We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing setting, excellent location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hipotels Sherry Park
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing setting, excellent location, great value”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights before we moved on to Seville. We wished we had stayed here for the full week! Although close to the town the hotel was in a quiet area and felt very relaxing. We loved the pool and attractive hotel grounds- but not the system for making a deposit before picking up the pool towels and then exchanging for a voucher to take back to reception for a refund! we went to a super market and bought a couple of beach towels - much less hassle! There was also a heated indoor pool and gym but we didn't use these. The hotel rooms were not very large but were still more than adequate. They have been recently upgraded and were very comfortable. Ours faced the pool over the pool bar terrace. Some guests may not have welcomed being so close to the hotel evening entertainment - but this ended about 11.00pm and it was quite enjoyable to sit out on the balcony listening to the music. The weather was exceptionally hot during our stay and the air conditioning struggled to keep the room temperature down. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night - the set menu was excellent value but the restaurant wasn't an option for the next 3 nights as it was the same menu every night. The snack bar was very limited in the evening too so we had to look locally for restaurants - this is limited unless you walk or drive into Jerez. There is one restaurant behind the NH Hotel across the road. All the locals ate here so it was very good and not too pricey. We loved Jerez old town, the sherry tasting and our visits to the coast. This hotel made a great base to see the surrounding areas. The staff (apart from one old miserable waiter who worked in the bar and snack bar) were very pleasant. We'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: For sun on the balcony ask for a room facing the pool 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axeloskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    404
    86
    20
    5
See reviews for
160
465
23
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is in good location however not a pleasant experience staying there.

The food was very poor - we noticed at one particular breakfast sitting there was only 1 cereal bowl for all the guests to share. The staff just stood around not clearing tables, but arguing amongst themselves. When they did decide to clear anything they still continued to chat and argue over the guests. Food was often cold and uninspiring. The only decent food was when we were allowed into the a la carte restaurant.

The pool was closed (despite it being in the 30s), the sun loungers around the pool were broken, no cushions were supplied with the loungers so even if you found one that was not broken, it was not very comfortable.

The bar staff were surly and very slow - often disappearing when you wanted to be served . One of the receptionists was incredibly friendly and helpful - it is a shame more of the staff didn’t adopt his manner.

The rooms although clean were incredibly dark and depressing. A final word of caution - I lost 2 items of value whilst staying at this hotel and despite the hotel finding one of the items, it was then "lost" when they tried to return it to me in the UK - so beware!

Don't think I would ever go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon227869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hotel is fantastic to stay in hot, Andalusian summer because of it's nice pool area. It is located in a residential area within a 20 minutes walk from the city center and is surrounded by a park so that the rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back side are more quite than the ones to the pool or teh front. Look for special o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LachicaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This was a nice horel, free parking and good location near the horse school (which is a little dull), the sherry houses and the old town.
Rooms are a little small and dark but it's fine for a short stay, the desk is understaffed though, we couldn't find it and so called the hotel only to be told that he could not talk to us as he was too busy! To be fair the guy was running the place on his own and had tour buses turning up, he was very helpful during our stay, just felt bad for the guy as he needed more help.
He recommended a restaurant in the Old town, new place and it was amazing - Jerez in general is nice and this is a good base from which to explore.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean, nicely decorated, but rather small - would be very claustrophobic for a longer stay. Bathroom however, was good size. We were given room looking over a side street, and some traffic noise could be heard. Probably a good idea to ask for room overlooking pool if you are a light sleeper.
Location was very good. 15 minutes walk into historic centre and plenty of parking.
Service at bar/pool side was terrible - we had to wait for ages to order anything and the service was given without a smile (very strange for this area, where 99% of the people are very friendly). Reception staff very formal.
Pool is opened at 12 midday, which is very late, especially if it is 42ºc during your stay (as it was with us). You also have to pay a deposit in cash for the towels.
Worst part of our stay was the breakfast. I suggest you do not get a bed and breakfast package. Everything was horrible, even the fresh fruit! (unripe, tasteless and almost dried out from being cut hours/days earlier). The breads and pastries must have been months old - one actually fell off plate and bounced and another had mould underneath. Coffee was disgusting (more chicory than coffee) and fruit juices out of packet.
I would rate this hotel as a decent place to stay for a weekend in Jerez, but plenty of other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I agree with a previous reviewer. The hotel is really nice and has that rare commodity - plenty of free car parking. It's also near the Royal Equestrian School. But they should really have provided info re. the pool not being available...also that there would be drilling and tap tapping throughout the day as they maintained it. They were very understanding though when we complained, and allowed us to leave a day earlier than planned without penalty. So we headed off to Conil de la Frontera which was FAB U LOUS.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This hotel has a really good reputation on Trip Advisor and it's easy to see why. The twin room is quite spacious with a great bathroom (love the side showers in particular) and provided a good night's sleep. There's a useable fridge but no coffee making facility.

The location is great: a short walk away from Jerez's lovely centre, and walking distance to the sherry bodegas and the equestrian centre. Free parking is excellent and easy to use.

Unfortunately there were two aspects that were a bit disappointing, one small, one quite large: firstly the air conditioning didn't really work in the room. It was a constant 23/24 degrees in there, which is fine at this time of year, but if it had been any warmer than 27/28 outside, the room would have heated up very quickly. No matter how we tried, we couldn't get the air con to improve. More important was the pool being shut down. Ok, it was late April when we stayed, but the weather was very warm and sunny, as is normal in Spain, and we chose a hotel with a pool just for this reason. We were told it was being renovated, which is fine, but there was no mention of this on the website when we checked it for other aspects before we left for Spain.

Apart from these two gripes though, the hotel is an excellent option and very reasonably priced at around 60 quid a night.

Jerez is a lovely little town, and well worth a couple of days to mooch around and see the sights/experience a proper little Spanish city away from the tourist traps of the coasts.

Another special trip is to drive into Puerto de Santa Maria (about 10 minutes away) and take the ferry/catamaran over to Cadiz for the day. It's about 2 euros each way, so great value and a lovely way to visit the ancient port city. Parking on the quay right next to the ferry departure point costs 1 euro for the day!

All in all, a really good place to visit with all you would expect from the real Spain.

Room Tip: check the pool is open before you travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jez200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#8 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Exe Guadalete
Hotel Exe Guadalete
#15 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Avenida Jerez
NH Avenida Jerez
#10 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Sherry Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Sherry Park

Property: Hipotels Sherry Park
Address: Avenida Alcalde Alvaro Domecq 11, 11407 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Sherry Park 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Attractive Hotel set amidst landscaped gardens in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hipotels Sherry Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing