We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but not 5 stars.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Jerez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Jerez
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely but not 5 stars.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the beginning of August and looked forward to returning to Jerez after several years.
First impressions are 'wow'. We had a charming, informative lady to check us in but there was no porterage, there is a lift though.
The carpet in the corridor needs renewing as it was rather dirty.
We had a lovely room. We had upgraded to a superior room and there was plenty of room for the extra bed for our 9 year old daughter. The bathroom was fabulous, jacuzzi bath, multi showered shower, a sweet little saloon style door separating the toilet and double basins.
When we went to store our cases under the bed we were a little alarmed at the bed base - just a frame with slats on. However the mattresses must have been good as we had four very comfortable nights sleep. The camp bed also looked a bit basic and worn but we heard no complaints about comfort.
The terrace was the largest we've ever seen and overlooked the pool but it was practically empty with only a couple of modern plastic chairs and a tiny table. It really needed an awning and a couple of sun beds. The flowers in the troughs needed some attention.
Housekeeping was a little slapdash we felt. We had just come from another hotel not of this star rating whose housekeeping was done with much more care and attention to detail. We had a turn-down each evening which was nice but the 'Good-night' card they left on my pillow was all crumpled and obviously been used many times before, the chocolate was upside down so you couldn't see the hotel logo. My daughters teddies were put on the dressing table instead of being arranged back on the bed. Just small details but the sort of details you expect, it just showed a lack of interest.
We very much enjoyed the lovely pool. Sunbeds and umbrellas however were old and broken and some of them were yellow, discoloured plastic ones which didn't go with the hotel at all.
We would have appreciated some sort of drinks service around the pool. Lovely thick towels were provided.
Breakfast was good with a good choice of items. The service was a bit lacking though. A bit unfriendly and no-one comes to the table to take your hot order, you just have to grab someone as they go through the restaurant. The only hot food menu is on the buffet table and not on the tables.
The gardens and terraces are superb and it is a beautiful building. We enjoyed sitting in the wicker chairs on the verandah sipping chilled sherry. Very civilised.
It sounds as though we were unhappy with the hotel but overall we loved it. Just needs a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsanudo, Director General at Hotel Villa Jerez, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your cooments that I share with hotel team definitely will help us to improve our service and facilities.

We try hard to solve the problems during the stay if we are informed.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    101
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
72
237
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Villa Jerez was a welcome oasis in the middle of our trip. Beautiful room and the pool was lovely. The front desk folks directed us to a wonderful bodega and a great night of flamenco. Hope to be able to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne82009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have stayed at Villa Jerez many times which is unusal for us - with so many hotels to choose from it is the only hotel that we would book in Jerez.
Some staff have been there for years which always says a lot about a hotel.
The hotel was originally the home of one of the sherry families and on an afternoon when the other guests have gone out you can find yourself sat alone by the pool with drinks and snacks brought by the staff - almost as if you were a sherry tycoon in your own garden.
The gardens attract local wedding parties who like the gardens for photographs etc but these are never intrusive for guests. If you enjoy experiencing the customs of other countries, seeing how a Spanish wedding party is interesting - no discos or large numbers but may well have fabulous singing which will be the wedding guests not entertainers.
You can stroll to all the main attractions - the National Riding School, restaurants and bars not forgetting sherry houses. Bodega Tradition is different, it is very small and includes a Spanish art collection. We found this and many resturants/bars as recommedations provided by Paco, the distinguished gent on reception.
All the staff are helpful - don't worry about meal times etc just ask them for what you fancy and they will bring it to you.
Great value for money compared with UK hotels, our only regret is that the restaurant has changed to Italian which isn't what we go to Spain for. However, being foodies we eat out most of the time anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great hospitality! We were upgraded from a standard to a junoir suite due to overbooking. Unfortunately the junior suite (103) we got didn't have any terrace and the windows faced the street and parking. The bathroom was huge with separate shower stall and bathtub (jacuzzi). Our room wasn't quite as nicely decorated as the rooms in the hotel website and felt a bit outdated.

The breakfast was good with freshly pressed orange juice and a good selection of breads, meats and fruits. Great coffee if you like spanish strong brew!

The best thing about the hotel was the service Paco provided and the beautiful poolarea!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the garden with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SushiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed he overnight in order to do the sherry bogedas of Jerez. Slightly out of town, but totally walkable and means you get the peace and pool that goes with the out of town experience.

Really good value for money booked in advance. Bathroom like nothing I've seen before with jacuzzi, power shower and even a corralled off loo!

Pool side relaxing was lovely and very quiet. Welcome after a hot tour of the bogedas and rather a lot of sherry!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmite146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Lovely small hotel with only 28 rooms. Concierge/Reception staff is top proff. and we received all the attention and service to make us feel welcome "into the Family". The small size invites to conversation between guests and we had a lovely time talking to guests from Belgium, England and Germany.
Our room was very nice and large, we enjoyed the huge balcony overlooking the pool. It would have been perfect if the balcony was fitted with 2 sunbeds and a small side table. The space is there, why not make the best of it?
We had dinner in the restaurant on our first evening and found the ala carte menu offered a limited choice, but the quality of the food was very nice. Breakfast although plentiful and well prepared cannot match that of a buffet at a large 5 star hotel, (but who would expect that).
Soap and Water is a great combination, and I noticed it has been some time since it was last used on the tables, chairs and shelves in the dining room. The tabletop is sprayed and wiped after each service, but the rest of the furnitures were a bit stained

Location is a bit outside the city center, 15-20 minutes of walk, 5 minutes and 5 euro in Taxi.
Coming out from the hotel, walking 2 streets to the left and a further 20 meters down the street we found a lovely and very reasonable priced Spanish Restaurant. The best tapas, and very good food, in deed well worth a visit.

We would gladly return to Hotel villa Jerez.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool and garden are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, luxurious hotel with a nice pool and gardens, about a mile from Jerez centre. The room was fantastic and the staff were really attentive. We thought this was good value, at 115 Euros per night B&B. the restaurant menu was limited but the food was good and the prices were lower than we expected for this level of hotel. Service in the restaurant was a bit haphazard, but that's only a tiny complaint. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
1.0 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Hotel Sherry Park
Hipotels Hotel Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#7 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Palacio Garvey Hotel
#8 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Jerez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Jerez

Property: Hotel Villa Jerez
Address: Avenida Cruz Roja 7, 11407 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#3 Family Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#4 Business Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Jerez 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Jerez is an old Jerez mansion refurbished as a 5* boutique hotel in the city centre of Jerez de la Frontera, strategically located just a few minutes from the REAAE and the Trade Fair Centre. The hotel has 18 rooms, 14 superior doubles and 4 Junior Suites, all facing outdoors with views of the garden or swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Villa Jerez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerez Hotel De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing