We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low cost accommodation but feeling a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nuevo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nuevo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
South of England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Low cost accommodation but feeling a bit tired”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

So much about this hotel is right - good central location, fantastic historic building (it was built as a Merchant's mansion and has been a hotel for over a hundred years) with wonderful original features, and passionate owners. But it's feeling tired. The room we had at the front of the building was small, with basic furnishing and only had a 4 foot 6 inch double bed. The bed was also rather tired and sagged in the middle making it really difficult for two people to sleep. We had a terrible night's rest as a result. The bathroom was basic (clearly dating from the 70's with the powder blue suite) but clean and functional. Breakfast was just about adequate (cereal, toast, coffee). Overall the price (€40 for a Friday night stay) reflected the basic nature of the offering. We really wanted it to be a better experience and had looked forward to staying here based on the recommendations and the historic nature of the building and it's story. Had we had a 5 foot bed that didn't sag we probably would have been totally positive...but a hotel is fundamentally about getting a good night's sleep, and this time, we weren't able to. Perhaps other rooms in the hotel have bigger beds??

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a 5 foot bed or perhaps twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    52
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
11
50
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A rather old-fashioned small hotel but in a very convenient location close to the town centre. The foyer and open galleried stairwell have some charm. There was a friendly and helpful receptionist who spoke good English.

Our room was pretty basic but clean and fine for a short stay. Being on the front there was some traffic noise. Breakfast was pretty basic too. However I rate this an overall "Very Good" as it was great value and so well located.

If you have an hour or two to spare do go and visit the Alcazar 12th century fortress about 5 mins walk from the hotel. Really well preserved, with some interesting exhibits and good views from the ramparts. Well worth the €5 entry fee.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Spent a couple of nights here. Very spacious hotel and well located. We were looking for somewhere with a bit more atmosphere so maybe this Hotel suits the travellers looking for more of a quitter night. Staff were very helpful and we got a rather large room for the budget price paidt - ensuite, air con/heating and top notch cleanliness! We saw Jerez in about half a day, lot's of places to eat out and drink but not much else than to walk around. Buses and trains from the airport stop at 19:20 so you HAVE to get a taxi but it's pretty well connected by reasonably prices trains to Sevilla and Cadiz, which are most definitely worth dedicating whole days to.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Nuevo Hotel was a good budget option for a group of us (friends in their 40s!) during March of 2013. The location is superb - seconds away from the main town square. The building is spotless and has a lot of character, considering that it's a budget option. The communal areas are very nice - it's easy to see that this was once a very fine Andalusian house. Yes the rooms are dated and basic, but given the OUTSTANDING value, the cleanliness and the fact that you have an en-suite, wifi and air conditioning, who would ever complain?! For this amount of money I can live with a turquoise bathroom suite! As for Jerez. Hmmmm, well it's pretty and friendly. Not much of a tourist infrastructure and restaurants seemed to shut after 9.30. I'm a huge fan of Granada, and whereas I liked Jerez, it was far too quiet for my liking. That said, the train service to neighbouring Cadiz is ok!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aggcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed in Jerez in Nuevo Hotel and this stay is such a beautiful memory. The hotel is situated right in the heart of Jerez and in this hotel you will find wonderful people always there to help you.
My room was very comfortable,loved it! I was told that many bullfighters and flamenco dancers have lived in Nuevo hotel over the years and I understand why. This place has great atmosphere! And Jerez is a wonderful place to visit. I felt like being in a novel because I met so many interesting people there, breakfast is a good opportunity to meet new friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bustourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Nuevo is ideally situated in a small narrow street in the old city, a couple of minutes walk from the main square of Jerez. From the moment you walk into the atrium / foyer of this small hotel, you'll fall in love with it. It has an efficient lift and is squeaky clean, the rooms are cute with beautiful traditionaly tiled bathroom. Wi fi is free and breakfast an extra 3 euros p/p. Would definetly stay here again.
There are plenty of small bars serving tapas nearby and lots of restaurants in the square, good for people watching. I can recommend the Tio Pepe tour 25 euros for 2, extra if youw ant tapas with your wine tasting. Its only a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pambicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford,MA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Nuevo in April for two nights and would have happily stayed longer. The hotel is in a lovely old building and as other reviews have said, has much charm, is comfortable and is an excellent value. The staff was helpful and went above and beyond to suggest great places nearby for Tapas or the Meson de l'Asador for a very good grilled meat-meat-meat dinner. We lucked out and had room 208 which is a bit like sleeping the in Alhambra... a riot of tiles and Mudejar style ceilings. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. My only problem was getting my wifi to work. It just wouldn't. But that is a minor cavil. The hotel's location is very convenient in the old town (once you find it) and once you stow your car on the street you can walk just about everywhere except the outlying Sherry Bodegas. One other note, we visited the Cartuxa Monastery just outside Jerez towards Cadiz which was a gorgeous 15th century monastery. We happened into a magical 5:30 Sunday afternoon service which was sung and chanted by the nuns... if this is your cup of tea definitely check this out. Jerez is fun and too little known in a region packed with great places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#14 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
#11 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#13 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuevo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuevo Hotel

Property: Nuevo Hotel
Address: C/ Caballeros 23, Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Nuevo Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nuevo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing