We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful host”
Review of La Fonda Barranco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Fonda Barranco
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful host”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at La Fonda in October 2011 (this review is long overdue). David was a wonderful host. I happened to get the flu during our trip and was very sick when we arrived. David went above and beyond, walking into town with my wife to get some medicine and helped translate and convince a restaurant to take their plates to-go with a promise that we'd return them the next day.

We had a delicious breakfast each morning and got some great recommendations on sights and restaurants. The building itself was beautiful and the room very comfortable. We'll definitely stay there again the next time we visit Jerez.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    51
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
181
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in the old town, a beautiful building and luxurious rooms. However two things stood out for us. Firstly David's Irish tea (the best tea we had tasted since leaving Yorkshire). But also his patient help and advice about restaurants, tapas bars and general tips on how to get by in Jerez.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

La Fonda Barranco is the perfect place to stay if you are in Jerez. It is an old house - in the heart of the Old Town - lovingly restored by David the owner. It is full of character and really feels like Jerez.

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the town with a great choice of bars and good reasonably priced restaurants, but is amazingly quiet at night.

Davis is extremely helpful and will point you in the right direction for everything you need. We felt more like friends than hotel guests by the time we left.

We happened to be there in Semana Santa ( Easter ) week when the whole town turns out every evening to see the processions ( which are amazing ) and also to meet up and have a good time. If you get a chance to go then I would really recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be individual ( which is nice ) so suggest you talk to David about your prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrencefx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

What a pleasure. Couldn't have found a better place for our 4 days in Jerez. Perfect location, perfect accommodation and perfect host. David is great, never intruding but always there when we needed him. Has great tips on where to eat and places to see, not only for Jerez but for Seville where we went to after out stay.
We were lucky to have the place basically to ourselves. The rooms are spectacular and the breakfast on the terrace was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We spent three nights at La Fonda Barranco and enjoyed it so much we came back for a fourth night later that week before leaving Spain. The glowing reviews we read here are absolutely accurate. David, the owner, does everything he can to make you feel at home in his beautifully restored B&B. He walked us around town to point out the best restaurants, arranged bodega visits, suggested sightseeing itineraries, and wrote down a list of vegetarian dishes for me to try while dining out. He could not have been more gracious and welcoming. We truly felt as though we were staying with a friend, and indeed enjoyed David's company as we would that of a good friend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Every hotel from now on will be compared to my stay at La Fonda Barranco. The hotel itself is charming decorated authenically and beautifully. The owner, David, was the most perfect host. Staying there you feel as thought you are visiting a close friend or attending a dinner party. David, goes out of his way to make sure guests know where they are going, see the most interesting sites of Jerez, eat at fabulous restaurants and have a good time in Jerez. Every detail of our stay was well taken care of by David. We had breakfast when it suited the group best and wine available after a long day of exploring Jerez. We travelled as a group of wmen taking over this boutique hotel. I know all of us left feeling like we made a friend! Thank you Daivd!!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask David for recommendations on sites and restaurants in Jerez and surrounding areas. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Our group of 13 women took over this small chic bed and breakfast for 3 nights - and - it felt like "our" home! The proprietor made sure that we were comfortable - every little detail was just right - he had extra power convertors, coffee in the evening that we arrived jet lagged, water bottles by our beds and extras as needed, wine in the lobby if we wanted, suggestions for the best places in town, and walked us to dinner one night where he insisted we try! Jerez would not have been the same without him!!! Thank you for our lovely stay!!! The Inn is beautiful to every last detail you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Palacio Garvey Hotel
#7 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#6 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda Barranco

Property: La Fonda Barranco
Address: Calle Barranco 12, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fonda Barranco 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Barranco is a Typical old merchant's house in the heart of Historic Jerez. Built on an ancient site in the oldest part of the Islamic city. The house mostly dates from 1865, but parts of it predate by several centuries. Each room is subtly different and opens on to the central marble floored and plant filled atrium. Although mantaining all the characteristic features of the original building, all rooms have moderns amenities such as air conditioning and wifi internet access. We also have a room adapted for clients with special needs. Breakfast is served on our roof terrace with the magnificent view of the Cathedral. With only 8 rooms and 2 studios La Fonda mantains the ambience of a private home. For this reason it's particularly suitable for group booking, having the feel of an exclusive house party. We have a non smoking policy through out La Fonda, however smoking is permitted in the upper open air terrace area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fonda Barranco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda Barranco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing