We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, unhelpful staff, no working safe and a locked minibar!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Hotel Verdi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Verdi
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sabadell
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service, unhelpful staff, no working safe and a locked minibar!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here last weekend for two nights as I was visiting friends in the area. To start with the positives, the hotel was conveniently located, the bed comfortable, bathroom clean and there was always a taxi outside.

However, the decor was tired (which I can forgive) but what I can't forgive is the appalling customer service.

On check-in I was given my room key and told that I would be on the second floor. Nothing more. On check out, I was told that breakfast was included in my room rate. I had missed breakfast for the duration of my stay as it clearly said on my room documentation that breakfast was not included and there would be a charge of 13 euros per day if breakfast was taken at the hotel.

I pointed this out as I paid my bill, and the chap on reception told me that as I was on a deal anyway, he would not be taking off the cost of the breakfasts which I hadn't had. No apology.

At every other hotel where I have stayed and breakfast was included (and even when it was not included...) the check in staff tell you the hours it is served and where. I was given no such information, and this, coupled with the clear indication that 'desayuno' was one of the 'services not included' on my room key folder led me to believe i was not entitled to it. Poor, poor service.

Secondly, my safe did not work in my room. But it did have a minibar. So after a long day out and about, I wanted to get a coke from the minibar. It was locked. Switched on and working, with an enticing list of what treats were inside, but locked. I was about to take a bath, so called reception to enquire how to access the minibar. I was told I needed to go to reception and get a key for it. I was about to have a bath!! I didn't want a coke so badly that I was about to get dressed, trudge down two floors to pick up a key which would give me the privelege of being able to access an overpriced can of coke! (and anyhow, had I gone downstairs, I could have picked up one more cheaply from the lobby vending machine!) There was no offer to bring a key to my room for me. Another fail.

Following my bath, I went to dry my hair - and the hairdryer didn't work. So I called reception (again) to enquire whether they had a spare. I was as there was no housekeeping staff on duty until the morning, so I would have to wait until then! I have never stayed in a hotel which does not have a spare hairdryer - even if they are not provided in the rooms, most have a spare. Unbelievable! I did ask whether there was a spare room that I could use the hairdryer in - but they were fully booked.

So between the world's most unhelpful and uncaring reception staff, the world's most secure minibar, and the world's most unsecure room safe - there is certainly room for improvement at the Gran Hotel Verdi!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    67
    53
    25
    21
See reviews for
17
43
20
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stay in this hotel 3 nights
The person on reception was the most rudest and ignorant person i have ever met in my entire life.His name is Arnau.
We ask for a doublé bed hi gave us a twin bed room,we ask for a no smoking room he gave us a smoking room .any questions that you put the answer will be the same, come back later or later we call you......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank smirko39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here as a result of a cancelled flight. We checked in (after a very long wait) and got to the room at 5.15am. The hotel rang us at 7.30 am to tell us that the breakfast was at 9am (even though the room information said that breakfast was served until 10.30 - and they could have told us that when we checked in). When we complained in the morning the staff were unresponsive and eventually reluctantly agreed that they should not have done this.

The rooms are in poor condition, the air-con barely worked and the hotel is located on a busy road.

I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brendan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed with my group for two days in this hotel,would like to appreciate the staff at the reception,Marta,Alex,Arnau and Monica.These people were really helpful and kind.They were very kind towards my group and also helped me to arrange a birthday cake.Would definitely recommend this hotel as you have lot of pub joints and a big shopping mall around.Thanx again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohitd336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a value for night stay hotel, in the out skirts of Barcelona. This is a good choice during the summer holidays, where tourist crowd is maximum. The hotel has a large reception area, well spread to sit and relax after a long day. The rooms are well done, in keeping with the tradition. The bath tub and toilets are clean. The towels could have been more clean and so is the bed linen.
The rooms on the new wing, perhaps are better.
The most positive of the hotel is the well spread breakfast. The coffee is out standing and the service of the staff is extraordinary. It is a pleasure to have buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
157 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights a few days back.
My opinion, well the food is reasonable, if overpriced slightly, the hotel is positioned next to a useful store that sells just about anything and the prices are okish.
The bad points, as previously mentioned the rooms are very dated, the whole place is just worn out and needs updating.
The beds are criminally flimsy and move with a nice loud scrape if you turn over. The whole place is just not up to scratch, but if your on a budget then go for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Great value for money, staff freindly and helpful, room clean and tidy albeit a bit on the small size, Food fine although limited choice. breakfast good. A number of eating establishments close by. Approx 45 mins from airport. The floor I was on didn't appear to be in need of much rennovation, althogh the corridor looked a little tired.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabadell
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Sabadell
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Attica 21 Valles
0.4 mi away
Hotel Urpi
Hotel Urpi
#5 of 5 in Sabadell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Arrahona
Hotel Arrahona
#4 of 5 in Sabadell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center La Mola
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Executive Hotel
Eurostars Executive Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barbera del Valles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Verdi

Property: Gran Hotel Verdi
Address: Avenida Francesc Macia 62, 08208 Sabadell, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sabadell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sabadell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Verdi 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Verdi is located in the Francesc Macia Avenue of Sabadell, in the best service and shopping area of the city. Sabadell is the capital of Valles Occidental, a powerful industrial and economic area in Catalonia with just 20 kilometres outside Barcelona. The hotel was built in 1992 and partially renovated in 2003. The building has a main floor with common services, a restaurant, a coffee bar, a reception desk, etc. Its 172 rooms are located above this floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Sabadell
Gran Hotel Verdi Sabadell, Province Of Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing