stairs, but a huge thick wooden door that divided the corridor of the front rooms and reception desk was closed at night. Managed to find free parking not far from hotel. Piped air con was sufficient on a hot summer day/night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We are there now, for the second night. Location: absolutely perfect. Out room (#103): huge corner room with several balconies overlooking the plaza major and a little side street, very comfortable and beautifully furnished, great bathroom with hydro massage shower (not that we care...).Very quiet! Staff: super friendly and extremely helpful. And now to the breakfast buffet: several previous reports about the breakfast being just adequate must have been written by people not familiar with European/Spanish continental breakfasts. The breakfast featured an incredible range of choices in that category, we couldn't believe it. Not only that but it was included in the incredibly cheap room rate (cheap for the kind of nice hotel it is) which is normally not the case. so - great breakfast! This hotel deserves 3 stars and some extra kudos. Glad we are here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariposa1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I had a very nice stay at the Iberia Plaza Mayor. Thanks to previous reviews, I knew it could be loud, and it certainly was, because of its great location.
My room was right next to the reception and above the pizzeria, so the noise was unavoidable, both from outside and inside the hotel.
The room itself was big and comfortable, with good (free) wi-fi connection and a big bathroom with bathtub and also a balcony overlooking the street (!). It was also spotless.
Breakfast was just ok, again, confirming the previous reviews. All in all, a very good value for money.
What I liked best were both the location and the lounges in the reception floor. By the way, the staff at the reception was also very nice and helpful.
Note that there is no elevator, but the stairs are not steep and very wide, so it is not a big problem, even if you need to carry big suitcases up.
I could see the heaters in the room, but no controls for the air-conditioning, so I don't know how it would work in the hot Summer days.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MITOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia Plaza America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#9 of 38 in Caceres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos Caceres
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iberia

Property: Hotel Iberia
Address: Calle Pintores 2, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Iberia 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing