We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel that has staff that want you to enjoy your stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Montecastillo Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelo Montecastillo Golf
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Midlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel that has staff that want you to enjoy your stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked a few days away doing a two city trip - part golf, part enjoyment ! Jerez is not easy to fly to in February so we hired a car from Seville - that is another story - but the drive down from Seville to Jerez is a great drive, (after you have got a map) not difficult at all. Finding the Barcelo hotel however, is not that easy until you know where you are going and then it`s DEAD easy. It took us about an hour and several calls back home.....however, c`est la vie. we got there. First impressions on arrival at the resort gates were very optimistic. Upon entering the foyer it was MORE than optimistic - it is beautiful. Not `a hive of activity` but elegant and welcoming, as are the staff. The weather was the opposite, and it is sad the non stop rain turned the golf course into a football field and my new golf shoes into what looked like football boots. We had paid a bit extra for the room (411) which overlooked the golf course, and when the rain let up for a while, it was lovely to sit outside on the balcony with (a) glass of wine, watching people who should have more sense and continuing to play golf ! Depending on how you value for money and meals, an optional dinner menu was £25.00 per person meal which comes with half a bottle of wine. In reality, you can return to the buffet tables, beautifully set out and eat your way through the widest selection of cheeses/meats/olives/fruits/breads and ultimately, if you choose, ask the on hand chef to cook for you what he has as special that evening. Take your time - look first and don`t do like I did and pile my plate up because I thought it would run out !. The second night I knew better ! It is a great deal and one to enjoy - slowly. Praise where it is not only due but very deserving, are the dining room staff. At breakfast the same warm and welcoming service levels by lovely people are so obvious and in the evening, the staff have the same attention to not being TOO obvious but there to fill your glass and make sure there are there if you want anything. The spa is an experience that fortunately other people didn`t try, and it was like having one`s one special gym and lovely warm pool it`s not actually IN the hotel and is about 100 yards away). NOW - a warning to the un wise. My reason for playing golf is to try to keep fit. Buggies are recommended here and retrospectively, I know why ! Two days of walking on that golf course, (I narrowly escaped three) even to me who walks in the Peak District, was (can`t use the word I would choose on this forum) let`s say "exhausting".! Up hill and down dale, some holes are 150 yards away and across the main road from the previous green, not once in the course of 18 holes but probably six times this occurs. The 13th hole, after you have driven off, WHICHEVER way you go down the path towards the fairway, in buggy or on foot, is hair raising being a 1 in 10 descent.(only a slight exaggeration) My new golf shoes on a slippy block paved pathway were a nightmare made worse by the rain, I might as well have been in the slalom at Sochi. Your enjoyment of this course obviously depends on what standard of golfer you are and if you are used to a great course you will no doubt be chuntering a bit about the fairways - but not the greens. They are not slicker at St Andrews than this, and the slopes are bound to catch you out - several times.
The closeness to Jerez makes this hotel acceptable if you are a bit of fidget like me - If you are happy and have brought some friends too the hotel is a great place to take advantage of all its facilities; There were a few people on their own and were just able to sit on the comfortable sofa`s and enjoy a drink and a read, We were using this hotel to stay for a few days and then moving on, and found it has an ambience that is not too posh but posh enough and I (yes, even me) would really recommend it. Just bear in mind, you really ought to have a car - the `ten minutes to Jerez` quote, is by helicopter.

Room Tip: High up overlooking the golf course. (it only has four floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingstarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    313
    70
    31
    10
See reviews for
219
442
16
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The rooms were a little tired on our visit but they have since all been refurbished, so we hope to go back soon to see the improvements! I wouldn't recommend the 4 star hotel as it does not have its own facilities so you would be walking back and forth to this main in building anyhow and the difference in price is not noticeable…also if you are a golfer there are free green fee offers if you stay in the main hotel! Free parking…..right next to the Jerez race track which makes for a surprisingly soothing back-ground noise…..great breakfast….the Spa was ok….the water was luke-warm which was a little disappointing but surely cannot be normal….golf course is right on your doorstep…so you don't need anything else, right? :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaatcondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while we were attending the F1 Pre Season Testing in Jerez. The hotel is located next to the track so the location was fantastic!
The hotel itself is beautiful and very elegant. The rooms (we were on the 4th floor over looking the golf course) were spacious and the views were great. The beds were extremely comfortable and bathrooms were generous.
The staff were more than helpful and spoke perfect English. They were more than happy to organise a taxi for us into Jerez one evening and even recommended restaurants for us.
The breakfast was delicious. Anything you could have wanted was there and again the staff were very attentive and willing to help. I only have a couple of negative things to point out - the bedroom doors were SO noisy when they closed and the wifi in the rooms was patchy at best. But they are only 2 very minor things.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Jerez, I only wish we had had more time to enjoy the Golf and Spa facilities.
Definitely give it a go!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Not an easy hotel to find, it is next to the Grand Prix circuit, which is sign posted. However, once here it is quite luxurious. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which is a bonus. Very good selection of food at breakfast, staff very attentive. A challenging golf course, the spa facilities are very good. Evening meal is a choice of buffet, 25 euros, inc. wine and water, which is excellent value or A La Carte, more expensive. The hotel is close to Jerez, well worth a visit, Cadiz is 20 minutes away and Seville is an hour journey.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Spannygranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a highly rated (including by Tripadvisor) and theoretically 5* experience for those looking to unwind and chill out. But buyer beware! The location of the resort is literally adjacent to the Jerez race track and so incredibly isolated unless you are driving. Nothing at all, not even a corner shop, accessible by Shank's pony. This means that Barcelo absolutely have you by the short and curlies.

The staff themselves are very pleasant, but there are so many catches that you will think Fagan and his troop had been at your pockets by the time you come to leave. If you want to play golf (in a golf resort), it is COMPULSORY to hire a buggy for a whopping 48Euro. There is no option to only play nine holes if it is later in the day. You still have to pay for the full 18.

The spa (which is a rather grandiose word for the facilities available) is another 9 Euro a day, although free if you book a treatment over 50 Euro. The "spa" consists of a plastic steam room, a small sauna and an indoor pool, which does have bubble makers and high pressure taps, but with only 2 hot beds to sit on, not exactly helpful at busy times as that only leaves the concrete floor as an option. There is also not even a drop of water on offer or so much as an orange to eat. Facilities and complementaries generally offered in any spa, including the council one in Hackney!

The gym, part of the spa, so again fee paying has one incredibly decrepit treadmill and the weight machines have come out of the ark. It really is quite disappointing.

Which leaves the food. Picture a harshly lit, polystyrene tiled ceilinged room with your work canteen buffet laid out and you are halfway there. For a huge 25 Euro per head, you can eat some of the worst food on offer in Spain (although the salad is fine, but what can you do to raw veg?). This does include half a bottle of wine, but the food is genuinely terrible. I opted one evening for the a la carte menu, which was also inedible. As you cannot go anywhere else (unless you drive 10km) they have no incentive to provide you with a lovely dining experience, let alone value for money.

If you are hungry men who only want to play golf, this is a reasonable pit stop, but if you are a golfing widow, looking to fill your days, avoid like the plague.

Room Tip: Do not pay the extra supplement for the golf range view. Unless you are 11 feet tall you cannot see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2212Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Montecastillo has an excellent 18 hole championship Golf Course that I last visited some years ago a couple of times, as they hosted the VOLVO Masters Final. This has been held the last 4 years at Valderrama, not far away. But when it was held at Montecastillo, we had some nice days watching the players all over the Course with very few restictions and no entrance fee. This of course has changed with the new venue.
This time I went with 2 good friends that had never been to this part of Spain, and we had a very good experience both with the Excellent hotel and the challenges of the golf course. We were a little concerned with the potential uncertain weather when ordering the trip a cople of months ahead, but were quite happy to find 16 - 18 degrees centigrade early December. The next door Jerez Raceway did not bother us too much sice it was only active during daylight hours. The nights were Cool and quiet that was more important to us.
Having booked our Tee-times in advance we got what we expected to get and were very happy with our 3 days stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Golf course are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked this hotel because I had a voucher for a spa and liked the look of it. It was very good value for money but because it was a five star hotel I didn't bother to take hair conditioner or body lotion or hand cream, and the hotel didn't provide it - nor did the spa - so I ended up with uncomfortably dry skin and unmanageable hair! Neither hotel nor spa offered robes, either, and the spa is not connected to the hotel so you have to walk outside to get to it.
Buffet dinner excellent, breakfast excellent, service excellent - pity about the little things that do make a difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
5.5 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hipotels Hotel Sherry Park
Hipotels Hotel Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#6 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Jerez Montecastillo & Convention Center
Barcelo Jerez Montecastillo & Co...
#9 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#7 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Montecastillo Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Montecastillo Golf

Property: Barcelo Montecastillo Golf
Address: Ctra de Arcos, Km 6, 11406 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#1 Green Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#3 Business Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#6 Family Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Montecastillo Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Montecastillo Golf***** hotel is a real icon in the area ofJerez, Cadiz, thanks to the high standard of its facilities and the elegant design and simplicity that characterise it. The hotel is perfect for golf lovers giving its guests unlimited use of the course without the cost of green fees. It is also the ideal location if you are looking to relax in an exceptional setting, thanks to its complete Health and Wellness Centre. The hotel offers everything you could wish for: heated swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, treatment booths, tennis and paddle courts, jogging tracks, free Wi-Fi, etc. The Barcelo Montecastillo Golf hotel has a total of 208 rooms, all fully equipped and boasting exquisite decoration. In addition there are a group of villas, ideal for families and groups of friends that want to discover Jerez, with its equestrian shows and its famous bodegas. And if you are looking to enjoy an exclusive venue for your events and conventions: remember! Our resort is part of the Barcelo Jerez Montecastillo& Convention Center **** hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Barcelo Montecastillo Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Montecastillo Hotel Jerez De La Frontera
Barcelo Jerez De La Frontera
Montecastillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing