We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected-extra small”
Review of Bellas Artes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellas Artes Hotel
Reviewed 29 October 2013

So when booking for a long weekend in Jerez and Cadiz we booked this hotel due to the pictures we saw online and the information given which sounded amazing. We also called and booked parking a week before. We get there and it is beautiful and quaint, right in front of the cathedral, we couldn't be happier. We go in and well they tell us the parking is full so we have to find street parking. Their excuse was they didn't write it down. Then the room was tiny! Like the bed barely fit. And then cobwebs all over the ceiling...especially in the bathroom. The bathroom had three steps to go down into and if the door was open you could not open the main door to the room. The problem with the steps is that my boyfriend got a stomach bug and was running to the bathroom every 5 minutes and the stairs were actually really dangerous! Our friends room was even smaller and with more cobwebs on the beams! The bathroom had no stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antxiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noemi R, Director de Recepción at Bellas Artes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear client:
We are deeply sorry about your bad experience in our hotel.
First of all, we will tell our chambermaids to pay more attention to the cleaning of the ceilings and beams.
We also apologise if you were not confortable in your room. To the extent possible, we always change of room to an unhappy client if there is availability. Even to an upper class room, but we really care about our client's comfort.
We look forward to welcoming you in another occasion and being able of change your opinion.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Bellas Artes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

We noticed this hotel whilst parking in front of the Cathedral and decided it was perfectly placed for an overnight stay. It was close to the old city centre. We were able to park our car outside the front door which was a bonus, as the Police station was next door we felt it was safe!
We would not call this hotel a 4star , however it was perfect for an over night stay and reasonably priced. The bedroom was small but clean, the ensuite having been created out of the original room, this was not a problem. The decor was rather tired but quaint. Overall we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room had wooden shutters which cut out all noises from the street
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallycolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I were meeting friends in Jerez to witness .Christmas festivities and did not want to drive home afterwards.
We discovered the Hotel Bellas Artes on line and were not disappointed. The staff we encountered were very friendly, knowledgable and courteous. The room was clean and more than enough room though a bit dated. The bath area was nice, clean and amenities were adequate. The bed was comfortable.
The location was perfect for us, very near the old town of Jerez, across the street from the Cathedral and close to a large Bodega and old city entrance.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here after seeing a recommendation to use this hotel in a 2 year old copy of the Lonely Planet magazine and booked their best room, the 'suite' at the top of the hotel. Well, if we'd had less expectations it all might have been just about ok - but it wasn't 4 star for sure, and we didn't have a suite for sure either, just a small bedroom, with a shower room and a seperate large spa bath. The spa bath was great but it doesn't constitute a suite if there's no sitting area. We had direct access onto the roof terrace which was advertised as having a hot tub. Well, the hot tub didn't look like it had been used in ages, and certainly no one told us how we could use this if we had wanted to - not even in the info booklet. But though the views from the terrace were superb, the dead potted palms (all of them), and the bits of broken tile and nails and screws left lying around didn't exactly add to the ambience. The floor of our room was also quite dusty, we imagine no one had stayed in it for a while. Service was patchy, sometimes helpful, sometimes quite cold and perfunctory, and there didn't really seem to be enough staff around - the same girl was covering reception and serving breakfasts and clearing up (in jeans one day!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elissamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I spent 2 nights here; arrived to torrential rain and continued for 48 hours. Jerez looked dejected in the rain and many places seemed to shut up shop early. Hotel has few facilities but is well located. Bathroom was old, but clean. In better weather - well my overall opinion would have been the same.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Cathedral will have some action passing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We found this very interesting rate, 60 euros for a 4*... We should have guessed it was too good to be true.
Alright, the location is perfect, right in the center of Jerez, facing the cathedral.
The room we got was a little bit tired down, but with a fantastic view of the Cathedral.
The bathroom is tired too...
Please avoid the breakfast at all cost. I've never seen such a small breakfast room. It is really under the stairs...!
The buffet was not convenient, small tables, only cold cuts...
The building is nice, but what thex have made of it is not that nice...

There must be a better choice in Jerez, I'll find a better place next time!

By the way, the swimming pool (or jacuzzi) and the terrace were closed for refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seventynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

For the discount rate we paid it was a good value but If you are expecting 4 star it might disappoint (it is more like a nice 3 star -- the reviews saying it is like a hostel are off the mark). The decoration and furnishings are traditional/old style (so brings some warmth) but not actual antiques. The rooms vary a lot! We got a back room which was big enough (about 18m2) really high ceilings and airy/light but no view (they are up high, they do let sun in but face a wall) . The 3 front three ones on each floor have street views (the Cathedral is off to the right as you look out from the room, so you could ask for a front corner room facing the cathedral, or the front middle room has a big window/door). The room card has to be in the slot for the power to be on, and this includes the mini fridge. To keep the fridge cool when you are out, you need to get another card (housecleaning provided one). The AC is good, you control it yourself. The closet is on the small side if you have 3 people and stay for more than a night. The mattresses are firm and fine but the pillows are a but flat and there are no extras in the closet (ask for more if needed). Although we paid for a 3rd bed the bathroom had towels for only 2 (the next day after cleaning there were 3) and blankets for 2 (I didn't ask for more as I didn't need another). We parked for free on the street in front of the hotel without reservation (the hotel has 2 spaces and there is street parking in the vicinty) but it could be that it was a quiet time of the year. We found it no problem using GPS but you do have to navigate through the police parking area which looks like it is not a through road for non police vehicles. About the location it is right across from the cathedral and in a historic area which has about 6-8 tapas bars but we didn't find any particularly memorable restaurants and we think the location around Hotel Itaca might have been more handy because the area is also charming with narrow cobblestone streets, and we were doing some clothes shopping. Either way it is about 10 min. drive to the horse show which was our main purpose in Jerez (and also visiting Hipisur which is a really well stocked tack shop near the Plaza de Toros).The breakfast at 6 euros was ok but basic, agree with the reviewer who suggests going to a nearby bar. The receptionist was doing the service in the breakfast area so although she was doing her best, she had 2 jobs at once. Reception was cheerful and helpful in general although they could not think of anywhere I could get a full load of laundry washed (aside from the hotel's service which is expensive by the piece if you have a lot of small kids clothes). For laundry I did find two places around Hotel Itaca, one called Lavetint on Lenceria, 4 that charged 12 euros for a load (it is a pedestrian only area so you can't drive up), and another one at Medina, 8). We would happily stay at Hotel Bellas Artes again at discounted rates.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the street if you want a window with a view. There are 3 front rooms on each f...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.3 mi away
Nuevo Hotel
Nuevo Hotel
#17 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierras de Jerez
Tierras de Jerez
#28 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#15 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#6 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Jandalos Jerez
Hotel Los Jandalos Jerez
#12 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellas Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellas Artes Hotel

Address: Plaza Arroyo 45, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: £31 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellas Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bellas Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellas Artes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing