We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was closed :-(”

Camara Oscura Alcazar Jerez de la Frontera
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.78*
and up
Jerez History and Art Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was closed :-(”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted to visit the camera obscura. Normal entrance is €5,00 and with camera obscura €7,00. Unfortunately it was closed...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    16
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kostroma
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“An interesting experience !”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

First of all Alcazar of Jerez itself is worth while visiting and CAmara Oscura adds a lot to it . We were a small group of people - 2 Russians, one man from
Japan and a German with his Russian girl friend, so when 5 people were there, the guide led us upstairs and showed that wonderful thing - we were so glad like children when we saw cars, birds and people moving outside the fortress on line so to say:-))) it was our first visit to CAmara oscura at all- that's why we were even more impressed. Really worth while visiting - Keep in mind - tours are in English. After that wander through the Alcazar, enjoy the gardens, inner rooms and obligatorily get on the walls, everything is preserved in a very good way!

Helpful?
1 Thank ReisiKostroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Alcazar de Jerez”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Lameda vieja old park in center of Jerez with the Alcazar ,a must to visit if you are in Jerez ,also Sunday's mercadillo ,you can find some old things if you look close enough.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to Jerez”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Alcazhar on a Monday which meant we only had to pay a small fee to see the camera obscura, seeing the rest of the Alcazhar was free. Both the lady who greeted us and the guide who demonstrated the camera obscura were very helpful and spoke good English. We visited shortly after opening and enjoyed the peacefulness wandering around as there were only a few other tourists at this time before a louder group of Spanish tourists arrived. The pharmacy and olive press as well as the Roman baths were interesting. The demonstration of the camera obscura was in English by a knowledgeable guide who made the experience very interesting, whilst I am sure she had explained this many times it felt fresh and not just a rehearsed script. She made Jerez come alive and I feel this would be a perfect start to anyone visiting Jerez as following the panoramic visual tour tourists could then go and visit some of the sites viewed. Many thanks to our lovely guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyRoughDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Inside the Alcazar, or castle, we discovered our first ever camara oscura - a clever and ancient device to view the area from afar. It was very cool. The castle makes for a good visit with kids too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camara Oscura Alcazar Jerez de la Frontera also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Camara Oscura Alcazar Jerez de la Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing