We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a few issues...”
Review of Tryp Jerez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in the Tryp Jerez for 2 nights on a motorbike trip to southern Spain. Good secure garage for the bikes accessible by lift direct from the hotel, and the guy who checked us in ensured we only paid for one car space which halved the parking cost. Decided to book breakfast on arrival which at 7 euros was a good discount on the normal cost of 10 euros. Breakfast was OK although cereal choice was poor (all over Spain in fact!). The staff we met were generally good, but one evening we went down to the foyer bar to decided where to go next over a beer.... no staff and we were told that the bar doesn't open till 7.30pm! Not a 4 star hotel then... Also, on both mornings we saw big queues at checkout time so there are not enough staff for this key part of the day.... and we joined the queue on our checkout. The most bizarre problem, was asking the staff to turn the TV on to the football channel to watch a Champions League game in the foyer bar to be told that the hotel doesn't rent the football channel! Skinflints! Mind you, this meant we walked down to a bar just down the main road to find a tiny little place, with plenty of atmosphere and reasonable tapas...

Room Tip: Pre-book breakfast on arrival to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_TRYPCLC-JE, General Manager at Tryp Jerez Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Ncas,
Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your opinion.
We are so sorry to hear your experience has not been as satisfactory as you expected and as we want it to be, your comments are really useful for us and we take good note of each one of them.
We failed this time and this allows us to think over and prevent other travelers to have the same perception as you.
We hope to have the pleasure to receive you back and show you how the TRYP Jerez can offer you an unforgettable stay in Jerez!

Javier Huertas
General Manager
TRYP Jerez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very well located, near the center of the city. Very nice staff, very friendly and helpful. Parking on site is a plus, although at a cost. Loved the towels and the beds. Breakfast was wonderful. My kids loved the churros and the candies available at breakfast. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Faraway from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana72_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_TRYPCLC-JE, General Manager at Tryp Jerez Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Ana72_12,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations. Your positive evaluations are valuable and will help us with our continuing effort to improve the quality of the services to our guests.

We hope you visit us again soon to enjoy with your family unforgettable experiences!!!

Javier Huertas
General Manager
TRYP Jerez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stay at Tryp Jerez every year during the Flamenco Festival and find it to be lovely. Rooms are modern and extremely clean, the location is great, and the staff are first-rate: charming, friendly and always very helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romana772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_TRYPCLC-JE, Director General at Tryp Jerez Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Romana 772,
Thank you very much for posting your review in TripAdvisor .
We are so happy to have made things easier for you during your stay in the city and to be a part of your positive experience here.
Thank you very much for recommending us and for sharing your useful impression.
Please be back soon!

Javier Huertas
General Manager
TRYP Jerez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is the 2nd time I have reviewed this hotel. We really like it lots. It is comfortable in every way. This time we had a superior room which was great with more space . The bathroom was much bigger and with dressing gowns and slippers. The whole room was lovely and fresh. The staff is wonderful and helpful and friendly. It has a big ,open foyer with a nice bar. Really perfect position. Even I, not a great walker at my age , can walk to all in the city with ease from here. Also taxi rank and buses very close.
We will come and back to this place. The little bar 2 doors down provides and excellent breakfast of toast , freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. One of my favorites hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_TRYPCLC-JE, Director General at Tryp Jerez Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Belle16,
We appreciate the time you took to express your satisfaction about the services of our hotel during your recent visit and for sharing it with the entire world.
Reviews like yours, stimulate us to improve our services every day!
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon!

Javier Huertas
General Manager
TRYP Jerez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I visited the week directly before Christmas. The hotel is of a modern crisp uncluttered minimal business style within a beautiful traditional building. On arrival the staff efficiently,warmly and politely welcomed and advised of the basics. My room was amazing; spacious with a balcony that overlooked the palm tree lined road, also lined with orange trees ubiquitous throughout Jerez, with doors that opened onto a small balcony with beautiful original wrought iron, which allowed you to sit and watch the world go by; the decor was modern, stylish and the bed firm, comfortable and a dream to behold; a small but indicative touch was the hand written welcome, in marker, in my native language on the mirror. Every facility worked as expected, WIFI excellent, and the proactive stance regarding advising maids as to whether sheets/towels needed changing (before a minimum specified timeframe), was a positive environmental awareness/consideration that i appreciated. Service, well, service blew me away; on my 1st night i had a drink at the bar; the barman's English was as poor as my Spanish, yet with less than 20 words spoken, the warmth of service, greeting - the attentive ever present smile, filled the start of my vacation with warmth and optimism that was not belied; the reception's staff 's English was impeccable, as were the various recommendations as to a restaurant, tourist sites, and even where i could by an electrical adaptor - nothing was a problem, everything was an opportunity to engage and enrich my visit experience. The buffet breakfast is amazing. Amazing. Some may consider it unimaginative (i.e.traditional Euro ex Uk style), but the quality,freshness and presentation of the produce was second to none. The 'British' style 'bacon' was stunning - the chef obviously using the quality of local 'gammon' products to great effect. Business orientated this hotel may be, but another beautiful touch in the breakfast is the edible display of kids sweets (think Haribo meets Harrods), showing they do try to accommodate, consider and make feel at home ALL their visitors, whether business, leisure, local or international. Every day I was quite late leaving my room; the maid was noticeable by not being noticeable - by that i mean, every time i returned my room was spotless, and as much as i must have been an annoyance, i was never disturbed, hurried. I had an item of clothing laundered and left the money with the invoice order form - when i returned the maid had crossed out my order, and left money to show i had overpaid. In summary I cannot recommend enough; Jerez is beautiful, and warm both in temperature and in its people; the all Spanish staff was a distinct bonus. I was a leisure traveller, and have only written such a long review, my first TripAdvisor review, not because i have any connection with this hotel, but because having read some of the negative ones, I wouldn't want anyone to miss out on this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_TRYPCLC-JE, Director General at Tryp Jerez Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Damien F,
Many thanks for sharing your comments about your TRYP experience during your visit to the TRYP Jerez hotel!
I am glad to know that you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us. Otherwise, I can assure you that we highly value your opinion for process of continuous improvement and as a base for making our guests stay more enjoyable every time.
TRYP Jerez team look forward to welcoming back you in a very near future!!
Warm regards,

Javier Huertas
General Manager
TRYP Jerez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice hotel, with a quite central location, a bit modern and a bit lacking in character, but comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly and always there to help, gave a fantastic recommendation for a restaurant to eat in and were very helpful with any questions. Hotel was very clean and presentable. The breakfast was fantastic and well worth the money 7.50€. However, a couple of things made me a bit "uh" Firstly our room was more like a cell, with a small prison style window, overlooking a very small courtyard shoot, and the window to the room opposite, this made it very hot (even at the end of October) and even with the air con down to 15 degrees. Not the most comfortable sleep, with the heat, the log pillows and the not too firm beds. Bathroom was clean and had all amenities, although soap was from dispenser, which I would expect from a 2 star hotel, not a 4 star. Other things to note, the free wifi is a bit hit & miss. Be warned, the bar closes at 22.30pm!!!!! All in all, a good place to stay if you get the right room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gedfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_TRYPCLC-JE, Director General at Tryp Jerez Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear gedfab,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the Community of Tripadvisor and for your splendid comments about our personnel and our facilities. Your happiness is our greatest source of motivation, and makes us want to be better for you.
We also would like to express that we are sorry for not covering your expectations with the room in this occasion. The next time you make a stop at our hotel we suggest you to know our Premium rooms with exterior views.
It will be a real pleasure to welcome you again at TRYP Jerez and give you our recommendations to live the city to the maximum.
Thank you for choosing us!!”

Javier Huertas
General Manager
TRYP JEREZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lots of interesting places to visit, Alcazar cool and calm, Harveys sherry tour informative and relaxed, archaeological museum super but leave more than 1 hour to do it justice, lots of choice of bars and restaurants seemingly filled with local folk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo_TRYPCLC-JE, Gerente at Tryp Jerez Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Cluck2013,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the Tripadvisor Community and for your excellent rating.

We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Jerez, and this encourage us to keep on working and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city unforgettable experiences.

We all will be glad of welcoming you back at TRYP Jerez soon.

Thank you for choosing us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Avenida Jerez
NH Avenida Jerez
#10 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#4 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#2 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
505 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
#8 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
534 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#7 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Jerez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Jerez Hotel

Address: Alameda Marques de Casa Domecq 13, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#1 Family Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#2 Green Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: £41 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Jerez Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Jerez hotel is located in the heart of Jerez, 5 minutes from the most important bodegas and the Royal School of Horsemanship. Easy access to the Airport 8 km away. Only 15 km from Puerto de Santa Mari­a and Valdelagrana Beach, and 25 km from Chiclana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Jerez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Jerez Hotel Jerez De La Frontera
Tryp Hotel Jerez
Sol Melia Jerez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing