We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place with at least one remarkable disadvantage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
243 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“An excellent place with at least one remarkable disadvantage”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Having seen the reviews of this hotel at the booking.com website, I allowed my expectations to soar. Indeed, the first impression of the hotel (entrance, reception area, common space, hallways) confirmed the excellent reviews: all very elegant, arranged with taste and the right feeling for beauty and comfort.
The room was also comfortable with a big bathroom like you would like to have for taking a rest after a tiresome day of visiting the city. However, here the first weakness came up. The room I was given did not have a proper window. Yes, it did have one but onto a small space (looking like a big basin) cornered by 4 walls around it hence almost no daylight and absolutely no view, whatsoever.
The biggest surprise came, however, in the breakfast. Normally, you would expect from such a hotel a orgy of varied food in form of a buftef breakfast. Here nothing of this kind! You are serviced by the waiter who brings you: 4 slices of ham, 3 tiny pots of: marmelade, butter and something else (i.e. some paste), 2 yoghurts, several slices of bread (toasted), 2 glasses of orange juice and a cup of tea or coffee at your wish. Have I forgotten anything? - I don't think so. By the way, all I mentioned above is obviously for TWO persons. Perfect for those who are on a diet, isn't it? But why necessarily here, in a 4star establishment...???
To sum up: this hotel is really a very good one, if you forget the peculiar breakfast customs. It will allow you to spend a nice and comfortable time downtown, right in the city centre and close to all major attractions (churches, cathedral, shopping zones...). Thus, despite its flaws, it is worth a serious consideration.

Room Tip: The room no 8 rather not the best one... I don't know of the others.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vannegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    110
    35
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
217
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Palacio Garvey is very conveniently located just 5 minutes walk from the business district of Jerez and about 20-25 minutes from the Real Escuela and several bodegas. It is on a small plaze with several fun tapas bars. The hotel itself is an attractive old building updated with modern art, some good, some amusing, some just plain flashy. Nice staff, and beautifully served breakfasts with just the right amount of food.

Room Tip: Roomm 6 is an oddly shaped room that seems to be smaller than others in the hotel, though its bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Palacio Garvey really feels like a palace, from the wide sweeping staircase, the large public areas and the modern art all over ... very different and very funky! The staff were really welcoming and showed us to the parking space at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was the authentic Spanish type which we enjoyed, and the made fresh coffee for us. Rooms were large and comfortable and the bathroom of our room was enormous (the biggest hotel bathroom I have ever seen). Hotel is in an excellent location right near the main boulevard (good shopping and lots of places to eat & drink). We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant so can't comment on that. Jerez itself was interesting - the Equestrian School is a MUST DO for anyone visiting Jerez. We also visited Sandeman Bodega - very very good tour and great tastings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel Palacio Garvey in Jerez Spain was very comfortable and the staff very helpful.One thing to remember is that there are only 16 rooms so necessary to book.Also the top floor does not have a lift so if you have heavy bags be ware.The city of Jerez is great,the sights sounds and food experience is wonderful. The horse show at the equestrian school is a must,very professional.Of course TAPAS must do,try all sorts its tasty.

Room Tip: Pick the first floor if you are elderly or have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

If you are in jerez,don't think about staying anywhere else. This is the perfect combination of lovely staff, fantastic rooms and beautifully decorated areas. Add THE location & you cannot go wrong.

Thank you Garvey, don't change, you offer a brilliant package.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. No rooms are near the lift, although there is a second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLAT1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We hadn't anticipated such a lovely hotel in a perfect location. All the staff were really helpful and provided us with a private parking place (essential in Jerez). After reading a few reviews we expected a poor breakfast but were treated magniciently - lovely selection on our table and brought anything we requested with first class service. We wanted to try other restaurants in the evening, but the Hotel's own restaurant looked excellent. Near to all the sights including the Royal School of Equestrian Art and the Bodegas as well as the old town, so only used the car on leaving. Amazing value for a first class service.

Room Tip: Its up a side road so no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I believe this is a great hotel, and a great place to stay when visiting Jeref. I have seen many reviews across Trip Advisor questioning "4 star hotel" ratings - and I believe that people are being a bit unrealistic with respect to what they believe they will receive for their money. We paid $100 USD for this hotel room, and received FAR more than $100 USD worth of hotel.

This was a great hotel - great service, great rooms, great atmosphere. We have a young daughter who was taking a nap and my wife and I decided to go to breakfast in shifts so our daughter could nap; as soon as the staff realized what we were doing they sent my wife back to our room and brought our breakfast; which was amazing (no charge or tip; just great service). This is indicative of how they treat their guests.

Our room was quite large and had a nice view of the small square in front of the hotel, very well decorated with a large amount of public space, which gives you a choice of relaxing in your room or in the public areas.

We truly enjoyed the breakfast as well, expertly executed local breakfast. It is different than a traditional American / British breakfast, but more than adequate, thoughtfully prepared and in my opinion quite filling.

We received amazing dinner recommendations from the concierge and good advice about tourist activities in the city. In summation, this is a beautiful hotel that deserves its excellent rating.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#6 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#9 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Garvey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Garvey Hotel

Property: Palacio Garvey Hotel
Address: Calle Torneria 24, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Garvey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio Garvey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing