We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker´s impression”
Review of Las Palomas Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Palomas Hostal
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
“Backpacker´s impression”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed at las palomas only for two nights as a stopover from the airport to my next destination cadíz. Before i arrived at las palomas i was wondering if it is a waste of time to stay in jerez (as there are no beaches) but jerez and especially las palomas was the perfect start for my trip!
The hostal itself is a traditional spanish building with a pleasant patio to hang out and socialize. If i remeber correctly i paid around 25€ per night for a small but clean and tidy single room with a private bathroom (including soap and soft towels). location is ideal, walking distance to the historical center, eateries, main station etc. The best thing about the hostal though is the owner/receptionist Luis. He is the perfect host and made me feel really welcome at his place. he is multilangual and just a really pleasant person to be around and very helpful with any problem you might face(felt very safe about my belongings aswell). If i go to jerez again i will stay at las palomas again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
22
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Hostal is a classic Spanish house, with courtyard in the middle and rooms all around it. Room was simple but clean. Like real Spanish houses, open to outside air and sounds. When I was there someone was shouting in the street for his friend "Jose" -- part of the Spanish experience. No breakfast or meals, but many restaurants nearby. Jerez is small town.

Service ok, not spectacular.

Location just nice: between the rail-train station and the old town. Easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed here 2 nights, but left after the first night.
This hostal is low cost, so we expected a low cost room, but still a clean room.
We had to sleep in a filthy old bed : linnen had numerous stains, there was just an old smell on the whole floor.
Avoid this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aischillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Hostal Palomas is a clean, safe hostal with private rooms at a great price in Jerez. My single room was freshly painted, well lit and had a spacious private bathroom. There is no AC but the rooms have fans and even in the heat of July summer (90-100) this is believe-it-or-not sufficient to keep the room tolerably cool. You can also buy water and sodas in the lobby and the hostal has a homey feel about it.

The free wireless if you have your own laptop is a huge plus as well!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgrabyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

OK location halfway between the train/bus station and the old town, all the sights are easily reachable on foot. Good price. Large rooms with high ceilings, fully equipped bathrooms. The street below is quiet, and we were lucky to have no noisy groups inside the hostal itself. On the whole, the previous review gives a fair description of the place. To my taste, it lacked somewhat in style and atmosphere, and the room looked a bit barren, but there were no definite drawbacks to put my finger on.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Cold floor
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Having decided to stay the night in Jerez, I then had to decide whether to pay the average going rate of about 45 to 50 for a basic single room, or to risk not getting any sleep and choose a Pension or Hostal. I researched the situation and found this Hostal was very well placed just up the road from the Theatre & Post office and withing a few minutes walk of the shopping area and restaurants. With some trepidation, I booked a single room and got a rate of 25 Euros for the night. I thought that this was too good a bargain to miss so when I arrived I asked Monica at the reception desk (who spoke good English) if perhaps the double room with large bed would be more comfortable for my stay. I was thinking of sometimes when a single bed feels just too small. I was offered a Double for 35 euros and asked to see it. Room 120 was on the first floor (the Hostal has 3 floors plus a sun deck roof area) and had windows overlooking a passage, and the main bedroom window overlooked the central courtyard area and had a wooden slatted blind. I was immediately impressed with the size of the room and the height - I did not feel ´cramped´at all. The bathroom was very clean and came with all the necessities and had a small corner shower. The bed linen was fine and so I took the room and managed a very peaceful sleep. Another plus point at this Hostal was a fridge in the central lobby which stocked water and beer plus soft drinks, and you could ask for a hot drink. Breakfast is no problem in a place like Jerez which has a wide selection.
Would I stay at Las Palomas again ? Certainly world.
The building itself is styled on a typical ´riad´style found in Morocco where the rooms face onto the central courtyard although in the case of this Hostal, there was no centrally positioned water feature. The only possible downside of this type of building is that you can experience noise as there are echoes, however, my sleep was peaceful as I mentioned.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — hot water was very hot
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#14 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#6 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierras de Jerez
Tierras de Jerez
#28 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#13 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palomas Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Hostal

Property: Las Palomas Hostal
Address: Calle Higuera 17, 11402 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Las Palomas Hostal 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Las Palomas Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing