We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people - 5 stars except that the room smelled a bit funny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great people - 5 stars except that the room smelled a bit funny”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

I made a reservation with Monica over the phone and when we checked in, she remembered our telephone conversation. They provided great service, but weren't in our faces. When we checked out, we had to run to catch the train and she was very helpful and concerned to wrap sandwiches for us to go. The breakfast was GREAT, I really wished that we could have lingered over it more. We also had the tasting menu for dinner in the patio in the back of the hotel, which was mostly delicious. The waiter was nice and chatted with us a bit. I'd recommend it for a nice summer evening.

The hotel has a lot cool common lounge areas. I never saw anyone actually lounging around, but if we were there for a longer stay, I probably would have. Since we were there in July when it was incredible HOT and, being 7 months pregnant, I ended up taking long siestas every afternoon!

The room itself had nice, comfortable furnishings overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom had a great fresh feeling, and I was thinking that I'd like to have my own bathroom at home like this. We ended up in a smaller room, I think it was #14, which was pretty narrow so it felt a bit cramped. The only thing was that the room had a weird smell. I can't remember exactly what it was like ... maybe a strange mixture of leather and sewage. It was a pretty faint smell, but there it was.

Nearby the hotel was a nice little helado shop. Overall we loved the hotel, and I'd stay there again, but just make sure to get a different, larger room.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkkbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    106
    35
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
215
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Everything about this hotel was lovely apart from the breakfast. Unusual and not my cup of tea at all. Only other negative was finding the place. Jerez is not the easiest of places to drive round with one-way streets and pedestrianised roads. Even a map didn't help once getting into the City from Jerez Airport. Paying to park at the hotel is a bit of a liberty as well £12 per day!!!
Rooms spotless, decor exceptional, staff lovely and would definitely go back there if visiting the city again.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The hotel is a the perfect place for a stay in Jerez. A converted sherry baron's palacio overlooking a characterful little square, whilst just around the corner from the main shopping area.
Friendly and welcoming with a wonderful "patio" (quadrangle open to the sky but feeling like a cool garden with greenery and elegant outdoor furniture)
The breakfast (no buffet - hurray!) was wonderful and served to your table in little tastings of local speicalities.
A great stop giving the true feel of Jerez.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We loved this hotel. We got a deal on a suite from expedia. It's in amazing converted mansion with incredibly high ceilings on a cute plaza right around the corner from the main drag. The staff was super friendly walking us to the parking lot out back when we couldn't find it and giving us a glass of sherry upon arrival.

My only complaint was that there wasn't a shower - only a slippery claw foot tub with a shower nozzle. Annoying. We stayed in 5 hotels during our trip through Spain and this was the only place without a shower. I think they might have rooms with showers, but maybe you have to make a special request.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scrunchybaby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Charming hotel, perfectly located in the beautiful old town of Jerez. Loved the decor! Very different, modern and arty. Paintings everywhere! Modernist but comfortable furniture. Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely small balcony looking onto the brakfast terrace. We did not have dinner at the hotel, however breakfast was delicious and superbly presented. Nice attention to detail. The staff is charming and very helpful. Will defenitely go back again!

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — the tiling and floor finishes in the bathroom. a little rough around the edges when you look close up.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrunchybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valby, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

What a wonderful hotel. The Palacio Garvey really exceeded any expectations I had. The design is beautiful, the rooms stunning, service impeccable and location unbeatable.

We were received by the very friendly front desk staff and offered a cold and crisp glass of sherry. Nice touch.

The waiter in the restaurant was perfect - courteous, friendly and professional.

If you're ever going to Jerez then this is where you want to stay

  • Liked — Beautiful decoration and perfect service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValbyJenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerez spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Fabulous experience from start to finish,as a very fussy traveller who has stayed all over the world in many five star hotels I would definately rate this hotel as exceptional. the standard and cleanliness of the room,the helpful and most welcoming staff and the lovely breakfast all added to the charm of this small but magnificent hotel. we will be back very soon.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewJerezSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
791 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#6 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
877 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#8 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Garvey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Garvey Hotel

Property: Palacio Garvey Hotel
Address: Calle Torneria 24, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Garvey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio Garvey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing