We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel - needs a little TLC”
Review of Bellas Artes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellas Artes Hotel
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Excellent situation in the middle of the old city - Opposite the cathedral and close to the small streets of the centre - If you are coming by car go directly from the ring road - The hotel was very helpful and allowed us to park outside the hotel - Note the Police station is next door so dont invade their space. Rooms were once very grand - reflecting the name of the hotel - A little dated but this was reflected in the price we paid for a double room (40Euro) - The breakfast offered was a bufet which turned out to be a small buffet similar to a port hotel in Calais (5Euro) Good quality bedding - a good nights sleep was had here

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonyh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were very lucky to get 1 of only 2 dedicated parking spots right outside the hotel....and no charge!! An excellent start. Small boutique type hotel in great location tho' it was tricky to find the way to it thro narrow streets of the old town...our gps system proved invaluable. Hotel is in the same square as the old cathedral and the Alcazar...on the walls of which are the Tio Pepe signs directing you to the visitors entrance if you want to do a tour there.Room was at the front but wasn't noisy. Decent room and faclities tho' the pillows were a bit lumpy. We didn't have breakfast as it had a very limited continental choice and we thought it wasn't worth 5 euros. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Although our room was overlooking the front it wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This hotel is really well situated for a city visit to Jerez. It is very close to the Cathedral, Alcazar, Bodegas and a number of good restaurants. The rooms we had were very comfortable. There is no parking but the Centro Car Park is within easy walking distance. I would certainly use this hotel again if I were to return to Jerez.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and so no other rooms so I am unable to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

this was beyond the pale - don't stay here. Uncooperative management - poor attitude - this is not a place that you want to stay

Room Tip: Can't imagine that there is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consolegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Charming boutique hotel in Jerez de la Frontera.

My teen daughter and I stayed in Bellas Artes for 2 nights this past August. The hotel is in a lovely converted “hotel particulier” with a central open courtyard in the old part of Jerez. It’s a small, charming, boutique hotel that has been decorated with care and taste. It is, however, more of a 3* rather than a 4* hotel. As per the hotel’s pictures, the rooftop has an impressive view over the very impressive Jerez de la Frontera Cathedral.

Although the room was on the smallish side, it was comfortably appointed with 2 large beds. On the negative side, our room’s a/c leaked up a storm during our 2-day stay. And by leaked up a storm, I do mean that we had to request a bucket and towels from housekeeping. As it was a long weekend due to a public holiday, it was not possible to repair the a/c nor move us to another room as the hotel was fully booked. The staff tried their best to be helpful and appeared sincerely apologetic for the inconvenience.

The window in our room opened only to the interior courtyard which made the space feel a bit claustrophobic. The bathroom did not have an outside window. Bellas Artes offers free wifi throughout the hotel but we were never able to connect our different peripherals to the internet. The rooftop terrace has great potential. It currently features a Jacuzzi and a couple of tables. Nonetheless, there are no umbrellas and given the scorching heat, it’s impossible to spend any reasonable amount of time on the terrace during the day. The hotel does not offer bar / snack service there either.

Breakfast was acceptable and included a variety of breads, cheeses, cold cuts, and cereals.

There is a sitting room in the front that would make a lovely bar for an evening drink but I’m not sure if it’s used as such. The hotel seems to have few staff on call but that was perhaps due to the holiday weekend.

Although I don’t think that this was a problem exclusively to the hotel but rather to the very warm weather, throughout our visit, there were moments where pervasive gutter smells became unpleasantly overpowering.

Jerez is a charming town worth spending a weekend exploring. I would consider staying in Bellas Artes again as long as I had a room with an outside window.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel should have everything going for it - a spectacular location opposite the cathedral, quirky interior and four stars. The reality is rather different. We were asked to pay the entire bill for our two night stay before we even saw our room, let alone stayed in it which I have never encountered before in 40 years of travelling. There was no hot water in the morning on our second day, the only staff member we saw was one harassed young woman on the reception desk and breakfast was the most dismal affair in a cramped dark space with minimal attention to breakfast ingredients. This is NOT a four star hotel, not even close. It speaks of a hotel in trouble and very close to the financial edge. I hope it survives but I wouldn't count on it.

Room Tip: Keep asking for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibeliusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Read several reviews some good some bad before booking the room for a one night stay as the building looked lovely and was so close to the CathedraI, room was very clean we had Air Con luckly as it was very hot that day. We both slept well, the beds were good quality, Did not have breakafst at the Hotel as we were leaving early. I would go again without a doubt. Also very close to several Bodegas, We went to the Bodega Tradicion this is a must forget the others. The Arabic Hamman baths just round the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#15 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nuevo Hotel
Nuevo Hotel
#16 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tierras de Jerez
Tierras de Jerez
#27 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#6 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#13 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellas Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellas Artes Hotel

Address: Plaza Arroyo 45, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: £33 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellas Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bellas Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellas Artes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing