We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and good choice for budget travelers”
Review of Las Palomas Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Las Palomas Hostal
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent service and good choice for budget travelers”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We visited Jerez de la Frontera for three days in May. The hotel is a very well run family business, situated in the historic area. The owners are hospitable, friendly, and helpful. They helped us contacting the bank to close the account when the ATM bank swallowed our card. Our room with shower was basic, but clean and comfortable. We recommend the hotel to budget travelers and we will return if we ever have the chance to be visit Jerez again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zurlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Direccion, Gerente at Las Palomas Hostal, responded to this review, 16 October 2015
Google Translation
Estimad@ Cliente.
Agradecerle su comentario y que lo comparta con el resto de viajeros de la comunidad de Tripadvisor, nos alegramos mucho de su satafaccion, estaremos encantados de tenerle nuevamente en nuestra casa.
Quedando a su disposición, reciban un cordial saludo.
Ana Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
22
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We paid for the whole stay on the 1st night, as we arrived. On the next day, as we came to the hostel in the afternoon, the service closed the door of the hostal behind us and informed us we were not allowed to leave unless we paid more for the room!! They claimed we were charged the wrong amount of money the day before. If you want to stay there, I would recommend to claim a receipt or payment confirmation at the moment you pay for the service... The cleanliness and other experience in the hostel was OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 278qbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I loved this old Andalusian style house with the open centre and the rooms around it, the tiles and plants. I had a single room, which was small and very hot when I was there in August. There was a fan but it didn't really do much. I had a sink in the room. The bathroom was ok but from what I remember it could have been a bit cleaner. I think this was more due to the people using it though, i.e. shaving hair in the sink etc.
The location was right in the centre and one could walk to the sights. I had a car and was able to park in one of the side streets. Took me a while to find a parking space but I managed. There is a parking garage close by, too.
Breakfast wasn't included. The owner was very nice and helped me in deciding how to visit the pueblos blancos, the reason why I was in the area.
If you just want a night's sleep, the hostel is perfect and if you don't go in the middle of summer, it probably won't be as hotel. it's definitely worth seeing the house though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrazy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed at las palomas only for two nights as a stopover from the airport to my next destination cadíz. Before i arrived at las palomas i was wondering if it is a waste of time to stay in jerez (as there are no beaches) but jerez and especially las palomas was the perfect start for my trip!
The hostal itself is a traditional spanish building with a pleasant patio to hang out and socialize. If i remeber correctly i paid around 25€ per night for a small but clean and tidy single room with a private bathroom (including soap and soft towels). location is ideal, walking distance to the historical center, eateries, main station etc. The best thing about the hostal though is the owner/receptionist Luis. He is the perfect host and made me feel really welcome at his place. he is multilangual and just a really pleasant person to be around and very helpful with any problem you might face(felt very safe about my belongings aswell). If i go to jerez again i will stay at las palomas again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Hostal is a classic Spanish house, with courtyard in the middle and rooms all around it. Room was simple but clean. Like real Spanish houses, open to outside air and sounds. When I was there someone was shouting in the street for his friend "Jose" -- part of the Spanish experience. No breakfast or meals, but many restaurants nearby. Jerez is small town.

Service ok, not spectacular.

Location just nice: between the rail-train station and the old town. Easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed here 2 nights, but left after the first night.
This hostal is low cost, so we expected a low cost room, but still a clean room.
We had to sleep in a filthy old bed : linnen had numerous stains, there was just an old smell on the whole floor.
Avoid this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aischillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Hostal Palomas is a clean, safe hostal with private rooms at a great price in Jerez. My single room was freshly painted, well lit and had a spacious private bathroom. There is no AC but the rooms have fans and even in the heat of July summer (90-100) this is believe-it-or-not sufficient to keep the room tolerably cool. You can also buy water and sodas in the lobby and the hostal has a homey feel about it.

The free wireless if you have your own laptop is a huge plus as well!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgrabyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#14 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#13 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierras de Jerez
Tierras de Jerez
#28 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Serit
Hotel Serit
#25 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#6 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palomas Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Hostal

Property: Las Palomas Hostal
Address: Calle Higuera 17, 11402 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Las Palomas Hostal 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Las Palomas Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing