We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our holiday. It is central for Jerez and as we had a car found travelling around easy.

We went to see the Andulucian horses it was a fabulous show and if like us you are seniors it is quite a bit cheaper but pay the extra for the front row as you have a much better view.

Our room was quiet and clean although we did have a problem with the shower leaking which was reported and supposedly put right but whoever done it didn't do a very good job as it was still leaking when we left there

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISJEREZ, Director General at Ibis Jerez de la Frontera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,

Gracias por haberse tomado el tiempo de escribir su opinón acerca de su última estancia en el Hotel ibis de Jerez(Cádiz). Nos complace saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia. Hemos tomado en cuenta su comentario sobre el mantenimiento de la ducha .
Sin otro particular y esperando poder verle nuevamente en nuestras instalaciones, reciba un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at the Ibis for 2 nights in May. It was ok but it was not very near the town centre. It was very close to the big Carrefour supermarket, so handy if you want to get supplies. We walked for nearly 20 minutes to get to the centre of town but suggest you don;t do this at night. The streets between the hotel and town were very quiet and makes you feel a bit unsafe.

Breakfast at the hotel was ok. Mainly cold food (cold meat etc). We were usually the first down for breakfast and on the second day, we felt that the food/juice on offer were left overs from the day before. But we ate them and we were ok.

Staff was very helpful and could speak reasonable English so there was not much problem trying to communicate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. Very comfortable bed. Location good for major road access and for a short walk (ten minutes) into the town centre. Very nice, well kept pool and outdoor area. Decent breakfast too. Very little not to like. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank winephilosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISJEREZ, Director General at Ibis Jerez de la Frontera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is on the site of Jerez. We had car so it was perfect location with free parking. We stayed over moto gp weekend for 4 nights. Staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome. Overall it was the best hotel I ever stayed in. Room had everything you need, there was very nice atmosphere in the hotel. Main thing for us was staff of the hotel. We are traveling a lot but never had better service on check-in, check out, and during all stay. These people were working really hard and even tho they were very busy because of busy weekend they were still very nice and helpful at all the time. Thank you for nice stay and if we ever go back to Jerez there is no other option for us but Ibis

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanka_Blanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank WTech3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We booked this hotel on the day during our trip around Spain in February 2014. There may be some that complain about the location, but we knew where it was situated and one main factor for us was the fact that there was on site parking. Very few, if any hotels in Jerez actually had parking facilities on site so this was a major consideration.

We booked at a rate that "Included breakfast"; the use of quotes is intentional and will be expanded on later.

Upon arrival we were expected and given our room key. The room was adequate, no bath in the bathroom, just a shower, but again we knew this before booking. The whole ambience of the room is that of a ships cabin, but that's not designed as a criticism, just an observation.

TV in the room was Spanish channels with other nationalities thrown in, BBC World for one. Not a great problem as we are in Spain. We settled in and decided to have dinner in the hotel rather than go out as the weather was rather inclement.

The dinner menu was fairly varied although there was a "menu del dia" offer that offered a main course, a drink, and a starter or desert. The main course, however was restricted to just one item: pork and chips in a mushroom and pepper sauce. The cost was just under 14 Euro. There were other main courses the same price as the pork dish on the main menu but the pork was the "Dish of the day" so you took it or left it. No flexibility at all. We decided to take it and in all honesty the pork was very nice although it was literally two small pieces of pork with chips and sauce. I suspect a roadside cafe would charge around 3.50 for it. The drink was a small beer or glass of wine etc. We had coffee too and when that arrived we were also given a complimentary glass of sherry. We were in Jerez after all. Whether the sherry came with the coffee or would have been given anyway I suppose we'll never know. Coffee was extra so actually it was over 30 euro for what would have been about a tenner at the roadside. Still it's hotel prices I suppose.

The bed was very comfortable and I slept soundly. Although the hotel was near to a busy road and intersection etc, the noise was barely noticable.

The following morning we went down to breakfast and I would descibe this as "Sparse". There were cereals a couple of meats and slices of cheese yoghurts and a couple of pastries. The milk for the cereals was not fresh milk but a UHT milk. There was also spanish omelette. The coffee machine had run out so I had to get the not very impressed chap in attendance to sort it out. Then it had run out of water so again needed his assistance. This would come back to haunt me.

Upon checkout time we were about to leave and all was in order until said coffee man whispered into the ear of the receptionist. It turned out that we had had more than our quota of breakfast!! Despite having "Breakfast included" in the email confirmation AND it saying 2 beneficiaries, it appeared that in the depths of the small print "Breakfast included" means breakfast for ONE PERSON ONLY and only extends to coffee or juice and a croissant. Quite why anyone would book a double room with only one breakfast defies logic and belief in the first place but added to that, the fact that they would go to the lengths of charging extra for a couple of slices of meat and a tiny bowl of supermarket cereal and non fresh milk shows this hotel to penny pinching in the extreme. The length of time it took to administer this extra charge of 7.50 as well as printing a receipt and accepting a credit card probably amounted to more than that anyway! Maybe it was the one inch square of spanish omelette that tipped the balance. We did receive some concession - that the extra breakfast i.e. juice and croissant option charge for the second person was waived, but they still charged for a "Full" breakfast, not that there was anything "Full" about it. I can understand if you book a continental breakfast and you go to an extensive buffet counter and take the mickey but this not the case and couldn't be given the lack of items on offer anyway.

So it's safe to say that this hotel won't be on our itinerary anytime soon. If you want a bed for the night and have a car it's a decent option, but if there are two of you don't book breakfast. I will be emailing Accor hotels to get their views on this as to be frank, it left a very sour taste upon our departure, and that wasn't just down to the milk in the cereal.

I therefore have to give this place a poor rating owing to it's inflexible staff and ridiculous breakfast issues as well as a dinner menu "offer" that was really nothing of the kind.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lnt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank vasconcelosluis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
1.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Exe Guadalete
Hotel Exe Guadalete
#13 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#4 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
NH Avenida Jerez
NH Avenida Jerez
#10 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
524 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#7 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Jerez de la Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Jerez de la Frontera

Address: Calle Rodrigo de Jerez s/n, 11408 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: £32 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Jerez de la Frontera 1*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Jerez de la Frontera hotel is located 2 min from the centre of Jerez de la Frontera, 15 min from the beaches of Puerto de Santa Maria, close to the Bodegas and Alcazar de Jerez vineyards. The airport is 8 km away. The hotel has 83 air-conditioned rooms with Wifi Internet access, including 3 adapted for disabled persons. A restaurant, a bar, snacks 24/24, a swimming pool, a terrace and closed private parking are at your disposal. Golf and tennis can be played 800 m away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Jerez de la Frontera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing