We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Loved Everything About this Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Carlos Caceres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Don Carlos Caceres
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I Loved Everything About this Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I choose this hotel based on other trip-advisor reviews. It seems that this hotel had won a trip-advisor award for excellence. I had thought that mostly very expensive hotels won these types of awards and was puzzled that this hotel was so inexpensive. Well, it was easy to see why it was an award winner. The place was just wonderful. It was perfectly located. All the interesting sites and places in the Old City were within a few walking blocks. Many were right outside the hotel door. The hotel itself was charming. It had evidently been a private residence at one time and was converted into a modern hotel, but they kept as much of the ancient charm as possible in the transition. The rooms were large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The heat outside was tremendous but the rooms and inside the hotel itself was always comfortably cool. The wifi internet connection (no extra charge) was fast and efficient and the breakfast (included in the room rate) was more than adequate. It offered many local foods and treats as well as the standard fruits, breads, meats, cheeses, cereals and pastries. I honestly have to say I just loved everything about this hotel, including the price which was outstandingly reasonable. We didn't use the garage space because we found street parking but its great to have the option of garage parking for a reasonable price if needed. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.. Its very Spanish but the service is international. The staff were always very kind and helpful during our three night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sneilkSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    201
    48
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
231
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights.a renovated old style property ,good location in old quarter.lobby/halls & public areas well furnished with chairs/pictures/murals etc good atmosphere with music from enya in hotel.single room is small & needs a chair to sit on &. No place to put clothes on.flat screen tv.pillows are useless.bathrooms are SMALL. with a tiny bathtub for to take shower-why bother & just install a proper shower unit.free wifi which is good.complimentary continental breakfast included.staff are friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel is located in a central position within Caceres. It is within 10 minutes walking distance of the many attractions.
The staff at the hotel were very polite and helpful. We had a long weekend at this hotel, which was very pleasant. The only down side would be the walls are very thin.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

A very smart small hotel very close to the historic centre. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Parking is near the hotel and you should get an e mail before you arrive to direct you. If, like ours, it didn't come before we got to the city keep an eye out for the sign on the right of the one way street which points across the road to the garage. There is a multistorey a little further along the street which is just a couple of Euros more expensive.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Don Carlos is located just outside the walls of the UNESCO-protected old city a 6 to 7 Euro taxi ride from the bus and train stations. The current building incorporates interesting architectural features from an older structure (i.e. vaulted ceilings in the lobby). Tidy well furnished rooms with good beds and clean bathrooms compliment a more than ample breakfast buffet. We appreciated the warm cozy room in a city where spring had not yet arrived.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I visited the hotel a couple of weeks ago and I quite enjoyed my stay there.
The location of the hotel is great, some 5 minutes away from the main square and all the major sights. The location is very quiet, nothing too attractive visually but silent enough to have a good night sleep.
The rooms are ok, they provide the typical amenities as any 2-star hotel, but what is important is that they are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. the only thing I didn't like about the room was the funny small bathtub where I couldn't fit inside, but it was fun trying (now I know how sardines feel) :) The heating of the first night didn't work in my room,but they fixed it and the rest of my stay the temperature was perfect.
The food was fine and nothing more than that. It would have been nice to offer a wider choice of food, but due to the price of rooms it is a reasonably good choice.
Just as with most places in Spain, the receptionists are extremely polite, cheerful and helpful. They really take the time and effort to help you with any demand you may have, plus their English was quite fluent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIster P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is intra-muros old Caceres. Thus next to everything you want to visit. Reception was very friendly, makes you feel like a friend at the first contact. (Not unusual in Spain, though)
The room was clean, quiet and small. But hey, I was in Caceres to walk in town not in my room.
Great value for your money. I was on a bicycle trip through Spain (highly recommended) and they also found a quiet place to store my dear bike overnight. Breakfast was self-serve type, plenty, fresh and tasty. It gave me a good energy-boost for my next 80Km ride to Al Cantara.
I felt like a home at Don Carlos. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
0.1 mi away
Parador de Caceres
Parador de Caceres
#1 of 38 in Caceres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extremadura Hotel
Extremadura Hotel
#10 of 38 in Caceres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos Caceres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos Caceres

Property: Hotel Don Carlos Caceres
Address: Calle Donoso Cortes 15 | Calle Peatonal Con Acceso Permitido a Clientes Para Carga y Descarga de Equipajes, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Caceres
#3 Business Hotel in Caceres
#6 Romantic Hotel in Caceres
#7 Family Hotel in Caceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Carlos Caceres 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos Caceres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Caceres Hotel
Don Carlos Caceres cáceres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing