We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice in Jerez”
Review of Hotel Dona Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dona Blanca
Gainesville VA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good choice in Jerez”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This hotel is much nicer than one would expect at the price. It's clean and run like a high-end hotel. It's well located within easy walking distance of the TI, Tio Pepe (Bodega Gonzalez-Byass) and Bodega Domecq. There are convenient parking, restaurants and grocery stores nearby plus a couple of squares for people watching.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdjtbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    104
    53
    9
    11
See reviews for
43
99
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Turned up in Jerez purely to browse a few bodegas and slurp some sherry. This was the only budget hotel recommended by our travel book. They indicated that it was exceptionally grand for the price and right in the heart of the city....right on both counts. No hugely modern, but great location, EUr41 for the night (A Friday incidentally....and we turned up without reservations and took the rate offered at 2pm in the afternoon...may well be cheaper with a little forethought....but that was for both of us in a double room en-suite) didn't take breakfast at EUR7.50 each as there are a wealth of superb cafe's and even a carrefour for buns and bread within 2-3mins. All in allm staff efficient and courteous, room and bedding clena and good hot-water pressure in the shower. Worth noting that whilst Tio Pepe is the most well known bodegas, some of its tour guides suffer from tourist fatigue and the smaller producers will give a more intimate, if less polished tour.

Room Tip: top floor - western balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

couple in the 30's
We manage to get a deal for a couple of nights on a travel website and the hotel was perfect for the price we paid

We arrived by car from the costa del luz and there is parking spaces next to the hotel
the reception was friendly and our room had ample space, a balcony, good bathroom with power shower and a massive tv. beds were comfy.
The hotel is quiet at night. the taxi to the airport costs 20 euros.
However careful if you have trouble walking up stairs, the only lift seemed to be after a set of high steps.

it is located 10 min walk from the train station (you can go to cadiz-1h- but make sure you are aware of train times) and bus station. And 1 min walk from the center and 5 min from a couple of bodegas including tio pepe.
Sunday afternoons are a great to visit churches as they are all open because local seem to go from one to another in masses at that time.

An outstanding restaurant was the chancilleria restaurant Sabores (Degustation menu for 40 euros) whose owner is really passionate about the hotel/restaurant.
If you want to visit tio pepe on a sunday there is only one visit at 2-00, the others seemed to be closed on sundays.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaozinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We`ve stayed here before quite a few times, it is a great place to stay in the center of Jerez if you have arrived by car because of their underground secure garage, the room was clean with comfy beds and an en-suite and air con/heater which warmed the room up well, there was a mini-bar fridge, we didn`t have breakfast in the hotel, like the last reviewer we had excellent coffee and toasted rolls in the Dona Blanca cafe, but everyone at least once in their lives should have churros and chocolate outside the fresh food market, you buy the churros from the little black kiosk, €2 worth is enough for two people, ( you can always get more ) and take it to one of the bars and order your chocolate and dip away whilst people watching, heaven.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petalrose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Pleasant and efficient reception staff.Clean rooms and adequate bathroom facilities, ideal hotel
for short stays.very central location near to shops, banks and very good restaurants.Parking facilities on site and charged at a very reasonable rate .Take a tip and book Room Only
and eat breakfast next door in the Dona Blanca snack bar ,Toasted roll with jam and butter plus
excellent coffee costing only 2 Euros.We will certainly use this hotel again for our next visit to
Jerez.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOURMET105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Doña Blanca for five nights at the end of October at the start of our trip round Andalucia. It proved to be a good choice, a great base for exploring Jerez de la Frontera, easy to access by road and with a good parking facility.

Our room (104) proved to be spacious with a full-length mirror and a good-sized, well-lit mirror in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable with good pillows. Downsides were that the hot water for the shower was at times intermittent, though not so much as to inconvenience us, and the lack of a seal at the foot of the shower door flooded the bathroom floor a little.

Our two windows both opened over the street and the Bar Doña Blanca one floor below. This is a proper locals' place and 'full of life' (=noisy); which for us wasn't a problem as it was what we were hoping for on a tour of Andalucia.

As well as a good base for run-outs to other places (we visited Cadiz, Sanlucar de Barrameda, Ronda, Arcos de la Frontera, Vejer de la Frontera, Bolonia beach and Tarifa all when based here), the hotel is well-placed for forays into the town and has some superb spots nearby:

- Tip: get into CHURROS and buy them on the move from one of the stalls outside the food market, 30 seconds from the front door of the hotel; or sit down to indulge in a late breakfast with coffee and chocolate at Julio Alacant which is just as close.

- Bar La Perla is just down the road and, alongside the eponymous bar of the hotel, draws locals to its rough-and-ready, messy, noisy interior and the street tables outside. Go if you're into hair lacquer and bullfighting posters ;-)

- La Rosa de Oro is a superb pasteleria (pastry shop) nearby for sweet treats, opposite a shrine full of old plaster casts and false limbs(!) and next door to a tempting ice-cream bar.

- Bar La Vega was full almost constantly, seeming to attract well-dressed locals and worried-looking tourists in equal large numbers. Tip: avoid the tables, sit at the bar and confuse the barman with your bad spanish. The coffee's great, they make Churros in-house and the atmosphere is appropriately rowdy and... well, just perfect.

Service at the hotel was friendly and efficient; the car-park attendant was always happy to see us.

With the wealth of options available locally, we didn't try the breakfast.

All-in-all the hotel was very much worth the money we paid, particularly with the position and parking taken into account. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: To avoid noise, get in early and ask to be placed as far from the bar as possible! Otherwise, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejesmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
888 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 863 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here Sept 11 for 3 nights, in room 118 which was the furthest from reception down a very long corridor.

Reception was efficient and spoke very good English (Although using the term friendly may be forcing the issue somewhat). The room was large, clean and nicley decorated - very large double bed, flat screen tv and fridge (with mini bar). Bathroom was nice and had a bath / shower. The free wifi worked wonderfully.

The room overlooked a quaint little pedestrian alleyway which was nice. However our only criticism was it was quite noisy - I know a town centre hotel is bound to suffer from this to some degree, and we generally stay in town centre hotels, bt this was a bit above the norm. Also there was hoovering at 11pm in an adjacent / upstairs room for some reason !

Location is possibly as good as it can get for the price - 5 mins walk from the middle of the town. We arrived / departed by train, the station a 15 / 20 min gentle walk away.

Check out was efficient, no issues or dramas (...and again - efficient as opposed to warm or friendly ). Would we stay here again ? Probably as it was just about everything we needed - and other rooms may be quieter. (oh...and why o why do Spanish hotels persist with those all in one mamoth 5ft long pillow ?).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.4 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#13 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Jandalos Jerez
Los Jandalos Jerez
#12 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Blanca

Property: Hotel Dona Blanca
Address: Calle Bodegas 11, 11402 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of Jerez. A few meters from the bus and train station, the Cathedral, the Alcazar. Next to the theater Villamarta and wealth of its splendid wine stores. A 7 km from Jerez airport and 12 km from the nearest beaches of Puerto de Santa Maria. It has 30 bright and spacious rooms with bathroom, amenities and hairdryer, air conditioning, heating, piped music, telephone, desk, plasma TV, 32 inch satellite TV, safe, minibar, and wireless connection free internet throughout the hotel. Optional. - Breakfast buffet and parking of the hotel, from which you can directly access the rooms. Direct access to shopping arcade with shops and hairdressers. Ideal for businessmen, families and couples to live a pleasant experienceHotel en el centro de Jerez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing