We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tired - in need of a major cash injection !”
Review of Hotel Jerez & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Treated some friends who live in Andalucia to a weekend in the Jerez and Spa, luckily we spent most of our reuinon in the city rather than the hotel, the focus seems to be on weddings rather than offering travellers the blissful retreat advertsed. The Hotel should never be confused with a real 5 star hotel, i would put it more between 2 and 3 star - maybe its reliant on its past reputation and direct association with the many Bodegas in Jerez who would appear to be its major clientele. The outside areas were fine, pool clean and plenty of open space, but the rooms are clearly in need of an overhaul - very 1980's. Hotel is someway out from the centre of Jerez, for the four of us it was a 6 euro Taxi ride to the centre but a good 15 to 20 minute walk. Hotel reception staff did not offer any information about the facilities nor did they offer a local map or see fit engage in any sort of conversation once our room was allocated - we were just left to hump our suitcases up to a mediocre room on the third floor (while seemingly far more important telephone calls were answered with attitude) ! Thanks but never again. Its cheap for a reason

Room Tip: Demand a Balcony otherwise you will be over the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BathTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsanudo, Director General at Hotel Jerez & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Than you very much for your feed back, that I share with the hotel team. Sorry for the inconveniences, We are currently improving our rooms, paint, furniture, bedding, decor, this workz will be completed by fall throughout the hotel and will continue imporving our facilities.
We hope to wellcome you back soon.

Best Regards

Juan Sañudo
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

The two best things about this hotel are the staff and the beautiful pool and terraces. The staff were very helpful and friendly and if you had a request they always tried to help. The pool area was fantastic-a very helpful staff member got you towels and loungers. The restaurant was pretty good-the soups, salads and sorbets were delicious. Breakfast was part of our package and was very good although I am not sure if I would have paid 16 Euros if it was pad for separately. For our taste there was a bit too much salt used and sometimes the staff were a bit slow to bring drinks at the beginning of the meal.

The only downside of our stay was the visit to the spa. It is in a beautiful tiled building but compared to other spas I have been to it was really poor. We had to bring our own towels and wear a horrible plastic hat. One of the facilities 'the ice room' was closed but we were not told about this until we asked about it.The door handle of the shower room came off in our hand and the soap dispenser in the shower was damaged. The rail going into the jacuzzi was very wobbly. There was litter around the pool. The attendant did not show us around the facilities and at the end of our hour (the last of the day) she left before us and took a bag that I had left by the pool to reception while I was in the shower. When I complained the staff took detailed notes and I learnt that the spa was managed separately from the hotel.To their credit the hotel gave me a complete refund. With some care, attention to detail and customer surface this spa could be a little gem!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momoinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsanudo, Director General at Hotel Jerez & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Customers:

We apreciate very much your comments and insights, certainly help us in our goal of continuous improvement of quality and service.

Hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Had stayed here before children and decided to return to have a break from seaside. We were not disappointed. It is a 1960's style hotel, and reception staff could be a little friendlier, but we got a wonderful large family 2 bed suite with large balcony overlooking the pool at a great price. Yes, it could be a little bit more modern, but hotel feels bright spacious and there was the wonderful Christina in the gardens to do face painting, balloons and play with the children (our two kids loved having her undivided attention). Pool is very large and very spacious. Breakfast good, we stayed for the Thursday night BBQ which offered good food including drinks. short taxi ride in to town 4 euros. Overall glad we came back and would stay again, just could do with a tiny tweak or two to compete with other hotels on offer

Room Tip: Be nice and book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jump32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsanudo, Director General at Hotel Jerez & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Customer:

Thank you very much for your comments and insights, help us in our goal of continuous improvement.

In Hotel Jerez and ANDALUCES CHARMING HOTELS group, welcome experienced customers like you, to provide good experiences.

thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arrived a hot summerday and got a very nice room.Reception staff were great.
Food was good and the hotel has a nice pool.
All staff very friendly.
If we go back for Jerez we will stay here again!
Can be recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulleMurcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsanudo, Director General at Hotel Jerez & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Customer Thank you very much for your comments and findings encourage us to continue our work with the desire to improve every day. Yours faithfully

Juan sañudo
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We came to Jerez after travelling around Portugal & then on to Seville.Of all the hotels we stayed at this stood out in a class of it's own.We loved the spacious room,ensuite & balcony.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The breakfasts were very extensive and tasty.The pool was the best Hotel pool that we have ever encountered and you could have a proper swim,The Gym was adequate but a little too hot,didn't get around to the Spa but it looked very good.Everything was very reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel.Would definately come again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BirminghamGinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Very disappointed with this place. There was very little customer service from the staff and the feeling is very rude or as if they don't care. Room was pretty big but furniture was outdated and TV is very small. Internet was down almost the entire time. I must say though that the pool was beautiful and made me feel as if I was in an oasis. Not really impressed with the restaurant either as the food left a lot to be desired. Overall if you plan on spending your time at the pool than this is a great place, if not I would continue looking for a better place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelerMD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a five star hotel, and the room and service came up to that standard.The room had a balcony and we were not overlooked
The only thing that didn't was the restraunt, we are vegitarians, and the menu didn't contain anything we could eat.
So they adapted one of their dish's asperagus and scambled egg.I have cooked better scambled egg myself than we had that night, so it was disappointing.
The breakfast however was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckett2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#4 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
1,046 reviews
1 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#2 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Exe Guadalete
Hotel Exe Guadalete
#13 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
414 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
#8 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jerez & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jerez & Spa

Address: Avenida Alcalde Alvaro Domecq 35, 11407 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#6 Business Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#7 Family Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: £47 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jerez & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with restaurant serving Andalucian cuisine; pool surrounded by orange trees; located in attractive residential area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Jerez & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jerez And Spa
Hotel Jerez Jerez De La Frontera
Jerez Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing