We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a wonderful position”
Review of La Fonda Barranco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Fonda Barranco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I loved the elegance of La Fonda, a wonderful oasis from the heat of Jerez in August. Rooms are small but delightful, built around a central courtyard, Moorish style, and, after all, how much time do you spend in your hotel room?Attention to detail and the finishing touches were great. Breakfast on the terrace with a view over the rooftops. David, the owner, was a font of local information - every 'steer' he gave us for eating and drinking was just to our taste. I hesitate to rave too much because then he'll be constantly full!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I recently had the pleasure to stay at this wonderful little Moroccon styled riad Bed & Breakfast. The decor is fantastic, very well styled, functional, and spacious. The rooms are comfortable, with much needed air conditioning in the Spanish heat.

Breakfast is a typical Mediterranean affair, with fresh juice, coffee, breads, preserves, etc... But what makes this place so special is the host and local 'guide' David.

David would go out of his way to welcome and guide anyone that's new to the area (come to think of it anywhere in Andalucia). His useful advice on places to eat, things to do and see were invaluable......a real credit to someone in this industry.

We would not hesitate to visit again, and spend a night or two at La Fonda Barranco.

p.s. On David's advice we visited the local Hammam, well worth a trip (5 minutes walk from the B&B)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markrr1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Clean, comfortable and welcoming. We can endorse all the positive comments that led us to book here. Useful local advice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmptynesterWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Booked La Fonda Barranco based on all the reviews and it didn't let us down. David was more than helpful talking us out for coffee and recommending restaurants bars etc for us to try out. Great breakfast on the terrace. Jerez is a great place and La Fonda the perfect small hotel. Go try it out for yourself, it won't disappoint!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senorita26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We spent four wonderful days at La Fonda Barranco. The hotel has a lovely tranquil feel which induces relaxation. It is exceptionally peaceful at night. David Murray is a most gracious host: funny, knowledgeable and attentive to every detail. All of the advise he offered on things to do and places to see turned out to be spot on. I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking to slow down their lives for a few days in a setting that is both authentic and atmospheric.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorcoranWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I was traveling with my husband and our daughter. This was definitely one of, if not our favorite, place we stayed. Very personable, individual attention to each guest. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. In a great location on a quiet street. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We were very pleased with La Fonda Barranco. David was the perfect host and went out of his way to give us tips on how to navigate the city.
Although the rooms were windowless, they were clean, quiet, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
947 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
#9 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#7 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#4 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
1,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#2 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda Barranco

Address: Calle Barranco 12, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: £41 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fonda Barranco 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Barranco is a Typical old merchant's house in the heart of Historic Jerez. Built on an ancient site in the oldest part of the Islamic city. The house mostly dates from 1865, but parts of it predate by several centuries. Each room is subtly different and opens on to the central marble floored and plant filled atrium. Although mantaining all the characteristic features of the original building, all rooms have moderns amenities such as air conditioning and wifi internet access. We also have a room adapted for clients with special needs. Breakfast is served on our roof terrace with the magnificent view of the Cathedral. With only 8 rooms and 2 studios La Fonda mantains the ambience of a private home. For this reason it's particularly suitable for group booking, having the feel of an exclusive house party. We have a non smoking policy through out La Fonda, however smoking is permitted in the upper open air terrace area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Fonda Barranco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda Barranco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing