We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class host”
Review of La Fonda Barranco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fonda Barranco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a lovely small hotel close to the town centre. We arrived around 10 pm but David, the owner, still took us on a quick tour of the town pointing out his recommendations of restaurants and bars and other places of interest. He was always happy to offer suggestions of places to visit both in Jerez and the surrounding region. He was genuinely interested in you getting the most out of your visit to this part of Spain, and chatted to us over breakfast every morning about what we had planned for the day ahead.You could not get a friendlier or more hospitable host. We hope to return to Jerez and La Fonda Barranco in the near future. Apologies for the delay in writing this review.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tottiescone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Thus was our third visit to Jerez (with friends) staying at La Fonda Barranco. As before David was the consummate host giving excellent recommendations on the best places to eat and on the best of the local wines. The Inn is a beautiful old merchants house restored by David in the Moorish style. David also arranged for us to visit the 'Bodega Traditional ' which is not to be missed on a visit to Jerez. Without Davids friendliness, thoughtfulness and attention to detail our visits would not have been as enjoyable. We will definitely be back!
Mary and Neil

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandN5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

First of all you have to get your expectations right. This is effectively a 'pension' / B&B. Facilities are limited, there's no restaurant and it's small. Your first view from the street isn't great - a small terrace fronting onto the street. And a lot of the time there are no staff available.
If you can cope with all of that, it's brilliant. Clean, cool, simply decorated, it looks good. Facilities are basic as I said, but excellent. Comfortable bed, excellent bathroom, nice courtyard. Breakfast is simple but good - muesli, fruit, toast and tea / coffee.
So why 5 stars? One word - David. Your host is simply brilliant. What he doesn't know about Jerez & Cadiz isn't worth knowing. What he does know most certainly is.
An example. We went to Cadiz by train. Jerez station is really pretty and Marg said so when we got back - 'the tiling is beautiful!'. And David responded - 'ah yes, it (the station) was designed by Gustav Eiffel'. ... !!! Every morning he had new information about what was going on & was worth going to see. Effectively a free, expert tour guide. And all done with wit, charm & humour. I hope he's suitably embarassed when he reads this!
If you're going to Jerez and you want to understand the region, this is the place to stay. Turn that dial up to 11.

Room Tip: We chose a room away from the front & it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dxbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

On arrival the owner David informed me that he had put me in a double room instead of the single room that I had ordered - thanks! The room was nice and big, but unfortunately the air condition was broke so there was only a fan but no cooling. One day I only had lukewarm water for my shower. The biggest criticism was the noise from the street. my room was on first floor and there is traffic now and then outside. Also drunken people passing in the middle of the night. The windows are thin, old fashioned and in poor condition, so I woke up now and then even though I slept with earplugs. David also gave me a map where he marked the restaurants that he recommended and took me out to show me around in the city. The hotel is only five minutes walk from the center. There is a lovely sunny roof terrace with a part in the shade if You had enough.
Breaskfast is served here and it is nice. Despite the noisy room and disturbed sleep, it is overshadowed by the owner, David, who is the biggest asset in the hotel, always available for answering questions and giving recommendations. David, fix the windows and You have a winner...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had 6 perfect nights in the top 'apartment' of a beautifully restored traditional courtyard house. The small hotel is perfectly positioned in a quiet part of the old town about 5 minutes walk from the centre. Despite the heat, the rooms were airy and comfortable and breakfast, served on the rooftop terrace, gave a perfect start to the day. David the owner, could not have been more helpful, providing a wealth of reliable information including the best bodegas, tapas bars and restaurants. We have never experienced a more helpful host, taxis were arranged, misplaced sunglasses rescued and all the history and gossip needed to get the most out of our stay. A memorable experience - we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was my third stay in La Fonda, booked this time with the benefit of looking around other TripAdvisor favourites the week before we were due to stay. It is the perfect small hotel providing exceptional service by David, from advice on nearby beaches, newly opened bars, car hire, the plotted history/architecture of Jerez and the hotel. Really couldn't ask for more; we left feeling as if we'd been invited as guests in his house. Also incredibly grateful to David for letting us leave our bags etc in our room while we had a night in Sanlucar. Absolutely no doubt we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCA635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent 3 nights with David at La Fonda. It was so memorable as he was a charming, wonderful host and guide. The place has a magical Morrocan feel to it with good, clean accommodation and easy parking. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Jerez as David will make sure that you get the best out of the area. We hope to return another day.

Room Tip: There is no pool or Fitness centre which is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#2 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#15 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Asta Regia
Eurostars Asta Regia
#6 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
521 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#7 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda Barranco

Address: Calle Barranco 12, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: £37 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fonda Barranco 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Barranco is a Typical old merchant's house in the heart of Historic Jerez. Built on an ancient site in the oldest part of the Islamic city. The house mostly dates from 1865, but parts of it predate by several centuries. Each room is subtly different and opens on to the central marble floored and plant filled atrium. Although mantaining all the characteristic features of the original building, all rooms have moderns amenities such as air conditioning and wifi internet access. We also have a room adapted for clients with special needs. Breakfast is served on our roof terrace with the magnificent view of the Cathedral. With only 8 rooms and 2 studios La Fonda mantains the ambience of a private home. For this reason it's particularly suitable for group booking, having the feel of an exclusive house party. We have a non smoking policy through out La Fonda, however smoking is permitted in the upper open air terrace area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Fonda Barranco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda Barranco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing