We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mur
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Jaca
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This Hotel dates from 1875 and as expected is a little tired. It is though very clean and exceptional value for money. It is located opposite the old Citadel and in the town centre so very close to bars & restaurants. We paid £120 for 3 nights B&B. Breakfast was very good with a wider choice of food than most continental hotels so excellent value for the money we paid. We were a group of 4 on two motorcycles. The hotel allowed us to park in the garage/storeroom so very secure parking for the bikes. We didn't use the restaurant for evening meals as there was a medieval market on whilst we were there with all sorts of food offerings so we ate out at night. Free wifi available also, you just need the password from reception to access it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieZZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    46
    52
    26
    36
See reviews for
30
77
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pau, France
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hotel is excellently located opposite the citadel. Parking is difficult for free nearby, but if you are prepared to walk a few hundred metres there is unrestricted parking. Checkin was very efficient. We had a std grade room on 4th floor( actually really 3rd floor- as they counted floor 1 as street level). renovated shower room with one of the shower cubicles which have lots of functions, but the doors were difficult to get to close properly. Annoyingly no loo roll holder- not sure why! Flat screen TV, good beds, balcony (juliet style), wall decor old-fashioned but clean.

At 50 euros including breakfast in Aug represented very good value. we nearly did not choose the hotel as a number of other reviews were rather negative, but we could not see why. Yes, the breakfast was cafeteria style, but the view over the citadel is nice from dining room, choice good (cereal/fresh fruit/yogurt/ham/cheese/breads/spreads/coffee/tea/juice), although quality a bit average ( eg orange juice not real). We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking citadel nice view, but likely to be noiser than side street ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asterix_et_oblelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We use Jaca as a stop over when driving to the Costa Blanca. It is a very pleasant town with a good selection of bars and restaurants nice atmosphere and easy to explore. We have used the Mur a number of times, we find it comfortable in a great location. We have also used the resraurant which is also quite good

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrispaul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

To be fair, we came from an executive suite at the Hotel Arts in Barcelona. The Mur hotel room was the size of our spacious bathroom... With that said the Mur was clean and we had a modernized bathroom. The staff did not go out of their way to make sure everything was fine but that may have been a language issue. We were streetside and fortunately there wasn't a lot of traffic. The location was very good but Jaca is so small any hotel will be close. I think I will try out a different hotel the next time I go. I absolutely love Jaca!!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hotel has lots of character, decent rooms. friendly staff and is very close to the town centre. However, its website indicates that private parking is 100m away and free parking 250m. The nearest car parks I could find were an expensive underground one about three minutes away, the nearest free one about seven minutes away, on foot - not good if you have luggage. Breakfast was very poor, served in a dingy room. I'd still stay here again than at the Gran nearby (see separate review).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyinhiscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We just got back from a 6-night stay at Hotel Mur in Jaca where my husband had a conference. It's a place we would consider staying again only in spring/autumn/winter or whenever that blasted all-night amusement park across the citadel ceases. The problem is that Mur doesn't offer air conditioning. Without a/c, it's comfortable temperature-wise to keep your window open (we had one of the few rooms with a balcony you could step out onto) BUT if you have your window open, you're kept up all night by the ceaseless noise on the street from cars & people walking by or sitting at the citadel and conversing late into the night, and most off all by the THROB of cacophonous music coming from the amusement park. It goes on literally ALL night. If you keep the window closed, the room is extremely claustrophobic and warm. Therein lies the problem. For Euro 80+ (the refurbished rooms) I expected internet service (at least one computer in the hotel if not wi-fi) but there was none at all. The receptionist seemed unaware of any internet shops in town except a restaurant that offered wi-fi (I later found Ciberciva near the Gran Hotel, quite close to Mur, where you can get the internet for Eu 2 per hour). I also expected a larger room but Rm 311 is the smallest of all with a bathroom the size of a closet. Oddly enough, the bathroom door has glass panes (translucent) in it, but because the bathroom is so, so tiny, you can see everything someone inside is doing! Fortunately it doesn't face the bed area directly but the narrow passage leading to the main door. The breakfasts are decent, I must say... included with the room rate. I had one meal at the restaurant and didn't go back because it was somewhat bland/institutional. I might go back and stay -- I don't know. 6 days was a long time without internet! There was BBC on TV and that was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottonsheets2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaca hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
sussex, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

This Hotel dates from 1875 and has bucket fulls of character.
It is located opposite the old Citadel and in the town centre and is clean.
The staff speak some English too.
The rooms have been tastfully modernised but some face the main road outside which is fairly quiet most of the time.
There is limited free parking outside and shops and resturants are all within 2 minutes walk. Tourist Information 30m away.
A double room for 2 with dinner was 80 Euros.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloman474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#8 of 19 in Jaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Reina Felicia
1.1 mi away
Apartahotel & Spa Jacetania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Acebo
Hotel El Acebo
#5 of 19 in Jaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Boira
Hotel A Boira
#6 of 19 in Jaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oroel
Hotel Oroel
#4 of 19 in Jaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mur

Property: Hotel Mur
Address: Calle Santa Orosia 1 Perpendicular To Avenida Francia), 22700, Jaca, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Jaca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Jaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mur 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mur Hotel Jaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing