We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Overnight in Jerez”
Review of Bellas Artes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellas Artes Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Overnight in Jerez”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We noticed this hotel whilst parking in front of the Cathedral and decided it was perfectly placed for an overnight stay. It was close to the old city centre. We were able to park our car outside the front door which was a bonus, as the Police station was next door we felt it was safe!
We would not call this hotel a 4star , however it was perfect for an over night stay and reasonably priced. The bedroom was small but clean, the ensuite having been created out of the original room, this was not a problem. The decor was rather tired but quaint. Overall we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room had wooden shutters which cut out all noises from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallycolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    64
    55
    32
    46
See reviews for
24
126
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I were meeting friends in Jerez to witness .Christmas festivities and did not want to drive home afterwards.
We discovered the Hotel Bellas Artes on line and were not disappointed. The staff we encountered were very friendly, knowledgable and courteous. The room was clean and more than enough room though a bit dated. The bath area was nice, clean and amenities were adequate. The bed was comfortable.
The location was perfect for us, very near the old town of Jerez, across the street from the Cathedral and close to a large Bodega and old city entrance.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here after seeing a recommendation to use this hotel in a 2 year old copy of the Lonely Planet magazine and booked their best room, the 'suite' at the top of the hotel. Well, if we'd had less expectations it all might have been just about ok - but it wasn't 4 star for sure, and we didn't have a suite for sure either, just a small bedroom, with a shower room and a seperate large spa bath. The spa bath was great but it doesn't constitute a suite if there's no sitting area. We had direct access onto the roof terrace which was advertised as having a hot tub. Well, the hot tub didn't look like it had been used in ages, and certainly no one told us how we could use this if we had wanted to - not even in the info booklet. But though the views from the terrace were superb, the dead potted palms (all of them), and the bits of broken tile and nails and screws left lying around didn't exactly add to the ambience. The floor of our room was also quite dusty, we imagine no one had stayed in it for a while. Service was patchy, sometimes helpful, sometimes quite cold and perfunctory, and there didn't really seem to be enough staff around - the same girl was covering reception and serving breakfasts and clearing up (in jeans one day!).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elissamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerez De La Frontera hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I spent 2 nights here; arrived to torrential rain and continued for 48 hours. Jerez looked dejected in the rain and many places seemed to shut up shop early. Hotel has few facilities but is well located. Bathroom was old, but clean. In better weather - well my overall opinion would have been the same.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Cathedral will have some action passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We found this very interesting rate, 60 euros for a 4*... We should have guessed it was too good to be true.
Alright, the location is perfect, right in the center of Jerez, facing the cathedral.
The room we got was a little bit tired down, but with a fantastic view of the Cathedral.
The bathroom is tired too...
Please avoid the breakfast at all cost. I've never seen such a small breakfast room. It is really under the stairs...!
The buffet was not convenient, small tables, only cold cuts...
The building is nice, but what thex have made of it is not that nice...

There must be a better choice in Jerez, I'll find a better place next time!

By the way, the swimming pool (or jacuzzi) and the terrace were closed for refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seventynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

For the discount rate we paid it was a good value but If you are expecting 4 star it might disappoint (it is more like a nice 3 star -- the reviews saying it is like a hostel are off the mark). The decoration and furnishings are traditional/old style (so brings some warmth) but not actual antiques. The rooms vary a lot! We got a back room which was big enough (about 18m2) really high ceilings and airy/light but no view (they are up high, they do let sun in but face a wall) . The 3 front three ones on each floor have street views (the Cathedral is off to the right as you look out from the room, so you could ask for a front corner room facing the cathedral, or the front middle room has a big window/door). The room card has to be in the slot for the power to be on, and this includes the mini fridge. To keep the fridge cool when you are out, you need to get another card (housecleaning provided one). The AC is good, you control it yourself. The closet is on the small side if you have 3 people and stay for more than a night. The mattresses are firm and fine but the pillows are a but flat and there are no extras in the closet (ask for more if needed). Although we paid for a 3rd bed the bathroom had towels for only 2 (the next day after cleaning there were 3) and blankets for 2 (I didn't ask for more as I didn't need another). We parked for free on the street in front of the hotel without reservation (the hotel has 2 spaces and there is street parking in the vicinty) but it could be that it was a quiet time of the year. We found it no problem using GPS but you do have to navigate through the police parking area which looks like it is not a through road for non police vehicles. About the location it is right across from the cathedral and in a historic area which has about 6-8 tapas bars but we didn't find any particularly memorable restaurants and we think the location around Hotel Itaca might have been more handy because the area is also charming with narrow cobblestone streets, and we were doing some clothes shopping. Either way it is about 10 min. drive to the horse show which was our main purpose in Jerez (and also visiting Hipisur which is a really well stocked tack shop near the Plaza de Toros).The breakfast at 6 euros was ok but basic, agree with the reviewer who suggests going to a nearby bar. The receptionist was doing the service in the breakfast area so although she was doing her best, she had 2 jobs at once. Reception was cheerful and helpful in general although they could not think of anywhere I could get a full load of laundry washed (aside from the hotel's service which is expensive by the piece if you have a lot of small kids clothes). For laundry I did find two places around Hotel Itaca, one called Lavetint on Lenceria, 4 that charged 12 euros for a load (it is a pedestrian only area so you can't drive up), and another one at Medina, 8). We would happily stay at Hotel Bellas Artes again at discounted rates.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the street if you want a window with a view. There are 3 front rooms on each f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Excellent situation in the middle of the old city - Opposite the cathedral and close to the small streets of the centre - If you are coming by car go directly from the ring road - The hotel was very helpful and allowed us to park outside the hotel - Note the Police station is next door so dont invade their space. Rooms were once very grand - reflecting the name of the hotel - A little dated but this was reflected in the price we paid for a double room (40Euro) - The breakfast offered was a bufet which turned out to be a small buffet similar to a port hotel in Calais (5Euro) Good quality bedding - a good nights sleep was had here

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonyh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierras de Jerez
Tierras de Jerez
#31 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#14 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#13 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Palacio Garvey Hotel
#7 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellas Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellas Artes Hotel

Property: Bellas Artes Hotel
Address: Plaza Arroyo 45, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellas Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellas Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellas Artes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing