We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing David” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda Barranco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fonda Barranco
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
271 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Missing David”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were the only ones staying at this hotel. Lacked any sort of ambiance. From reading the other reviews it is best to check to see if David will be there. Great location and we loved Jerez. Exceptional bodega tours at Hildalgo and Fernando Di castilla.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    48
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
174
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We went to Jerez for a week end without big expectations, but with the help of the both hotel owners, we experienced un unforgettable visit! Awesome flamenco, great restaurant recommendations! I supposed to know Andalusia but this was absolutely impressive. The hotel itself is furnished in typical Andalusian/Arabian style. It's small and the people make you feel like at home. For sure we will be back soon :-) Hasta la próxima!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marius O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Jerez, in this nice little hotel with the warm welcome by David. The place looks very pleasant, the room are nicely decorated, our room was quiet, and above all, the host is very helpful. He showed us the best places to eat, the best beach, and the best way to get in/out of town by car. By the way, there's a parking facility very close to the hotel.
The hotel is close to the center of Jerez and the cathedral, although in an area with unfortunately quite some abondoned and closed buildings. Despite that, the streets are clean and I felt safe.

Although very good, there's room for improvement:
1) I think the breakfast could be a bit more extensive, maybe including a boiled egg and some choice of ham. The breakfast tables are cosy but a bit too small to have a comfortable, relaxing breakfast.
On the last morning, we had to leave very early to catch the plane, so we couldn't have breakfast, and I would have appreciated a breakfast-package to take away. We didn't ask for it, though. Maybe we should have.
2) Wifi iis not available in the rooms.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor, with windows opening to the patio, was very quiet and had a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had 4 nights in Jerez and thoroughly enjoyed it. La Fonda Barranco is 5 minutes walk from the centre of Jerez and is comfortable, immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean. It's best feature is its owner David who couldn't be more welcoming, friendly and helpful. He guaranteed we got the most out of our visit despite neither of us speaking Spanish. We would recommend La Fonda Barranco to anyone.

Room Tip: We had an internal room rather than one looking over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a lovely small hotel close to the town centre. We arrived around 10 pm but David, the owner, still took us on a quick tour of the town pointing out his recommendations of restaurants and bars and other places of interest. He was always happy to offer suggestions of places to visit both in Jerez and the surrounding region. He was genuinely interested in you getting the most out of your visit to this part of Spain, and chatted to us over breakfast every morning about what we had planned for the day ahead.You could not get a friendlier or more hospitable host. We hope to return to Jerez and La Fonda Barranco in the near future. Apologies for the delay in writing this review.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tottiescone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Thus was our third visit to Jerez (with friends) staying at La Fonda Barranco. As before David was the consummate host giving excellent recommendations on the best places to eat and on the best of the local wines. The Inn is a beautiful old merchants house restored by David in the Moorish style. David also arranged for us to visit the 'Bodega Traditional ' which is not to be missed on a visit to Jerez. Without Davids friendliness, thoughtfulness and attention to detail our visits would not have been as enjoyable. We will definitely be back!
Mary and Neil

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandN5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

First of all you have to get your expectations right. This is effectively a 'pension' / B&B. Facilities are limited, there's no restaurant and it's small. Your first view from the street isn't great - a small terrace fronting onto the street. And a lot of the time there are no staff available.
If you can cope with all of that, it's brilliant. Clean, cool, simply decorated, it looks good. Facilities are basic as I said, but excellent. Comfortable bed, excellent bathroom, nice courtyard. Breakfast is simple but good - muesli, fruit, toast and tea / coffee.
So why 5 stars? One word - David. Your host is simply brilliant. What he doesn't know about Jerez & Cadiz isn't worth knowing. What he does know most certainly is.
An example. We went to Cadiz by train. Jerez station is really pretty and Marg said so when we got back - 'the tiling is beautiful!'. And David responded - 'ah yes, it (the station) was designed by Gustav Eiffel'. ... !!! Every morning he had new information about what was going on & was worth going to see. Effectively a free, expert tour guide. And all done with wit, charm & humour. I hope he's suitably embarassed when he reads this!
If you're going to Jerez and you want to understand the region, this is the place to stay. Turn that dial up to 11.

Room Tip: We chose a room away from the front & it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dxbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Palacio Garvey Hotel
#8 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels Hotel Sherry Park
Hipotels Hotel Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#6 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda Barranco

Property: La Fonda Barranco
Address: Calle Barranco 12, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fonda Barranco 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Barranco is a Typical old merchant's house in the heart of Historic Jerez. Built on an ancient site in the oldest part of the Islamic city. The house mostly dates from 1865, but parts of it predate by several centuries. Each room is subtly different and opens on to the central marble floored and plant filled atrium. Although mantaining all the characteristic features of the original building, all rooms have moderns amenities such as air conditioning and wifi internet access. We also have a room adapted for clients with special needs. Breakfast is served on our roof terrace with the magnificent view of the Cathedral. With only 8 rooms and 2 studios La Fonda mantains the ambience of a private home. For this reason it's particularly suitable for group booking, having the feel of an exclusive house party. We have a non smoking policy through out La Fonda, however smoking is permitted in the upper open air terrace area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Fonda Barranco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda Barranco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing