We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tour”

Yeguada de la Cartuja
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most important reserve of Andalusian Horse, Carthusian lineage is located in the outskirts of Jerez de la Frontera. Visits are held every Saturday at 11.00. Guided tour + show in the main arena. Opened only Saturdays from March until November.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I took the tour on our recent visit to Jerez and we are both glad we did!
It was wonderful to get so close to the beautiful horses and get an understanding about the breed. The lady who showed us around explained everything in great detail and made the experience so good. The show was excellent especially when the foals were joined by their mothers it brought tears to my eyes. It is a little hard to find due to lack of road signs in Jerez but hopefully the local council will come to understand how good an attraction this is to tourist and add signs to make it easier to find. Well worth a visit and great for Children and Adults alike.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgirl190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeguada de L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Yeguada de la Cartuja, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you very much.
We are doing our best to solve the issue with the road signs.
We really appreciate the opinion of our guests.
Yeguada de la Cartuja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    32
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Showed in a breeders environment, very nice..loved every minute of this outing.the horses are showed in a natural Breeders and the foals were adorable. They explain everything about the process of breeding! Loved it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moonshadowbreeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeguada de L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Yeguada de la Cartuja, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much!!
We appreciate your comment.
Yeguada de la Cartuja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go see this whether you ride or not.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was not expecting this to be so good, I had tickets to the Escuela Ecuestre and thought this would pale in comparison. WRONG! The tour is thorough, extensive and informative without being boring, and the guide runs you through pretty much everything. Then the show, well breathtaking doesn't do it justice! You get to see everything, doma vaquera, doma clasica, the foals, the stud, the mares...heaven! And at the end of the show you even get a glass of sherry, sweet or dry :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mmmmmmmmmaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeguada de L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Yeguada de la Cartuja, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comment.
It is very helpfull for our team to get the feedback from our visitors to keep improving our visit and show.
Best regards,
Yeguada de la Cartuja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Toscana, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Gorgeous, human, natural. It must be seen!!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

There is a moment in the show when the little baby horses await and then their mother-horses arrive. In a few seconds they start looking for each other and each baby horse is nursed by its mother. This is the most beautiful moment I live every time I visit Jerez.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alfonso-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of the best days out ever!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I am not a horse rider but have always admire the beauty, grace and brains of these wonderful animals. All were evident in the fantastic performance in the one hour show. I actually found it very moving. We were shown round the stud by a lady who spoke excellent English and the pride and care were obvious. There were tours that started ten minutes apart in all languages and we were given a glass of sherry at the end. The horses were stunning and any real horse lover would be in heaven. A great day out for all ages as you get to be really 'up close and personal' with the horses. I was sorry when it was over. There is a fee to get in but not expensive and well worth it. Don't miss this if you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yeguada de la Cartuja also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Yeguada de la Cartuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing