We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and simple”
Review of Nuevo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nuevo Hotel
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Stayed here for four nights in April. It's a simple place with clean rooms in a beautiful building. The rooms have heating and A/C, some have the tiniest balconies, and the location is very central.

I paid 40 Euros a night for a double bedroom/single use, including breakfast. Breakfast is a couple of bits of toast and cereal, which is fine for a gentle start to the day.

Although I tried to book via email, you may find it easiest to simply telephone - they speak English - no deposit required. Parking is in the Plaza Arenal underground garage at E12.50/24 hours, or you can park on the street outside between 8pm and 9am (if you can find a space).

If ever there was a city for satnav, this is it!

Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Nuevo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2008

Located on Calle Caballeros, a small side street off of the Plaza Arenal and within walking distance of pretty much every attraction (& the bodegas), the Nuevo Hotel offers cheap but above average accommodations. Staff were friendly and spoke varying degrees of English. The hotel is a refurbished palace with a central atrium/gallery. Rooms are not huge or extravagantly decorated but have high ceilings and basic furniture but gets extra points for its abundance of hot water. In the winter (when we were there) all rooms had heating (yeah!).

Winter prices were 25 euros (inc. breakfast) for a single and 40 (inc. breakfast) for a double. Prices, as posted, are significantly higher during the high season. Having said that, the rates we paid were lower than the posted winter rates.

We wouldn't hesitate to book at the Nuevo again.

www.nuevohotel.com

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThisCatsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We stopped at the Nuevo for 14 nights from late August into September and found it to be excellent. OK, it doesn't have the bells and whistles of a big hotel but you will not be disappointed if you stay here. Don't worry about the one star! A tastefully converted merchants house, retaining most of the original features and character but comfortable and very friendly. Breakfast is typically Spanish - bread/toast, orange juice and strong coffee. Literally 2 minutes walk from Plaza del Arenal (a major square in Jerez) and the main shopping areas/restaurants. At 42 Euros a night bed and breakfast for two, a bargain as well. Thoroughly recommended - we will stay here again as/when we return to Jerez. Enjoy.

Website has a video clip worth viewing:
[--]

Stayed: August 2007
6  Thank NickEastYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

This hotel is a great budget option in Jerez. We paid 50 euro for a double room with breakfast in August (I believe the prices are lower at other times) though we weren't able to stay for the breakfast as we had an early bus to catch and breakfast doesn't start until 8:30am. It is located in a renonvated old house and is a real step up from the 'shoestring budget' type hostals. The room was large with a comfortable bed and decent bathroom. The location is brilliant - 2min walk from the main square and around 10 minutes from the bus and train stations. A taxi from the airport costs 14 euro.

All in all great value and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

Great value for money, clean rooms adequately furnished and within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank grahamrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

MY wife & I stayed at the Nuevo Hotel for two nights recently and were very pleasantly surprised at the great location and perfectly adequate accommodation at such a reasonable price (EUR38 per room per night !).

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is really well located, no more than 200m from the town's main square, Plaza Arenal (which is now re-opened after its 12 month facelift). The hotel itself is in a former typical Jerez townhouse from the 19th century (I'd guess !) and has a lovely authentic feeling to it as they haven't gutted and refurbed it, just reorganised it into a series of hotel rooms. Our room (305) was perfectly adequate; sure the furnishings weren't straight out of a 5* business hotel, but they were all good enough: the bed was comfortable, the TV & air-con worked fine, the wardrobe was adequate and the bathroom was clean and 'fit for purpose' (even with a bidet which I always find useful for washing stinky feet after a day traipsing around town !!!!).

The only time this hotel hikes its prices is during the Feria de Caballos (mid May) and the Moto GP (end March this year). Otherwise at EUR38 per room per night, you can't complain !!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank El_Sueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Northants - Uk
16
Reviewed 11 July 2006

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of July. We found the room we had to be both large, clean, and perfectly adequate for a short stay. The room had a large bathroom, air con, and more importantly shutters over the windows which kept the room both dark and cool in the 35 degree heat.

Breakfast cost 4 euros per/person and was really nice. Cereals / Roll with ham and cheese/ Jams / Coffee / juice etc.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

We were really impressed with the location of this hotel - 10 minutes walk to the middle of the town. Loads of bars/tapas/sherry to sample.

We also took the train to Cadiz for the day - what a beautiful Town. 4 euros per person return.

Would definitely stay at Neuvo again.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
903 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
#8 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Coloso
El Coloso
#18 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#14 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Avenida Jerez
NH Avenida Jerez
#10 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuevo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuevo Hotel

Address: C/ Caballeros 23, Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: £32 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Nuevo Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nuevo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing