We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect spot”
Review of La Fonda Barranco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fonda Barranco
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the perfect spot”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

La Fonda is just right. It was everything we were looking for: not too big or touristy, lovely rooms and amenities, very clean, perfect location, near easy parking and a good price. Then it exceeded our expectations because David's warm and generous hospitality, superb recommendations and interesting conversation. Also, La Fonda is a charming place -- candles lit in the pretty courtyard...dappled sunlight on the roof terrace for breakfast. We were very happy there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    54
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
186
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

La Fonda is charming, it is decorated in a stylish, elegant way in keeping with the character of the building, and that of Jerez., and has a cool, quiet courtyard.
The rooms are very comfortable with air conditioning if needed. The bathroom had a good shower with decent size towels and nice quality toiletries.
Breakfast is simple and pleasant (fruit, yoghurt, toast, preserves) on the shaded rooftop terrace with decent tea and coffee.
David, the owner, is very accommodating indeed, has great recommendations and really is in the right business as made us feel perfectly relaxed the moment we entered the building.
Jerez is a beautiful city with great food and wine, places to visit if you want to -and even more places to sit and watch the world go by if you don't want to do anything but relax.
Albala, a tapas bar/restaurant, just off the main square is certainly worth a visit as the food is beautiful and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A lovely hotel, beautifully decorated and comfortable. David was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and served delicious breakfasts. A real treat. Everything worked and there was plenty of hot water. Rooms looking into the courtyard so lovely and cool at all times, and very quiet. I would definitely stay there again, this is exactly the sort of hotel we like. Well run, helpful with comfortable beds. We were two couples, all in our 60s and I've been known to be fussy..

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor and they were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailR057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hands down the best place I have ever stayed, and its all down to the owner David's unique take on customer service. That's not to say the rooms and hotel itself is not memorable, in fact they are just brimming with character and each room is uniquely decorated. We had problems with our flight and were late arriving, we were exhausted after the delayed flight and drive and David was so kind as to meet us just as we arrived into Jerez and guide us through the narrow streets to the hotel where he had arranged for a late breakfast. We spent 3 unforgettable nights in La Fonda and David's restaurant recommendations were perfect, as to were his recommendations on what to do in Jerez, which included two wonderfully relaxing hours in Hammam Andalusi Arabic Baths. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. David is an amazing host.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishskibunny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had three nights here in March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had chosen it because of the reviews here on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. It is a beautiful house and David was kind, attentive and charming and was so helpful in recommending where to eat and where to visit. We would definitely return and recommend it unreservedly. The location is very good and although only minutes from the centre it is quiet and peaceful. To return in the evening after eating to a candle-lit house was a lovely touch. Hope to go back when weather a little warmer and use the roof terrace.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastanglia111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at La Fonda in October 2011 (this review is long overdue). David was a wonderful host. I happened to get the flu during our trip and was very sick when we arrived. David went above and beyond, walking into town with my wife to get some medicine and helped translate and convince a restaurant to take their plates to-go with a promise that we'd return them the next day.

We had a delicious breakfast each morning and got some great recommendations on sights and restaurants. The building itself was beautiful and the room very comfortable. We'll definitely stay there again the next time we visit Jerez.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in the old town, a beautiful building and luxurious rooms. However two things stood out for us. Firstly David's Irish tea (the best tea we had tasted since leaving Yorkshire). But also his patient help and advice about restaurants, tapas bars and general tips on how to get by in Jerez.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#6 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#13 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Palacio Garvey Hotel
#8 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda Barranco

Property: La Fonda Barranco
Address: Calle Barranco 12, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fonda Barranco 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Barranco is a Typical old merchant's house in the heart of Historic Jerez. Built on an ancient site in the oldest part of the Islamic city. The house mostly dates from 1865, but parts of it predate by several centuries. Each room is subtly different and opens on to the central marble floored and plant filled atrium. Although mantaining all the characteristic features of the original building, all rooms have moderns amenities such as air conditioning and wifi internet access. We also have a room adapted for clients with special needs. Breakfast is served on our roof terrace with the magnificent view of the Cathedral. With only 8 rooms and 2 studios La Fonda mantains the ambience of a private home. For this reason it's particularly suitable for group booking, having the feel of an exclusive house party. We have a non smoking policy through out La Fonda, however smoking is permitted in the upper open air terrace area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Fonda Barranco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda Barranco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing