We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Palacio Garvey for only one night and had a great time. The service was great. All the staff were polite and very friendly. Location is perfect, located at very heart of town, close of many of the city attractions, restaurants and bars. Brekfast was well prepared and very good. Parking was available at the hotel for 12 Euro per day.
Would definitely stay there again if ever visiting Jerez, but not in room No. 8.
The room No.8 was dark, with no view and with bad smell.

Room Tip: The room No.8 was dark, with no view and with bad smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bukva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    110
    35
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
217
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It is impossible to give five stars to a hotel that offered a bedroom that was supposed to have an internal view of a patio but, instead, had a frosted window in the bedroom (that did not open), and a window in the bathroom that overlooked a wall, which was situated less than a meter from the bathroom window, offering virtually no light.

For those that choose to stay at the Palacio, the room number is 8. Not only that, but the lighting in the room was so poor that it was impossible for elderly eyes such as mine to even read the instructions on how to set the safe pass code, and how to open and close the darned thing once you have worked out how to enter the code!

That’s the bad news. The remainder is good news! The room was a decent size, the bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and well lit, the maintenance man responded immediately to show us how to operate the safe, and the light deficiency in the bedroom was resolved as soon as I mentioned it at reception.

Not only that, but the hotel itself is an old palace, quirky in decor, but immaculately clean throughout. The staff were all extremely pleasant and Carmen, the lady on reception for a large part of our stay, was particularly helpful.

I have left the best to the last. The location of the hotel and the car parking. The hotel lies in the old town, close to Calle Larga and overlooking the Plaza Rafael Rivero (at least some of the rooms overlook the Plaza, not ours!). Parking at €11 per night might seem a bit pushy, but it is such a relief to have a hotel, right in the old part of the city, that offers safe, on-sight parking, where you can forget about your car for a couple of days and do everything on foot.

We were absolutely loaded as this was our final stop in a month long tour of parts of Spain and a little bit of south west France. We cleared everything off the back seats, leaving nothing in view, but the boot was full to bursting, so a secure garage was on top of our “have to have” list.

We did not have dinner in the hotel on either night, but breakfast was included. Not a standard buffet breakfast; a selection of toasts, croissants, ham, cheese, jams, fresh orange juice was tastefully laid out on the table by a smiling, well mannered waiter, who also offered additional charcuterie or eggs, should you want them. Just what the doctor ordered after a few Parador cooked breakfasts on the way down from the north of Spain!

Once we had sorted out the room, everything was great; I would certainly recommend the hotel. We live in southern Spain so will certainly be visiting Jerez again and, providing the rates are as good as on this visit, the Palacio Garvey will be our chosen hotel. We like to dump the car and wander round for a couple of days.

If Jerez is just a base, and you prefer to spend your time driving round the area, then an out of town hotel might suit you better; with the best will in the world, finding the Palacio Garvey isn’t that easy – at least not for those that navigate by maps, street plans and directions from petrol stations! We haven’t got round to using satellite navigation and, at our age, we probably never will.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked a Junior Suite for 2 nights b&b.Wonderful experience.Delightful ambience,helpful,kind staff.Excellent breakfast served,yes you read that correctly,SERVED at your table.
Had dinner on one evening.There was a wedding on in the garden & the staff was busy.No problem.Seated immediately and I suspect given one or two of the wedding canapés as an amouse bouche.I suggest you give the restaurant a try if you've had an exhausting day and can't face the atmosphere of the town.The food and service we received was the equal to that of highly rated restaurants on Tripadvisor,without the hassle.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues,better NOT book a junior suite.There are 20+ winding steps up to the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerez
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Beautifully appointed hotel with helpful staff. Centrally located. Be careful not to park in the street. You will be fined! Ask the concierge about parking.If you get a fine find a way to pay it within an hour and it will be annulled.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a gem of a hotel in the heart of Jerez - and not noisy. We stayed here with my grown up children and elderly parents in law - we all agreed it was a fantastic overnight stop and great value for money. Originally we planned to stay in Cadiz but fortunately my daughter found this and the rooms were large and very comfortable - and considerably better value than Cadiz. Strongly recommended - and that you consider seeing the Andalusian Horse show and one of the sherry houses while in Jerez.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Spain and cannot recommend it enough. This wonderful boutiquehotel is a beautifully restored mansion decorated with quirky modern art touches. We stayed in a suite on the third floor which was just amazing. The lift only goes to the 2nd floor so you do have to "hike" up the marble stair case to the 3rd floor but it is only one flight of stairs and is worth it. The suite was large, beautifully decorated in an art nouveau style with sitting area and massive bathroom with a great shower over a jacuzzi bath tub. The suite also had a large terrace the length of the room with lovely views. Breakfast in the lovely restaurant was also great - freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee, some yoghurt, fruit and a selection of bread and pastries.

The hotel is perfectly located in the old town within walking distance of some of the city's best tapas and sherry bars and staff were so extremely friendly and helpful in recommending bars and places to visit.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel in the heart of the old town with a luxurious feel and "modern" decor, then this is the perfect choice. We absolutely loved it and cannot fault the hotel in any way whatsoever! Just perfect!

Room Tip: We would recommend a suite - much bigger than expected and great terrace...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A lovely old building in a central location. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent. The room was nice and clean.
One word of warning: ón the second floor the walls are apparently very thin. We could hear our neighbours snoring away (and probably they us):

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor not well soundproofed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swetaketu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#6 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#9 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Garvey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Garvey Hotel

Property: Palacio Garvey Hotel
Address: Calle Torneria 24, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Garvey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio Garvey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing